The 45 year old bot

in #steem5 years ago

I'd like to introduce you to my bot. My bot is imaginatively named...Robot. Come on, I was 4 years old when I got my bot, so cut me some slack. Robot was about the limit of my imagination back then.

I'll be honest with you...I wrote 550 words about bots on steem and my thoughts about bots opposed to actual people but after reading it back I deleted it. Why? Well, no one gives a fuck I think so why bother. It seems no one cares that bots rule the day, Cyberdyne Systems-style. If only they had guns and wiped us out like on the Terminator movies! Now that would make for a good blog!

I deleted it all and so you're simply going to get is this image of a much-loved toy robot I had as a 4 year old. It takes batteries, lights up and moves. It actually walks along...Well it did when it worked. I don't know why I saved it, but I did. Maybe I'll give it to someone someday, maybe I'll train it to take care of all my steem activities...It seems to be the norm.

Human input is so yesterday isn't it? I mean what social-media platform needs people?


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
Hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209

Sort:  

Two things came to my mind when I read this... first:

Wake up Neo... the Matrix has you...

Then... Willy Wonka; they all lived in the small deteriorating home, grandpa confined to bed... mother adding another heap of cabbage to the "already made", watered down... cabbage soup. And why? Because the Dad lost his job, at the toothpaste factory... where he put the lids on the toothpaste...

... by a robot.

BUT...

If I recall, their life turned around again, because someone had to service the robot that put the caps on the toothpaste. And who better to service this robot... but the man who used to put the caps... on the toothpaste!

Ok so... that wasn't really a good analogy, because then you'd have to ask; are we talking Gene Wilder "Willy Wonka"... or Johnny Depp "Willy Wonka"... and then, there's the one about...

Klaatu barada nikto

So we are really talking robots now! ... OR is it really just...
Shop smart... shop, S-mart...

I'm not sure about the Matrix...Maybe we really are in there...I like to think I'm unplugged to a certain degree though, however that could just be my ego speaking...Or the matrix programming.

Thanks for your reply, certainly one of the more interesting one's I've for a while. :)

LOL well, I was following a post by @kayda-ventures and saw your kind words to him. THEN I saw your avatar so had to go peek... true Social Media surfing, right? Or was it just part of the algorithm?

Plus... it's not very often that I see people use the same... writing style? Or rather... people that put the three dots... after almost... everything...

So much so, that I looked it up one time, to see what it all meant Small world? Or perhaps great minds think alike?

He is absolutely extraordinary 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

An ellipsis is what (...) is called. I use it a bit. It is used to indicate that more is coming. Thanks for coming by and taking a look at my blog. It's somewhat varied I guess, a little of everything...But then variety adds a little spice to life, does it not?

Have a good weekend.

Failed to mention... have been following @kayda-ventures for some time, as he was a new Steemian that landed at the @steemterminal where I Moderate... no shameless plug just wanted to explain so didn't think I "really" was a robot :)

“Open the pod bay doors, HAL.”

Thanks for the mention dad

Posted using Partiko Android

You are much too kind brother; Dad is a powerful and special connection... I am indeed flattered and honored, but that Title only comes once in life. I honor your Father and would say... call me Pops or Papa...everyone here at home does lol...

☺.... Pops sounds better. Thanks for always being there for me

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @galenkp! First of all I wanted to thank you for your support.

Both, super cute, 45 years ago.

I imagine you playing and of course they were cute.
A kiss.

Ahead of the pack you had a bot before everyone else did on steem🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh yeah mate, the early bird catches the worm right? Something like that. 😄

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks like it's a to model, Mercedes bot. How do I send it steem for my upvote?

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, yeah, not sure, send it to me and I'll work out a way to transfer it. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

He is so cute 😊😊😊😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, a good companion when I was a kid. Obviously the fact I still have him 45 years later means I valued him and his company. We were a good match he and I...Both super-cute 45 years ago.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Are you both in crankypants mood tonight? XD

I would have read the bot post and attempted to make some smartarse comment which probably would have fallen flat XP But I read this one instead and that's fine too. Is that a recent pic of the bot? It's in pretty good nick, did you actually play with it as a kid or was it for staring at in wonder XD

Okay in fairness a lot of the stuffed animals and a handful of beloved action figures my sister and I had as kids are also in a similarly good condition as they were looked after. If we'd had something like your robot it would have been dinged up a lot as it's the kind of thing my adhd cousin would have loved to play with and like my son he went through a phase of destroying/being deliberately nand unnecessarily as rough as possible without actually destroying things for the pure hell of it. So glad when they grew out of it XD

It's a recent picture taken last week. As a family, when we were young kids, we didn't have much to go around so anything I got was treated as well as possible as I knew it was unlikely it would get a replacement. I have other toys also, some of my brother's ones. Seems I'm the custodian of most things from our past.

I got that robot at 4 years old and treasured it, and played with it whenever my parents could afford to buy the 2 D cell batteries to make it work. When I had no batteries it took pride of place on my shelf next to my bed.

Thanks for commenting, as always.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good as an experiment to see how actual robotics have evolved and are now in our everyday lives!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Willy Wonka had Oompa loompas, we have robots.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow!
This is A. W. E. S. O. M. E.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.435 which ranks you at #2122 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 2127).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 178 contributions, your post is ranked at #45.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50