You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are you a Steem 1 percenter? Do you know who is?

in #steem6 years ago

@tarazkp Well I have to honest I did not expect these numbers. I am active on the Steem blockchain and have been converting all my SBD into steem and powering up. I am doing all within my power to get to the Minow level.
My current Steem power is around 238. It could have been more but like written earlier I am running a World Cup Contest, where I do pay out in SBD. So I am putting 50% of my earned SBD to my savings and powering up the other 50%.
I am also active in a community, okay it is sport betting related which is not everybodies cup of tea (@sbcbot). We are trying to unite sports bettor, give them Steem tips and supporting them with upvotes of our bot. Our members do buy upvotes from the bots, but once they are whitelisted by us, we will give them a daily push in the back. This all wouldn't have been possible without the support of a Dolphin! This support is incredibly important for a community. Not only by the power they could spread but also because they know how things work around here!
While I could write that I cam for the money but I am staying for the community is partly true. I really enjoy building our community, thinking about ideas how we can support our members even further and so on. The only problem we are facing right now is that all the members do interact with the founders but not so much with each other! We are still trying to find ways to improve this. Any ideas?
To bad we can't force them :) we can only offer them the platform and encourage them, the rest is up to them.
The World Cup Contest I am hosting also has two purposes, 1. trying to give our community as much exposure as possible and 2. doing something big to put my account on the map (a price pool of 100 SBD really helps :) But also here this wouldn't have been possible without all the sponsors!
Because the more power I will get, the more power I can spread. I am still acting like a dolphin, but I am still a small red fish!

Sorry for the rant from my side, but it appears that you touched a nerve!
I also don't understand why most starters not are powering up in full force!

Cheers,
Peter

Sort:  

There is no issue with it al but if you look at all of the contests run on this platform over the last 2 years and then have a look at those numbers again, it will show that even those who win don't power up. I ma not discouraging you of course and I think what you are doing is really good but, this platform has paid out something like 50 million worth in the last 2 years yet not many seemed to have held.

These numbers are very disappointing considering I know many of the people in each group. I shouldn't, there should be way more.

There should be indeed much more. I am number 501xxx something on the steem ecosystem and if I do look at the stats you are presenting to us, I should not be this high in the rankings. For sure, if you know that I do consider myself a bad writer, so if even I can make something of my Steem account, why can't others?
Well there are several reasons for this. On one side you do have the people who don't trust the system and on the other hand you do have to people who still do believe that it is a quick rich scheme! Expecting a daily of weekly upvote from a whale.
Well I did got my first one a week ago and this stupid Steemian did donate a big part of it to the prize pool.
You are not discouraging me. I do know that there are a lot of contest going on, most participants and there for the quick bucks and probably most of the participants in our contest will be the same. But I already had some friendly banter with some people I did not know before, which is worth all the effort!

What does discourage me the most, is to see how some people vote, following a curation trail blindly, while I do see people around me, trying to make the best out of it, without getting noticed. People are just trowing money out of the window!
I really think that the Steem blockchain is a great idea, they just did underestimate the greed of people.
Besides great articles like yours and some other, interaction is what this eco system really needs! The comment/post ratio is ridiculous low. It is that low we should not be allowed to call steem a social media platform!

@tarazkp

You're right. There's a lot of contest chasers just looking to earn some sbd/steem, but there's a few that use the winnings to power up.

@fullcoverbetting and I, are in the same boat (and the same community 😃). Our accounts are not growing as fast as they used to because we are financing different contests, but I have nothing to complain about. I believe that in general, the good outweighs the bad.

We have success with our community, most members are powering up. We are operating at a loss supporting the promising members and most are responding well. Their engagement is up, the quality of content they produce is up,... They believe in the platform.

You'd be surprised how little investment it takes to encourage someone to take this platform seriously and starts investing effort and time into the community engagement and improving the quality of content. A few kind words, some advice, and a regular upvote is all it takes.

When writing our bot, I left us open to abuse on purpose. A member can tag 10 of his/her posts with the sbc tag in a day and the bot will upvote it all. But we have a rule that you can use the tag just once a day on a sports/betting content only. Do you know how many times the bot got abused?

Not once!

Two times the bot upvoted two posts by the same member in a day because they've made an honest mistake (that they apologized for), but there's not been a single abuse of the bot done on purpose.

Show people that you trust them, support them without asking them to return the favor, and your trust in humanity will get restored 😃

You'd be surprised how little investment it takes to encourage someone to take this platform seriously and starts investing effort and time into the community engagement and improving the quality of content.

I have an idea :D

Show people that you trust them, support them without asking them to return the favor, and your trust in humanity will get restored

This is what I am hoping would happen with the delegation idea but, the ones that receive the delegation need to be above board. That way, they will find how to distribute it well to people who deserve/earn etc.

i am glad you guys are doing this though as I think there is going to be a lot of future in it that will pay off for you.

This is what I am hoping would happen with the delegation idea but, the ones that receive the delegation need to be above board.

If you have the ear of the powers to be, this is the guy you can't go wrong with: @costanza

The Sports Betting Community is his brainchild. Take a look at the post he wrote 5 months ago. His support for the promising steemians has just increased since that time.

i am glad you guys are doing this though as I think there is going to be a lot of future in it that will pay off for you.

It already does. Having a vibrant community of like-minded people is worth a lot.

It already does. Having a vibrant community of like-minded people is worth a lot.

It is pretty amazing how important a community is and how few people treat it with respect. Engagement is nearly all down to the people, not the money.

that receive the delegation need to be above board

As told before, I am blessed with some free delegation. But I do know that the people who did delegate the power are taking a close look on my actions! I am doing my utmost best to prove to them that I am worth it :)

The problem we as a community are facing is that our niche really detracts some people. Betting and gambling are still placed in some dark corner, lost of people do it, but few dare to admit it! Being afraid that people will change their mind about them!

But for the more serious ones, there is a lot of comparision between betting, investing and maybe even steem.
For all three counts that don't put more money into then you can loose!
I do think that in the past year more people got into trouble by investing into cryptos than placing bets on sports!
If we would have been a sewing club, it would have been much easier to get some support :)

We do feel that it is important to educate our member to become great Steemians, regardless of the content about which they are writing!
The more niches are available on the platform, the more people would feel at home!

i am glad you guys are doing this though as I think there is going to be a lot of future in it that will pay off for you

For us it not about making a profit from the community! Otherwise we would have already stopped! Also all power the bots earns is invested back into it! We do like creating and supporting the community. It is great to see something grow!
It is our little baby :)

Betting and gambling are still placed in some dark corner, lost of people do it, but few dare to admit it!

I think this will change with communities. You guys will be able to have your own and the 'walls' will mean a little more feeling of privacy if tat makes sense.

It does 😁
For once I do want to try to be a front runner in stead of feeling sorry that we didn’t go for it!
And like @beat-the-bookies wrote: if it fails we had a blast and ae gained some friends, which is more valuable than all the steem in the world!

Well @tarazkp still happy with your delegation of SP a while ago. Brought me to a new level and enthusiasm while writing my last posts. 🎉

@fullcoverbetting can you explain what you think why it is wrong following a curation trail?

@guchtere
Remy, well my 2 cents. It is not about good or wrong.
But most people following a curation trail don’t know what they will be voting on. The leader of the trail picks the posts and gets the most curation rewards from it.
Also most members within a curation trail are in there because, probably the curation trail could also upvote their posts, what for some would be like hitting the jackpot!
I know that the idea behind it is genuine, just like the idea behind steem is, they just did underestimate the greed of people.
Just like using an autovoter, it decreases the level of interaction, which for me is utmost important!
I would always prefer a genuine comment above an upvote, but getting both is the max!
I still do all my upvotes manually because I don’t want to upvote every post from an author!
Still I would be trilled and happy if an influencer, like for instance @tarazkp would auto vote me 😁, just like I would do a happy dance when @curie would upvote a post of mine!
I do like my freedom of casting my votes.
Like I wrote in the beginning I don’t judge people who are taking part in a curation trail, it is just not my cup of tea! We all are trying to make the best out of it, here on Steem!
What’s your opinion on it! Do you follow one, which and why if I may ask!
@tarazkp what is your opinion about it?

@fullcoverbetting Thanks for your quick and long reply! Need to get in a daily standup now. Will reply later today.

Looking forward to it. Really hate those daily stand-ups :(

Well this one wasn't that bad actually. We had someone celebrating his birthday with some cake 🎉

About the trail, you're right the curator is earning the most. But for example I follow @curie and I like what they're doing with their selection on curators and they pay their curators as far as I know? So I could follow them and vote manually or use the trail. And another example during my trip in NZ from wich I just returned (still creating my travel blogs they are a little behind), I wasn't able to be all the time on Steemit. But following a trail feels better for me then leaving my SP doing nothing.
But thumbs up about doing this al manually, your doing a perfect job!

And you're for sure right about getting an upvote plus a comment is the best! The (travel) blogs I got some reactions at my story do make you feel better than getting an upvote .

It happens since majority of humans aren't really content creators. That will say that eventually majority of the Steem will end up in real content creators hands. The passionate ones. Since they see the value more in a community and not just the investor side to it. Clearly the market with Bid Bots will balance itself out eventually especially when it comes to people that has a short term strategy to make some quick cash and then leave to some other place.

Only issue is that below 15 SP it really feels pointless to try to get up to 50 SP haha. If you can make the process more fun and engaging that will surely help. More cool stats for example and cool stuff that people can collect that doesn't have to be real Tokens. Surely the blogging system is not what will drive long term value but it's just here to verify that humans are legit and can create real value. The ones that should have most value is people with a long term Steem strategy that will stay for a longer period.

For me I would have no issue with a price crash since it would probably drive out a lot of the greedy and the ones who are the most passionate can then stay and truly build up a middle class. Would be a bit like building up a city after World War 2. Currently right now it can be a bit problematic to delegate out power since it takes 7 days to get the value back. So there is less incentive to do it. But in the future we will probably have better wealth trickle down systems that will work more effective.

But @tarazkp is right. The should be a broader middle class. Just like in the real world the middle class keeps it going.
If we take a look of the number he did present us, there just below 10K accounts, which do have enough power to support others, projects or communities. Probably at least 10 to 15% are bot related. So that leaves around 8K accounts who can support the rest! All of the other 50K daily active accounts are fighting for their attention, just neglecting each other, which is real pity!

We did see it during mid feb, when the steem price was dropping incredible! Lots of people didn't think that it was worthwhile to continue being active. Well I kept on going, which for me was easier, because the value part is merely a nice side effect! Most of the power I own at the moment did came from those days! People forgot that it was back then much easier to get noticed and to het a share of the reward pool!
Regardless of the price, each day a less than 800K steem is generated!

A price crash is a 2 side cutting knife. Yes a lot of less serious money hungry wolves will leave but also this will hurt some of the investors who really believe in the platform, and the question is how they will react on this!

I also don't understand all the account, which barely have 50 SP, but around 100 SBD. Why did they not convert them into Steem? Those days that SBD had more value then Steem are passed and will probably never come again!

Edited: I did read most of the comments. And I did see lately a lot of post of the quality of posts! The quality of a post can't be determined based on the value of the post but based on the interaction which is going on under the post! The more interaction and the more interaction between the commenters, the better the post is in my opinion!
So based on this, this a one hell of a post! Keep them coming!

Great comment. Yes this is all very accurate. Geeks usually forget how complicated all this is for the average human to get in their head. That is why most people don't power up. It's scary and complicated and there is no help if something goes wrong. And go from 15 SP to 50 SP feels kind of pointless for a beginner.

Also what will massively drive the price of Steem won't be the content but as you say the quality communication between the users of the Steem currency. That will say the more connections you can do the better. The network effect. Every comment is a form of advertising between the users but targeted advertising that is so smooth that it's invincible. It's information that people want. The content is just there to form more connections.

Thx @phoneinf
I do still remember those days. Only been around since the beginning of January. Just like you it appears. I was always trying to take small steps, for to get rid of the delegation from the platform, then getting it up to 50 and so on!
I do hope that at the end of the year I can reach minnow status. That's the goal, we will see how it will end up!

You are right that it is some kind of advertising but it only works if you are genuine. If you are not, you could do more harm then good. We all only have one chance to make a first impression!
So, let me do some advertising :) Feel free to join the world cup contest I am hosting!
It is free and like it should there are no upvote, resteem or follow requirements :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64778.13
ETH 2531.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68