You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are you mainly voting your early friends and/or do you still look out for newer accounts?

in #steem5 years ago

Pie charts, now bar graphs, what's next, @abh12345?!

Since there always seems to be a need to guess or predict what's going to happen with a request like this, I'd like to say that there really isn't much of a core group I've voted for or in since I started (I was approved near the end of December, 2017, but didn't do much until the beginning of January, 2018), but it's bound to show otherwise, so that's what I'm expecting. Following the crowd like a sheep to be sheared!

Bring it on! (If you don't mind, of course. :)

Sort:  

I do appreciate a little guesswork prior to the results, it at least tells me that the post has been read and understood :) Let's have a look...

Well, what you'd like to have said seems not to be the case and it looks like you are right with it being the opposite :)

You arrived during the new user boom and so there is some 'safety' in that, but it does seem that your core group of accounts/votes are for the folks that joined when you did.

My theory, which I didn't mention and could also be the reason for a 'spike' in December 2017 for me also, is the fulltimegeek/friendsofgondor/engagement league initiatives. Around that time, the stewards were in full flow, and the League really shot up in numbers. Those that stuck with it and seemed to engage the most this past year seemed to come from accounts created around the same time as yours. And so with a community of sorts forming around the above, and plenty of comments to vote in the League posts alone, I'm thinking this is why there is such a strong correlation.

Thoughts and opposing views welcome :)

Well, I don't have an opposing thought or view to offer, @abh12345. Your assumptions about what's taking place here sounds good and reasonable to me.

That said, I have tried to get to as many other people's posts as I can. I also don't tend to upvote all everyone within my date range produces, too, simply because I can't and upvote others, and, because I can't read all of it. If I don't read, I've not been upvoting it.

So, while my information tends to say otherwise, I've not been trying to upvote content based on being friends. So, regardless, I guess, of intent, the results are pretty much the same, which maybe is for the best, even though I'd much rather it be known that it's the content of the folks that is driving me, rather than the relationships I've made.

And it could be, that to some extent, the two go hand in hand. If I'm connecting with the content, I'm connecting with the creator. I suppose it then holds true for the other way around.

So, anyway, I've been trying to do what I think I'm supposed to be doing—curate good content, rather than just distributing funds from the reward pool to people I've met here.

I'd much rather it be known that it's the content of the folks that is driving me, rather than the relationships I've made.

I think many would like this to be the case. I've been on record more than once saying I support people and/or content. E.g., When i vote for @votovzla, I vote for the people - some of the content I can't even read (as my Spanish is not at that level)

It is in the end, your stake, you've earned/paid for it.

We thank you for your great support, we can apply the upvote flow theories, which sometimes is not the value of the upvote that you give to a quality content, but what the person values for the intention you have to support it.

Greetings friend from all the Venezuelan community.

As you say, it is our stake, to do what we ultimately feel is best.

That said, I really do enjoy the pie charts and the bar graphs, as I hopefully have said more than once. I think it's great to have them personalized, as I know I've also said. So, hopefully, none of my "rather this" or "wish it were that" ends up feeling like a deterrent, or "why did I do this." My issues and wants and desires are mine to own, too, just like my stake, and won't be even a remote reflection of what you think, feel, want, or accomplish.

There is great value in this, since most of us don't have direct access, the ability or the wherewithal to access it. So, if you're so inclined, keep them coming. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60807.32
ETH 3349.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48