You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where do we take STEEM from here?

in #steem4 years ago

Hello, I've been seeking an opinion or post or anything about the downvoting spree which I've been constantly receiving, so what I have to say - and I quote your words > are necessary to curb spam, plagiarism and abuse to protect the honest Steemians and their rewards.
But the case is that downvotes don't come due to spam or plagiarism or abuse, they just come because...
So the way I see it, this mess and the reasons to justify this spree is dubious.

Sort:  

But the case is that downvotes don't come due to spam or plagiarism or abuse,

YES, the are! Just check for instance my insect community in which @macau21 stole a pic from facebook. This is just one example among many which happened in my community.
And of course there are many cases of farming and other abuse.
Only because you didn't notice it, it doesn'mean this kind of abuse doesn't exist. To flag the abusers who exploit the rewards pool means more rewards for all honest users of the platform.
Therefore I think flags are absolutely necessary to protect the STEEM community.

If you read my article you know that I am aware of misuse of flags (personal attacks etc.) and made a suggestion how to curb it.

Well, I now read your post about the flag thing. To reply though to your comment here, my case comes from my own experience. Yes there are spammers and plagiarists, but this is nothing new. Should they be downvoted? Yes. On the other hand I've been constantly receiving downvotes from non existent users with absolutely nothing in their profiles and not a single negative comment. Are they in any way credible users or bots or whatever the hell they are that contribute anything here or anywhere else? The problem does not stand alone in the spammers etc. There's the bigger picture, which you've mentioned in your post. Is there anybody who supports the idea that downvotes should be completely abolished so that everyone gets a piece of the pool even if they're stealing somebody else's work? I believe not. The downvoting abuse is the concern of users like myself that don't understand the reason we receive them with not a single negative comment.
Truth being told that in my first comment I should have left outside my case the spam or plagiarism or abuse, only at that time it sounded to me a bad joke to talk about these problems, which are not new. They always existed. But the personal downvoting spree did not always exist and there was my problem. This made me start thinking to stop posting here, because it's a sign of misuse and a good reason to stop wasting my time.

Yes there are spammers and plagiarists, but this is nothing new.

Being nothing new doesn't mean it's harmless.
Flags for personal reasons aren't new, too, they also always existed. :)

Both problems contributed to a very low STEEM price and both are serious threats.

But the personal downvoting spree did not always exist and there was my problem.

Of course it did (maybe YOU were just lucky not to experience it until now). I am here since 2016 ... Over the years I saw quite some people leave STEEM because of downvotes.
Just a few days ago I also received a lot of flags (check my posts). That may be annyoing but for me it's not the biggest and for sure not the only problem.

By nothing new I don't mean harmless. Nor that it should be overlooked. Malicious posts are to be flagged. The downvotes how are to be dealt with from the individual user? And what is for you the biggest problem? Fine you can keep making your posts and they're going to be voted for and against and you'll keep them coming. What are you seeking from STEEM as a platform? Is this now the first time people were seeking to make this place better and improve it? How did it come to be like it is now and for a long time now?

The downvotes how are to be dealt with from the individual user?

If they are small I would suggest you to just ignore them.
If they are big, I would try to keep up posting and hope for a reasonable future soultion.

And what is for you the biggest problem?

There are many problems, not one single 'biggest' one.

What are you seeking from STEEM as a platform?

Why I Am Still Here.

Is this now the first time people were seeking to make this place better and improve it?

No, since I am on STEEM people discuss how to improve it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60693.34
ETH 3032.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81