Check Out How A Steemian Would Have Lost His Steemit Account And His Funds To Hackers

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I can't just express how happy I am presently ever since a friend of mine was able to regain his account after he almost lost his account accidentally or by mistake to the hackers.

I had the intention of visiting @musing Discod channel just to check out for any new or latest updates and to meet with other musers like @niel96, @julietisrael and many others since the platform has not been stable after the withdrawal of delegation from steem Inc. To my surprise, I met an old friend (@luueetang) of whom we both provide quality answers to ambiguous questions asked by Steemians.

Check Out What Happened To @luueetang Account Which He Posted On Our Discod Channel

Screenshot_20190205-102203.png

I felt very sad after reading @luueetang's statement about him loosing his account because I know him to be a very hardworking Steemian who has also impacted musing positively by providing quality answers to people questions. It would be very bad and sad if such a hardworking person looses all his funds and earned Steemit rewards to the hackers.

I think we need to get Something Right From @luueetang Statement which is quoted below ;🤔

There is this user who send me a reply to join steempromo or what and use a fake Steem connect and I entered my password and username and I can't log inside anymore.

LESSON NUMBER 1: Always be careful on the type of link you click on Steemit. There are lots of hackers out there who are ready to steal your funds and account.

Screenshot_20190205-102219.png

There is a user that all of you have to becareful of which is busybumblebee. I believe that this account has been hacked and it sends out a link then it leads you to a page which ask you to join and get 30 steems.

Then I was being greedy. I usually don't click on such links. But I fell for it and gave up my master key. I am prepared to lose my account but I don't want others to fall victim. It's hard work to get the reputation and all those Steem. Anyways, I clicked join and it asked me to join using a fake Steem connect and I fogot to check the link and now my accounts password is changed and powered down. This site I checked originates from Netherlands and the hackers was in a hotel. Vehotel or something.

I hope you can see the trick used by busybumbleblee which he adopted to steal people's accounts on Steemit. He tricks you with 30 steem because he knows we all need steem 😀 but my friend greed led him to fall into his trap. I wonder why we have people like that on this great platform. I hope the witnesses and Steemit admins can help us work on this aspect by eradicating thieves or hackers who creates fake link to steal other Steemians accounts.

LESSON NUMBER 2: Don't be too greedy and always make sure you verify any information being sent to you before taking part in the process.

Screenshot_20190205-102229.png

Don't understand the different keys. I always use my master key to log in to all accounts.

I think that is where the problem comes from. I hope to write about different keys or passwords on Steemit so as to educate other Steemians to avoid falling into such trap. @leonis was just very right about using your master keys anyhow without specific purposes. Your master key is very important to you and it serves as your private key. This is why you will always be warned after creating new Steemit account to always keep your master keys very safe. This also explains why some Steemit dApps requires you to log in with your posting keys and not your master keys except for trusted auth connections like steem connect.

LESSON NUMBER 3: Keep your master keys safe and don't ever give anyone your master key. Also don't ever log in with your master keys on untrusted links except for steem connect and other trusted links widely used by other Steemians.

Screenshot_20190205-102249.png

Hi hi.. Really appreaciate it.. @nopleasedontloveme the busybumblebee has been reduced to - 3.

This has shown that we have great people on Steemit who will always curb bad attitudes like stealing/hacking of account, plagiarism just like @steemcleaners or @cheetah disciplines anyone involved.

LESSON NUMBER 4: Don't hesitate to make complaints about any difficulties you may encounter on Steemit. @luueetang was able to report to the right people and they were able to solve the problem according to their capabilities.

Screenshot_20190205-102256.png

I got my account back already. I used Steem stolen account recovery.

Finally!! He was able to recover his account back by using "steem stolen account recovery"😊. This made me really happy such that I can't really just express how happy I am for him presently. I use this medium to congratulate @luueetang for recovering his Steemit account 😊.

LESSON NUMBER 5: Never give up and don't ever loose hope in life. If this experience was to happen to some people, it is very certain that some people will give up and accept loosing their account without trying. @luueetang was able to strive to get his account back despite loosing it by mistake and he ended up getting it back because he never gave up😊.

A Tip Of Advice To Every Steemian

Always make sure you your private keys are safe and avoid using your master keys to log into any untrusted links. It is also advisable you report anyone who engage in fraudulent activities on Steemit to the necessary bodies because i won't like it when some bad people come to pollute our lovely Steemit platform. You may resteem this post to serve as a lesson for others.

4qEixiWLF1XTMPqrQBextYKVw38fjWkWEdFZhPpzaH8DkwxmsfKugBMB6vb8PXNMkq.gif

Sort:  

WARNING! A link in this post by @hardaeborla leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

@guard... That's what I was trying to explain to everyone reading this post.

I hope you read the post before jumping into blind conclusions 😠

@hardaeborla You should remove the link to the site.

@niel96.... I am just frustrated about this!.. Sincerely I feel very cheated. I never plagiarized nor spammed and I hold responsible for doing things I never did just because I was educating other Steemians not to fall into the same trap that happened to @luueetang 😢

It's because steemit is managed by bots, they are not human and flag automatically when something is detected.

You apparently posted a link to that website and the link is in their blacklist so they flag your post automatically.

But how will other Steemians get to know about the links if no one tells them about it?

Don't share the actual link. You're more likely to get someone to accidentally click on it again than to prevent anyone by sharing the link.

The bot got triggered by something in the text.

Your post was found in violation of our TOS and was unvoted to combat spam and abuse on steem.
According to our TOS, we do not offer refunds, since unvoting does not give us the voting power back.

@minnowbooster... There is a mistake somewhere. I just hope you can look into this because I have been cheated Unjustly 😢😥😭.

Is it a crime to educate other Steemians about how they can avoid loosing their accounts which was about to happen to a friend of mine?

You need to go into their Discord for explanation.

They probably won't because the owners of these accounts don't care. The best thing you could probably do is repost this post but remove all the links to the website. When these bots don't detect the link they don't downvote your warning.

The bots downvote when they see the scam link for good reason. "Warning" people by sharing the link itself is more likely to get more people scammed than it is to protect people from the scam. You don't have to share the actual link to warn people about the scam.

Thanks for your lovely comment.

Warning" people by sharing the link itself is more likely to get more people scammed than it is to protect people from the scam.

About this, do you think they will want to click on such link after reading this post?

You don't have to share the actual link to warn people about the scam.

But how will people know if we don't share the link?

About this, do you think they will want to click on such link after reading this post?

You are assuming readers of your blog are paying full attention. You should not make that assumption.

But how will people know if we don't share the link?

You don't have to share actual phishing links to warn people about phishing links. It's like saying you have to show people a gun with live ammo to warn people about the dangers of guns with live ammo.

You are assuming readers of your blog are paying full attention. You should not make that assumption.

Hmm... I think I will have to change my mindset starting from now 😊.

You don't have to share actual phishing links to warn people about phishing links. It's like saying you have to show people a gun with live ammo to warn people about the dangers of guns with live ammo.

I now understood what you meant. I think @demotruk will make you feel good teacher because you are very good at explaining ambiguous things clearly 😀. Who knows if you are even one 😊.

Thanks for your lovely comment and support with love from @hardaeborla 😊

I am just very sad right now... I don't think I can make a repost about this to avoid getting flagged 😢😢

you can if you don't post a link to the website

I better make another post entirely and not this 😢😢. I don't think I can write any other articles today again because this really spoiled my mood 😢

It doesn't matter because there are no consequences. Just remember next time when warning for something don't post the link.

Thanks for your lovely comment.

I won't do that next time

I already did that

@minnowbooster, i't a warning about the scam. How does this violate anything?

Hi hi @hardaeborla really appreaciate it for the story. The cleaners here would look at the websites that are in the post and flag the post. I have that happened to me in a comment yesterday. I guess just some editing would be good.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah.. Thank you for your lovely comment @luueetang. I hope they read post before making such conclusion 😊.

Haha what's ur Name? So I could just address u by ur name which would be more polite. I was also flagged yesterday for sharing the phishing link. But it was more of a warning. But I edited out the link. Hope you won't feel bad about it. Have a great day ahead.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your lovely comment @luueetang.... I will have to edit it then 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60323.94
ETH 2395.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54