If you are a single GUY founder on the grind in SF, you shouldn’t have a place

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

sf rent

I’m to that point in my entrepreneurial growth that I now get asked for advice.

A comment on the recent techCrunch article about my FoodHigh hack sent chills through my body. A young person from Sierra Leone commented that my story was inspiring to him. A proud smile effortlessly formed on the corners of my mouth, a heart jolt of “big brotherness” thumped my torso and my mental list of those I’m responsible for grew by one more person times his friends, family and neighbors hundreds of miles away.

foodhighclub

No one will ever know IF I have money…

The modern me is none flashy. I own one pair sandals ($12), one pair of jeans ($24 on sale) and a handful of afrikana’s. I’m not enough of a culture geek to spend on the latest this and that and I’ve had 1 real relationship in lets say a lot of years.

The transition into modern me, required a number of humbling experiences.

I had to go through a cleansing from “want”, and re-establish a self trust that… the feeling of needing something will not lead to my demise of that feeling isn’t satisfied.

We all know San Francisco is NOT a cheap city

high rent sf

In order to afford San Francisco, I had to get rid of everything I came to san francisco with. Imagine a time lapse scene in a movie, where the main character shows up at a new city with two suitcases. Then, slowly over a few weeks he goes down to one suit case, then a sports bag, then finally just a bag pack.

For over a year, I wore the same shirt and pant. At 1st I couch surfed and airbnb’ed. To cut housing costs further, I eventually bought a $40 sleeping bag, then a $50 tent.

Over time the cost cuts paid off and things improved. As more money came in, I felt comfortable enough to go back to airbnb-ing and dating..

What advice would you give to young entrepreneurs?

This is the top question as off late, I hope more creative questions come about but this seems to be the fav. From experience, I’m betting this question often comes from someone who just doesn’t want to walk away without asking “A” question, so they throw this one out.

My reply:

If you are a single GUY in SF, doing the startup founder grind, you shouldn’t have a place

Shortly after going back to the comfort of a place to stay, I noticed a sky high jump in my expenses. I went out more, $7 — $8 beers is a norm in this city and it adds up. I invited friends over, friends invite me over, pizza got ordered, there’s another beer run (ching ching ching ching) it all adds up.

***Lastly dating... ***

dating

it’s no secret women are expensive. After spending $400 on Shen Yun tickets as a birthday gift, I realized I’m not there yet as an entrepreneur for these expenses. So I went back to my sleeping bag life and being funky enough for her to REALLY like me if she wants to hangout.

In the early days, I called this my “Steve Jobs” experiment

steve jobs

I credit this experience to the re-humbling of me. It also gave me a no excuses entrepreneurial worldview. If you don’t have the resources to venture out on your own BUT you believe the world needs your product, you will exhaust all options to make it happen.

For over a year, regardless my presentation or funk, I won people over. This is a confidence building experience unlike anything else. It’s important for young entrepreneurs to know that for SOME, the entrepreneurial process is 1st a self actualization process. Becoming your actual self is a refining process no different than raw metal to beautiful sharp sword.

It’s also incredibly important for young entrepreneurs to know, having no money is NOT a big deal in San Francisco. At least 4 out 5 working days a week there’s a meetup or event in this city where you will get pizza and beer. On weekends there are hackathons where you can win money and you are well feed.
food

This advice is intended only for those who have the minimum persistence requirement needed to accomplish goals and visions.

You’ll also need to have a level of don’t give a fuck-ness far above the false instinct that 1st impressions are the end all be all.

Sort:  

Haha yeah just like here in Tokyo

me follow and i vote are you willing to back my vote bloggers ?
I feel happy if you vote me my work
https://steemit.com/photography/@zein/my-work-together-nikon-d3300-original-photos

thanks

the market fails on rent.

I've been in the bay for more than 15 years and in SF for a big chunk of that. I've thought about writing a guide to getting cheap housing in SF, but I don't know if theres much steem demand for it.

this is starving hacker city... there's definitely a demand for it

I've posted an intro to my series on cheap housing in SF. If enough people demonstrate demand, I'll post the rest.
https://steemit.com/life/@firebat/how-to-find-cheap-housing-in-san-francisco-part-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44