SteemWhales Update | Price tickers + USD Estimated Value

in #steem7 years ago

Hello everyone,

I believe most steemians have already noticed, but the SBD (Steem Backed Dollars), which is supposed to maintain parity with US Dollars, has been selling inbetween $1.25 and $2.00 on the markets. Let's not elaborate on why (I frankly have no idea), but SteemWhales relied on this parity to display correct dollar estimates. After people told me about the problem, I changed all the displays on the site to SBDs, but

SteemIt.com / www.steemit.com
seemed to have adjusted and display US Dollars estimates. So I had to do some work...

Price Ticker

I added the tickers from the coinmarketcap.com api for STEEM and SBD. Prices refresh every minute. I added this data into the footer of the website and realised it was time to maybe make it more pretty (see at the bottom of any page of SteemWhales).

USD Estimates

All the estimated values on the website will now be in USD forever (from SBD before). On the rankings pages, as well as the user pages. Formula is now

ESTIMATED_VALUE = SBD * SBD_PRICE + (STEEM + STEEM_POWER) * STEEM_PRICE

Everyone will probably have a big jump today in their estimated value graphs as the SBD is trading for about $1.75 right now.

That was a quick update. More is coming up later this week-end probably, I got a few ideas recently on how to improve the site. So stay and follow @heimindanger. Or just keep visiting www.steemwhales.com regularly!

Sort:  

Absolutely love steemwhales.com !! I use it everyday.

Thank you for the updates, they are greatly appreciated.

Have a great weekend!
Steem on,
Mike

wow, thanks for all your great work...steem will surely be the future of social media and I will do my part in promoting it to more success. Thanks for sharing

Very Cool

But I guess the conversion of SBD to steem is still according to the 1SBD = 1$ plan?

In that case a solution would be to get the word out to everyone that it is better to sell your SBD on the market, and buy steem for them. This would out downward pressure on SBD while raising the value of steem.

Yes, if you convert with the wallet feature, you lose a lot of value, it's better to avoid this right now. Just sell the SBDs on poloniex and buy STEEM back with it. Or use the internal market on the right side menu.

Yeah, if the same mechanism was possible the other way around, then I guess SBD would truly be in parity with USD (the community would regulate it very quickly for self profit)

Okay,

I wrote a blogpost about it. here. If it gets seen by enough people maybe it might have a small effect.

https://steemit.com/steem/@walkerlv/more-steem-for-your-sbd-and-a-higher-steemprice-to-boot

@heimindanger hey, I've noticed that the 'following' stats are inaccurate on steemwhales.com - I'm following ~130 users but steemwhales thinks it's more like 500+ :/

Great website though, keep it up! :D

Hi brother, you are so wonderful, please guide me so that you can follow in your footsteps to be a success person in steemit, thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78