How I Cashed Out Steem

in #steem7 years ago

I was always wondering how to get money from Steem to Honduras, and actually I could see no reasonable way to do it. But anyway I decided to try, and after reading a lot of articles I joined Bittrex, I made an initial send of about 20 SBD and yes they got there all right.

I then proceeded to change the SBD to BTC and I did it very easily, so I knew that this part was solved, now the next thing I did was join LocalBitcoins, after joining them I sent the Bitcoin I had in Bittrex to localbitcoins and again it went through without any problems, it takes about half an hour to show up.

So, as what I wanted to see is whether I could actually get the fiat money in Honduras I started to power down, I don't own much Steem so it took me about three weeks to power down enough, added to what I got from my 50,50 posts to accumulate 250 Steem, I figured this was enough so I sent this to Bittrex.

I changed the Steem to Bitcoin, again no problem, came out to about .08 BTC and here I did have a problem I tried to send them to Localbitcoins, but since I don't have a verified account, you need the 2FA verification, I have a very cheap cell phone and I don't think I want to use it for that, so I found out I could only make 0.025 BTC transactions every 24 hours, so it took me 3 days to get the BTC to localbitcoin, so I hadabout .08 BTC there (adding what I had already sent from the SBD exchange I made).

Last night I looked for someone to sell it to, and I found a guy from the US who bought it from me for $331.00 but he deduced some for the MG charges, so he sent me 327.00 I think I got more per Steem than what the market value was, I guess because when I sent the Steem BTC had a lower value.

Anyway the money was sent to me via Moneygram, as soon as he sent me the MG reference number I looked at MG tracking online and I found the deposit had been made so I sent him the BTC, I guess if he had wanted to he could have reversed the MG transaction, but that didn't happen.

So today I went to a bank and there it was, exactly $327.00 given to me in Honduran Lempiras (our local currency). So now I am sure first of all Steemit does pay, second you can buy BTC with Steem, and third you can practically send your BTC anywhere and get your fiat money without too much hassle, maybe I was lucky.

Now the commissions, I believe I paid about 25 dollars in commissions to all of these sites, which is about 7.5% of what I got, I think that is ok, the important thing is I got my money and am now even more enthusiastic about Steemit, I showed some guys the money and they asked me how I got it and they are now trying to join, one of them I actually saw sign up I guess in a few more days he should start posting.

Well, it has been a good day for me.

Sort:  

I think all countries have a page like localbitcoins where you can send the bitcoins to your wallet and sell them in local currency ... in venezuela is asi..buen article friend

Si pero aparentemente en Venezuela es muy popular lo de las criptomonedas, aqui en Honduras, mira yo vivo en una ciudad de 250,000 habitantes y nunca he sabido de alguien que tenga conocimiento de las mismas por lo que aun no hay casas de cambio o de algun otro tipo que permitan vender bitcoin, asi que tengo que buscar formas de afuera para hacerlo, espero que dentro de poco se haga mas popular aqui.

Pues en realidad yo no tengo mucho conocimiento al respecto, pero si se de que se trata por algo estoy en steemit y acá en Venezuela es muy popular y las personas la manejan mucho debido a la crisis tan grave que vive el país actualmente y han encontrado en este mundo de las cryptomonedas como una vía de escape a la crisis y poder vivir un poco mejor.

This is extraordinary!

do you have a bank that accepts US dollars?

I guess they do.

if that's the case why convert bitcoin to USD at coindesk and then send it directly to your bank...that's what I do.

coindesk.. That's a news site, right?

Well, I don't know I would have to look at that option.

If they do it's much easier that way.

Vote up and Resteem. Useful info. Thanks.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gduran from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Awesome...nice post!

This is good to know.... You've been working at this for a while.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 59722.01
ETH 3267.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36