You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crypto's down, so you're fucking leaving?

in #steem6 years ago

This is quite an impassioned post. Did someone close to you leave? Or are you just sick of the slow bleed like I am? I wrote about it briefly on my @lemcriq account a few months ago. I've given up on those emotions now. Instead, I'm just using this time to find and confirm the "real" Steemians... like yourself for example.

Anytime you see that number in cents below your post, imagine that number without the decimal point. When Steem is at $70 that will be a reality. As it stands, this little rant of yours is valued at $74 on that day.

Stick around folks. If it doesn't happen, it doesn't happen. Worst you'll do for yourself is make some awesome friends.

Sort:  

Nah, I was just reading some post where someone actually said that they were leaving. They were saying the same crap that we're all frustrated about, plus they mentioned the Steem price.

We're all frustrated about the crap with bidbots and such...unless we're one of the ones using them...but I'm not going to leave! I'm going to wait for more tools to be created to make it easier to curate and reward good content creators. I think that will solve some of the problems.

I don't know if and when Steem will be worth $100, or near it, but I think it's definitely worth $10, so thinking about a sub $1 post as worth a bit less than $10 is a lot better.

At the very least, we're making a bit of crypto, whether or not Steem works out. In the worst case scenario, we're getting paid really poorly for a lot of time, but if we invest it intelligently, we can get paid a lot better.

In that sense, maybe the assholes using bidbots are actually the smart ones, cuz they don't give a fuck and are just trying to make the max amount of crypto they can.

But I also hope they're idiots and are selling at the current price.

But I also hope they're idiots and are selling at the current price.

Well, they'd better be doing that. Otherwise, they are acting directly against their interests by attacking the value of a platform they hold stake in. They're longing into their own short. That would just really make them idiots.

I don't consider all bidbot users "assholes" or "idiots" though, though I do consider them misguided and I obviously think that I am right and that they are wrong on that particular issue. The unforgivable thing, though, is upvoting absolute shit to trending. If you just want to buy into the "promotion" thing, sure, be my guest. In fact, promoting an announcement or advertisement in such a way might even have a net positive impact on the platform (even though I don't like the resultant centralisation of stake, and I think we could come up with a better, distributed model which could benefit every stakeholder equally).

It'd be interesting to see what would happen if bidbots banned users who have powered down recently or maybe just those with an active powerdown. Of course, that's directly against their business interests so they won't do it; I'm just saying it would be interesting.

I think they are assholes...when it comes to buying upvotes. Buying upvotes goes completely against the entire purpose of Steem. It goes directly against the founding principals of Steem.

Now, if they buy upvotes on actually good content, or at the very least normal quality content, then it's not as bad, but they're still funding tools that could give two fucks about what they upvote.

It would be fully possible for upvote bots to at least review what they vote on.

If the voting bot reviews what it upvotes, or at least uses a whitelist, then it's not as bad.

They need to realize that when they're paying for these services, they're fucking everyone over, by making the bidbots into whales, and supporting services that reward shit, lowering the value of Steem.

Now, if they use a service that reviews their posts for abuse, or at least uses a whitelist, then that's anywhere from fine, to potentially even good because it can be used as a form of promo.

It'd be interesting to see what would happen if bidbots banned users who have powered down recently or maybe just those with an active powerdown. Of course, that's directly against their business interests so they won't do it; I'm just saying it would be interesting.

I think it's a mistake to assume anything based on someone powering down. They could need the funds, or as I was recently doing, using it for trading. I'm still above the amount of SP that I've gotten from posting.

I think instead they should come up with a way to ensure the posts that get upvoted get reviewed for abuse.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82