Steem-Powered Spaceships (a pipedream harpoon)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

This post is the third in a series. You can find the first 'Nukes in Moscow' here.

be who you are, even if it's a sociopath?

{ahem}

Footage shot days ago:

those are the ships I mean to see steem-powered, ma'am

That's the game I want to hijack/save - which I currently understand to be in the hands of a Russian who is... reticent ... to:

  • touch the code more than to keep things running
  • have anything involving money associated with the effort out of copyright fears
    but... he put this on the screen, and I read it at a time I was particularly vulnerable and sentimental:
    nothing.png

That last line has always been part of the game, but the first part is what I would guess is a translation of his words. So, there's the potential. I've been stewing while playing for the last coupla few weeks (really don't know how long I've been in the hole) over "what to say to the Russian". Any impassioned speech to, for the love of all things JG ! ...

touch the code!

Let there be the tinyest spark of potential novelty! This game lived for years with one overworked dev... but it needs at least an "I'm learning how to code on the side to make this thing better" we'll see what happens ... but everywhere people tell me "mgmt won't touch the code".

For the love of.. I need at least the hope of a Custom Producer that turns conflux biomass+chemicals into a knock-off of Slurm!

... but I kept hitting the brick wall of "but why? How to revive a galaxy?" - and I wanted that here, on the blockchain.. so maybe I can crack it down into an understanding that will translate into Russian. This first vomit of the thing will be a mess...for my steem fans!

No, I'm really trying to be as coherent as possible. My intention was for this to be a Gray Paper.. or Grey Paper, it feels more Jean Grey than ... anyway, my stab at a whitepaper before reading any of them, to see how much I have to learn about it. A grey paper.

Even that turned out to be too much pressure... so - just getting it out of my head as best as possible.

ggdivide.jpg

So, I was new into cryptosocial and spending more time on steem because I got in on the HyperSpace Open Beta. I'm new to the whole scene...but I might have a wallet now, if that's what uphold.com is.

{digression}They got me through the Brave Browser (ref. link) - but the basic attention token guy claiming to be the dev he claimed in the video and the solid pitch... my buy-in didn't seem to be any more than I was giving Google. {/digression}

It was about a month ago when the worker-proposal for steem thing happened... and I saw it, thought it would earn me some AMPs as a HyperSpace post.
I timestamped it though, I _work _for a cryptosocial living.

It did, 300-ish. The splashes feel bigger in smaller ponds

Then I came across these guys - and wondered why anyone would want their own token.
Then drugwars happened.
Then, I rediscovered JumpGate-TRI.

There's been the Hypsos Initiative - a weird blend of IC and OOC in HyperSpace land, in no small part to see how willing they were to intellectually play with the notions - and the couple of posts here, but mostly I've been leveling characters and brainchomping at ... how to save a 20-year-old game through the magic of cryptosocial.

What follows is a result of that brainchomping:
ggdivide.jpg

Iterative Collapse - steem-powered spaceships

roll the die

There's something about BTC I haven't grokked yet - but what has caught my attention is the construction of infrastructure in pursuit of energy.
Never in my life has something seemed more like a decepticon plot
So, clearly, there's brilliance in the part I don't understand. My understanding of BTC at this point is: It's valuable because there is only going to be so many, and the closer we get to the end, the more processing power it takes to 'solve the puzzle'. Other than a decepticon plot, I'm reminded of the rice & chessboard wisdom...

...and I think it is mainly my lack of understanding, but for some subconscious reason when we seize control of the game it will be important to communicate to those that love it that - JG - Hypsos Rising Initiative - has built in iterative collapse.

The way I saw it happening was through "cesium" mined for the first collapse, but thereafter any random game-related trigger (number of times anomalies were scanned, a specific anomaly was scan, C24 conflux shot down, etc) could be 'the trigger' - and the trigger would accumulate in number before 'ticks' - I haven't worked out the number of ticks before a collapse, but I do know that each time there is a tick - there is a PULSE of digital wealth. I see that most simply everything the game rewards, it rewards harder - each tick closer to the next collapse.

This game universe was rebuilding from a collapse when I met it, it's its thing.
nothing.png

I love it on a lot of levels, but chiefly it is the notion that all software, universe, governance is in a cycle of iterative collapse - building resilience and adaption to adaption is wise. Like those who compete in the {codespace] for the game, we'll be designing so what can, survives each collapse. We'll definitely have options for those invested, both financially and emotionally/temporally.

Similarly - just like even in the game there is a "simulator" - it's better to practice some things where no one really gets hurt. Human behavior in collapses is an interesting one.

Can I get a witness?

a1bdbd450a0b1e45_zoom.jpg

Can a Witness get a Station?

The CryptoSocial aspect of the Integration between the simulation economy and the cryptocurrency is as a vehicle for exchange of human attention. One of the first steps to prevent the potential/likely account abuse under the bribe the Russian plan is to have SteemConnect integrated with game accounts.

As the funding plan is to have "the type of people who play drugwars and moonsteem (ref) - functionally serve as the "corporate decision-making body" of weapons manufacturers in a digital galaxy... rather than selling in-game credits directly, I'd lean more towards "funding the mission payout pool" - but these details can come later.

What's important is that game identity be infused with the cryptoconsequentiality of steem to prevent account abuse (and provide key attention currency).

Once done, it seems prudent to get witnesses involved - and in accordance with other aspects of the plan it makes the most sense to have those who end up running factional stations in the game (as governors) also become steem witnesses. It is preferrable, of course, to get existing witnesses involved enough to become station governors.

During the present collapse Stations:

  • allow ship modification and hull type change
  • serve as markets
  • provide missions
  • facilitate pilot trade
  • allow limited static pilot storage
  • allow simulator access

Under the proposed regime, we create an account for each of those stations that has a toggle switch or a knob for each of those options, and create a governor's key account. When players register an account, they'll be mandated now (I think it's just RP optional at present) to pick a home planet. Each home planet has a station associated with it. That planet will have its own cryptosocial tribe, under whatever tag (#steemgate) or Space have the best tools as far as I'm concerned -

but, for example, the "steem worker proposal system" maps brilliantly to a "how does a Space station decide which missions to offer pilots"... with players from the "invest in fictional companies that sell weapons to all 3 sides in a Space War" game on whether or not their various weapons of warfare are allowed to be produced there.

There's 3 stations per playable faction, 4 unregulated stations, the "AI" run Aman, and sweet sweet Hyperial. Wise people will say to start small, so we'd probably just cryptosocial API Hyperial station governance for starters, fits the Hypsos Rising Initiative theme nicely.

Quite honestly, I'd like to be testing an actual Deep Learning algorithm for the Aman station in-game governance (and conflux attack alien strategy)...

# tl;dr

Everything that used to be "shit the GMs used to have to pull out of their ass" can now have APIs or whatever built such that those roles can be shifted both outside of the game mechanics (our problem) and into other game realms (the investor-game gamers) - via cryptosocial, and it'd be wise if Station Governors mapped to Chain Witnesses.

aprt.png

Part of that Wooooooorrrrld

src

My re-discovery of Jumpgate-TRI was greatly rekindled by being part of the HyperSpace crytposocial "UBI" (we call it dUBI) open beta, and becoming a HyperSpace VIP. It was the Open Beta experience in my first encounters with JumpGate that made it stick as hard as it did - clearly that's the experience I aim to recreate.

Back in my day, whenever the devs in the garage invented a new ship, we'd get a big patch for the game - then we'd get faction missions to race each other to unlock the new goodie. Meanwhile, we'd get to bitch on the forums (like social without a stream feed) at the devs FOR what features should be in the patch. Then we'd get to make the universe a living place full of stories while they went coding - and when they finished they got to watch us race. It was a thing of beauty.

*that's the vibe to recreate in our perpetual beta world

So - in our Space Mining Wild-West Reconstructing Universe of Intermittent Collapsing - we give each governor key a test server. Each station with a test server gets to develop 1(one) thing that will exist in the next collapse. This thing cannot undo a previous one thing, save by replacement or by rendered irrelevance.

This:

  • outsources feature development
  • motivates players to advocate development to a distributed structure
  • builds in-game station and faction loyalty (and therefore warfare opportunities)
  • renders the collapsing universe a dynamically developing place for us to hang out when we retire

When it All comes Crumbling Down

I'll let a crypto person figure out the angles for investors to profit during a collapse/forking - but when the time comes that the last rad ore unit gets sold to a station, and the cesium ticker ticks it last PULSE, or the anomaly gets scanned for the 734.201th time - and the final pulse signals the next collapse and iteration.

To me, this plays out as an exciting time - in which the developers have 28 days to integrate all the different Station-Selected feature additions (hopefully they've been in collaboration and communication this whole time) - and the financial people and the players make their preparations.

Given the current environment, I'd tell the players 8-point POS are the only ones that will survive - and you'll get the credit value of whatever you stuff yours with, plus rank 9 - when the collapse ends and the next reconstruction begins. During that reconstruction - what may or may not survive the next collapse can be hotly debated and integrated into station-features.

nothing.png

That's how'd I'd do it... Russian guy. That's how I'd use cryptosocial to prototype perpetual beta persistent universe game development, aka - revive the 20 year old game that never got the shot it deserved ;)

~ GG

** ------------HARPOON POST --------->**
It flies farther and stands a better chance of calling me Ishmael if you resteem it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83