How to get your E-Book published, what steps will make it faster and easier - How an author can work their novel into the Steemit community

in #steem5 years ago

41FOxf5rdoL (2).jpg

In this guest spot provided by MSPWaves.com @MakinStuff, gave me @Gregorypatrick, the opportunity to share my experience in publishing books in the big name houses and the latest E-book methods available. We also get into some of the hurdles involved with staying within the bounds of your contract and still selling your novel for SBD and Steem here on the site and the great shops we have on the Steemit network.


For the full show, please take a look here @Makinstuff.


Please consider purchasing my book The Coming Cataclysm during the pre-order sale before it's official release on April 5th, 2019. The extra traction means the world to us up and coming authors :)

Thank you reading this post, have a great day!

Sort:  

Just curious how long you are locked in to the publisher you mentioned in the video? Self publishing is the future, and would allow you total control over promotions and such. Hated seeing you are locked in for a minimum 90 days at Amazon through the KU program. Go wide (Nook, Kobo, Apple. GooglePlay, Smashwords, etc) as soon as you are able.

https://www.smashwords.com/about/how_to_publish_on_smashwords

https://draft2digital.com/

Promotion sites:

https://www.freebooksy.com/ for free promotions

https://www.bargainbooksy.com/for-authors/ Same company as freebooksy, but for discounted sales.

Those two are your best shot coming out of the gate.

Most of the others aren't worth your money. Bookbub is the holy grail, but no way you can get one being exclusive with Amazon.

Smashwords allows the most control, with coupons and such, plus acts as an aggregate (as does Draft2Digital).

Twitter blasts do not work via the tweet companies. You may try an alternative marketing method (I couldn't as I didn't write this type when I was self publishing) and see if you can make arrangements with popular YouTube channels to give you shout outs.

Good luck, and don't get discouraged if things are slow. Many self pubbed authors lose money, and your best advertisement is the next book.

Writers forum

https://www.kboards.com/index.php?board=60.0 They lean left, but there are some successful self pubbed authors there. You can pick up some good ideas there.

Thank you for the information you have provided! Certainly some great info to consider as I continue to write my work.

Thank you for the help. I need to say it isn't so bad being signed with the biggest literary outlet in the world though, they have the most eyes on them after all.
I do agree it is good to put some of one's work out on free forums but think eventually, we all need to go that extra step and become fully professional if we want to get out ideas out into the world.
Thank you again for the well wishes, this is a trying time and I appreciate the support and tips.

Good luck with your e-book. I’ve considered writing an e-book as well. It’s inspiring that you did it and are using Steemit to market it.
You are at the vanguard of the publishing industry. As time goes on traditional publishing houses are losing market share and influence. E-books are growing so much. You are ahead of the curve.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I feel like the potential for writers to earn a living here on Steemit is limitless for sure. I am working on erasing the -either/or- aspect of using this site and places like Amazon. Right now the feeling is that you have to have one or the other, Steemit success or mainstream popularity.
When we all can fully realize both, I believe things will take off like a rocket here.

That is awesome! Yeah man way to get it done and market the book as well! Are you marketing elsewhere on the web?

I wish I was, but I really don't have a big web presence outside of steemit and the blockchain. I'm really searching hard for new platforms I can speak too this week. Any help would be huge.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh i was going to suggest hiring a marketing group but a rep one. Maybe one thatvalso consults for social media. I was thinking of paying for a service to promote my insta page but its lacking direction currently

I'm keeping all the funds I have for promotion in reserve for Steemit atm. It's not much, this is kind of a no budget dream ;) I figure these steps are what it takes to get to that next level though.

"If you will it, then it is no dream"

  • not my quote so you know it's probably true😛

Great stuff @gregorypatrick! Once the 16th of April rolls round I will be able to get my copy. Really looking forward to discussing it with you. It's not everyday you get to chat with an author!

Absolutely keep in touch :) I plan on doing special broadcasts/podcasts with other Steemians who are also going through this process when it's time to promote their books.
I'd love to help get the word out for you when the time comes 100%

Absolutely fantastic! I look forward to progressing with all of this further, and a huge thank you in advance!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59