2019 EDITION -- MY CONTROVERSIAL THOUGHTS ON THE STEEM BLOCKCHAIN // (CRYPTO FLUX EPISODE 2)

in #steem6 years ago

Steem is one of the most popular blockchain protocols that is designed for social media. There's a legitimate community there and it briefly was in the top 1k websites of the entire internet, although it hasn't been near there in a while.

I infamously left Steem during the peak of my popularity there, when I was gaining about 20 new followers per day and generally having a lot of success. I explained the reasoning behind why I left in a Medium post which was my most popular piece of content in 2018. Apparently people care about the Steem thing.

Link to Medium post: https://medium.com/@heymattsokol/why-i-left-the-steem-blockchain-bb0214a451b8

Today I do post on Steem but I don't spend any time at all worrying about the politics or logistics of the blockchain. Whenever I see those discussions, I can tell a lot of the old problems are still there.

Basically Steem has the most mature community and a lot of great people, but there is a dark side. It's just hard to sort out the good from the bad with so many people promising Get Rich Quick type stuff on that platform.

Anyway I dig way deeper into all of this in the video, so click play and enjoy. Let me know your own thoughts on Steem in the comments -- I'm still trying to think through all of this stuff in a 2019 way.

Sort:  

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74