Crypto's down, so you're fucking leaving?

in #steem6 years ago

Oh, you're quitting because Steem's price is down? Well, fuck right off then, ya fucking moron. Crypto hasn't been barely adopted yet, so it's almost guaranteed to go up from any high that it has had, and it's WAY fucking down right now. Are you a fucking moron? You BUY when it's low, and perhaps sell when it's high, to again buy some more at a lower point. Or you learn to trade, and do it over and over again, trying to grow your purse.

Steem is fucking frustrating as fuck sometimes. I wrote almost an entire book here. Actually, I kinda did write the whole thing, only thing left is the final chapter that's actually a lead in to the next book. But I wanna research all the closest exoplanets to figure out where I want my main character's home base to be. I got what was like $1 on multiple chapters of that book. Imagine writing a book, and people being like "Ehh...I'll give you a dollar for it." And I'm still fucking here! I've also gotten Curied on absolute shit posts as well, and got a tiny ass curie as a result. But I'm still here.

Trending is an absolute travesty. There are people writing utter shit on here, then buying upvotes on it. And then there are people defending that action, saying that it's for promotion or some shit. Unless those people are completely fucking delusional, they KNOW their post is shit before they buy a $400 upvote.

But I'm still here.

And I'm not fucking leaving!

JO4GWW.gif
(source)

And you know what? You shouldn't be fucking leaving either! You should be writing posts. You should be telling people how your day was, and what your hopes and dreams are. You should be telling them about the latest cool ass shit that you heard about was! This is a fucking social network! There will be lots of fucking asshats. And you know what? I might be one of them!

We have to work together to deal with the problems on here! We shouldn't just fucking give up!

Are you a fucking quitter?

dont-be-a-butt-fucking-quitter.jpg
(source)

You know, maybe Steem isn't going to be the one. How many social networks existed back in the day that just don't anymore? Does anyone even remember Friendster? Everyone mentions MySpace, but it was actually really big for a while. It kinda succeeded before they just let it languish and die. We aren't even there yet! We're fucking tiny. We only have a million accounts, and a fuckton of those are bots and just fucking DEAD!

So I'm not fucking giving up yet. We're only in the begining. And if it doesn't work out, I'm finding a new place to make crypto from my random fucking rants and posts about technology and geek shit.

Why? Because FUCK YOU, that's why!

Sort:  

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

You tell them geek. Should be doing much more on here than ever before when price is low.

Yeah, exactly! We all need to get as much steem as possible, so we're super rich when it hits $12 or $20 or whatever it hits on the next moon.

This is quite an impassioned post. Did someone close to you leave? Or are you just sick of the slow bleed like I am? I wrote about it briefly on my @lemcriq account a few months ago. I've given up on those emotions now. Instead, I'm just using this time to find and confirm the "real" Steemians... like yourself for example.

Anytime you see that number in cents below your post, imagine that number without the decimal point. When Steem is at $70 that will be a reality. As it stands, this little rant of yours is valued at $74 on that day.

Stick around folks. If it doesn't happen, it doesn't happen. Worst you'll do for yourself is make some awesome friends.

Nah, I was just reading some post where someone actually said that they were leaving. They were saying the same crap that we're all frustrated about, plus they mentioned the Steem price.

We're all frustrated about the crap with bidbots and such...unless we're one of the ones using them...but I'm not going to leave! I'm going to wait for more tools to be created to make it easier to curate and reward good content creators. I think that will solve some of the problems.

I don't know if and when Steem will be worth $100, or near it, but I think it's definitely worth $10, so thinking about a sub $1 post as worth a bit less than $10 is a lot better.

At the very least, we're making a bit of crypto, whether or not Steem works out. In the worst case scenario, we're getting paid really poorly for a lot of time, but if we invest it intelligently, we can get paid a lot better.

In that sense, maybe the assholes using bidbots are actually the smart ones, cuz they don't give a fuck and are just trying to make the max amount of crypto they can.

But I also hope they're idiots and are selling at the current price.

But I also hope they're idiots and are selling at the current price.

Well, they'd better be doing that. Otherwise, they are acting directly against their interests by attacking the value of a platform they hold stake in. They're longing into their own short. That would just really make them idiots.

I don't consider all bidbot users "assholes" or "idiots" though, though I do consider them misguided and I obviously think that I am right and that they are wrong on that particular issue. The unforgivable thing, though, is upvoting absolute shit to trending. If you just want to buy into the "promotion" thing, sure, be my guest. In fact, promoting an announcement or advertisement in such a way might even have a net positive impact on the platform (even though I don't like the resultant centralisation of stake, and I think we could come up with a better, distributed model which could benefit every stakeholder equally).

It'd be interesting to see what would happen if bidbots banned users who have powered down recently or maybe just those with an active powerdown. Of course, that's directly against their business interests so they won't do it; I'm just saying it would be interesting.

I think they are assholes...when it comes to buying upvotes. Buying upvotes goes completely against the entire purpose of Steem. It goes directly against the founding principals of Steem.

Now, if they buy upvotes on actually good content, or at the very least normal quality content, then it's not as bad, but they're still funding tools that could give two fucks about what they upvote.

It would be fully possible for upvote bots to at least review what they vote on.

If the voting bot reviews what it upvotes, or at least uses a whitelist, then it's not as bad.

They need to realize that when they're paying for these services, they're fucking everyone over, by making the bidbots into whales, and supporting services that reward shit, lowering the value of Steem.

Now, if they use a service that reviews their posts for abuse, or at least uses a whitelist, then that's anywhere from fine, to potentially even good because it can be used as a form of promo.

It'd be interesting to see what would happen if bidbots banned users who have powered down recently or maybe just those with an active powerdown. Of course, that's directly against their business interests so they won't do it; I'm just saying it would be interesting.

I think it's a mistake to assume anything based on someone powering down. They could need the funds, or as I was recently doing, using it for trading. I'm still above the amount of SP that I've gotten from posting.

I think instead they should come up with a way to ensure the posts that get upvoted get reviewed for abuse.

Hi @geekpowered!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.005 which ranks you at #3463 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 324 contributions, your post is ranked at #91.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@geekpowered Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76