You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Looks in the mirror to stay or go

in #steem6 years ago

Now that you mention it, there have been a lot of personal posts. Including on my own blog :))) I don't know if it's about the prices, though, could very well be. Could be a state of mind, at least for me.

especially if they have made claims about being for the communities.

Well, that's the trouble, isn't it? I haven't really seen any users going 'I'm just here for the cash. Seriously, if we hit $1000 tomorrow, I'd just bolt*. No one says that, do they? Everyone claims to be all for the community...
But yeah, this is an excellent time to see who actually means that or whos' just repeating some meaningless phrase (to them, of course).

It's all about what you believe, man. The way I see it, and I have been writing just as normal throughout this market, is it's about investing in the future. Not just money-wise, but community wise. What reader base can I expect to find if I go on hiatus while the prices are down? I'm here, I went through the red with all the other Steemians. Besides, where would I go? For me as a writer, this is pretty much an amazing place. And even if Steem is at just 40 cents...well, that's 40 cents more than what I'm getting paid anywhere else, so...that pretty much settles it.

And while I get it - I mean, while I'm not rich by any means, I get more support than other users and it makes sense not to post when you get 20 cents on a post anyway....but at the same time, if I only see you, the user who makes 20 cents, every six months, what incentive do I have to support you? It's a two-edge sword...

Sort:  

What reader base can I expect to find if I go on hiatus while the prices are down? I

Wise girl ;)

Besides, where would I go? For me as a writer, this is pretty much an amazing place.

Freedom and feedback, network and a litle bit of income that either helps a touch now or becomes a nest egg later.

but at the same time, if I only see you, the user who makes 20 cents, every six months, what incentive do I have to support you?

People come back expecting that their support is still there but, people move on.

Thank you :)

that either helps a touch now or becomes a nest egg later.

Precisely. I mean the money is great, I won't lie. Well, the potential money, but what's also super-exciting for me is the feedback. To actually have people react to my writing is an enormous encouragement.

people move on

Yes. Many times, I've come across an interesting new user and supported them as much as I could and then they disappeared, coming back some 3 months later and by then, I don't really want to support them anymore....I mean, dude I tried, but what can I say? You left...:/

Some might have legit reasons but the sheer volume of leaver/returners means they can't all be. that is their choice and life though and they must live with the ramifications of action.

Exactly. As long as I'm here, I don't see a point in worrying about others. You don't want to stay, that's fine. It means you would've been a poor addition to the community anyway, because obviously you don't think too highly of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65631.30
ETH 2609.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70