You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Late Night Ramble: People Come, People Go... a Shout-Out to some "Lost" Steemians

in #steem5 years ago

Hey, @denmarkguy.

I guess we all have those folks. I know a lot of the people I came in with have either curbed their time here, disappeared completely, or can be found in different parts of the STEEM-verse, particularly with the new games that have come out. Posting something of value on a regular basis takes a lot of things, including time, and in some cases, it just becomes easier to play STEEM Monsters and Drugwars for the promise of future card value or whatever. I guess we're doing similarly with STEEM, so there's that.

I think it is a good sign that the folks you speak of have not powered down. That mostly likely means they're taking care of business elsewhere rather than giving up entirely on STEEM. In my case, I need STEEM to come back up or I lose a substantial part of my investment.

So, anyway. To acquaintances gained and lost. :) May they all eventually return. :)

Sort:  

Hi there @glenalbrethsen, I'm afraid you're quite right about some of these "disappearances" being game related. I know some of the people I no longer see have been sucked deep into DrugWars, even though it seems to me to be little more than a thinly veiled Ponzi waiting to collapse...

Most people are somewhat fickle, I suppose... chasing from one "great promise" to the next in hopes they'll hit the big jackpot. I'm probably just old(fashioned) because I came here for the social blogging venue, and I'm still here for the social blogging venue... and plan to continue precisely that for as long at there is a social blogging venue here.

What prompted this post was precisely that these folks had not powered down... they just stopped, and it wasn't just to shift strategy to curation, or to delegate their SP out.

Indeed, let's hope they come back, someday! In the meantime, enjoy new connections!

It feels good to know that others feel similarly to different things as I do. When I first heard that the game allowed others to 'steal' stuff others had accumulated, often paying for it to have some of the best stuff, I was glad I wan't participating. Especially since bots or some other gaming of the system has a tendency of rearing it's ugly head.

I, too, came for the writing part of this STEEM platform, so that's okay. I think we need more curators, not necessarily creators. So, if those folks who are off battling it out in the games don't mind curating in some capacity, too, that's actually okay. That I'm afraid, isn't happening as much as it could, though, either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75