Testing eSteem Surfer, the desktop app.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Hi!

I was pondering about the last post I wrote, and had the stark realization, that what if the current steem Web frontends were to topple too. What would we be left with?

We would need a standalone Steem app.

After making some quick searches, I found out that there already is a desktop build for eSteem, called eSteem Surfer. So I downloaded it and am testing it out as I write this post.

The looks

On the surface, the app is pretty calm and straight-forward looking. I like that.

97jsxnbyid.png
The (night-mode) profile view.

(I set the view into night-mode, as I feel like it is better for my eyes.)

The interesting part of the app is it shows my top posts. I haven't seen that functionality in the other Steem frontends. I like it very much.

q91h2sw5i9.png

Apart from the profile view, eSteem provides with functionality to add bookmarks and favorites, editing drafts, schedule posts and a gallery view for photos and graphics uploaded using the app. (Note: The uploaded photos will be saved on the esteem servers so I don't think that's the best way to do this. Maybe use IPFS instead, and I hope there will one day be a fork that does this directly.)

Other than that, I think eSteem does have quite a good functionality. You can even access your Steem wallet with it, but having logged in with my posting key, I can't access the transfer options. (Similar thing applies to the memo key.)

It might be better if the application also had its own keychain functionality to enable this instead of having to use the master key for all operations. Added security would always be a good idea.

Writing the post.

0lrx0y4g73.png

While writing, I was a bit taken back by the sluggishness of the actual text on the screen while I was writing. It, that especially when starting up the program, there seems to be a definitely noticeable lag between a keypress and the letter appearing on the screen in the input box. However the longer I've been writing, the lag has almost disappeared. That's just weird.

283eem3s9q.png

Keeping drafts

The draft keeping is an excellent function that I haven't really used before, but I'm glad there is one, if I ever happen to screw up the post I'm writing.

Conclusion

I really like where this app is heading, and I think I might be incorporating it into my workflow too.

There is one thing I would like to have on this application though, is the possibility to create custom footers that I could choose from when writing a post. This is a functionality I have missed on each and all frontends to the Steem blockchain.

When I was doing my #onephotoeveryday project, I always needed to build and tweak a footer in an external text editor, and the tweaking really became a chore, as towards to the end of my project, it was starting to take more and more of my time each time I would make a post, and when writing the last posts my time was divided 50%/50% between the post and tweaking the footer.

Also, since I have seen the posts written with eSteem, I am fully expecting to see a "fancy" footer created by the eSteem app itself, that advertises the app. I don't think that it is a good thing though, especially if I can't disable or edit that footer. (As far I checked, there wasn't a setting to do either.) Scrap that, I see that there wasn't an ad in the post! Which is a good thing!

So, how would I score this application?

I'll say it is already quite good! If it had the possibility to create custom footers and use different passwords, it would be excellent! :)

Ok, see you guys in the next post!

Sort:  

@gamer00,
Personally I am not joining STEEM APPS that requires our Master Keys to functioning there! Anyway a great review Jaro!

Cheers~

does it have a scheduling post feature ?

Looks like it does...

8v2tf4uphx.png

I haven't tested it out, so I am not sure how it is supposed to work. But I'd guess the idea is that you give an external site like esteem.app a permission to post it for you.

It is great. I used the esteem a time ago but it was the phone application own but it is great. Love the experience on it

Thanks for the full review of the program, I did not know about it.

Hi friend @gamer00. I installed that application on my wife's cell phone because on my desktop computer I can not do it, and the last publications that I have been able to do when electric power allows me to do it from there. Soon I will be updating the team with a friend who told me to take it to update it, you remember @krenter he will help me with the update, after that I will install it on the computer. That application is very good

Haven’t used desktop for posting for ages! This new design looks quite cool.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @gamer00!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.553 which ranks you at #2004 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 25 places in the last three days (old rank 2029).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 173 contributions, your post is ranked at #47.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Weirdness happened. I did some edits to the post through Steemit, and now the post claims it was posted via steemit, instead of eSteem. I didn't expect that.

This is normal I think as essentially, an edit is creating a new version of the post on a different point of the Blockchain. It is not the same post.

But when I'm editing it with eSteem, it doesn't change.

Interesting. perhaps because Esteem s a desktop app so it accesses it at the location?

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71