You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How do you like DLive now?

in #steem6 years ago

I don’t know, I liked dlive because they kept the viewer counter which dtube abolished, and yeah the fact that videos didn’t disappear after a week, and almost no errors with uploading, which I continuously encountered on dtube. I was anticipating dlive to introduce beneficiaries at some point to pay for the servers, but I didn’t mind that as long as the videos were up.

It’s easy to say now “I told you so”, but there is no way to foresee something like it, especially if it didn’t happen before.

Sort:  

Whoever told you we systematically deleve videos after one week is a liar and manipulator. We had issues this is true, but I doubt we ever kept a video less than a month on our servers.
Dlive has no upload bugs? Well yeah I'd expect it too when you don't build anything yourself and use ready made 3rd party solutions.

And yeah, I'm saying "I told you so" because I can. And I will keep on doing it for all the other shit projects out there, as well as all the other bad things happening in this community.

Oh and counting views in a decentralized way isn't the easiest thing to do. But you don't care, you're not a technical person and you just want your goddamn view counter like a little kido.

Keep on using DLive...

:D you know, I appreciate that you’ve managed to build something from scratch that works.

But how am I supposed to know that a view counter is something difficult to do on a dapp, if dtube actually had one in the beginning?

i am very disappointed in dlive leaving this way. At the same time you just gave me a brilliant idea :3

I might actually keep using them as video storage (if they keep it free xD) instead of YouTube but write the actual posts on top of steem.

I might use dtube or something else. Whatever suits my work interests at that particular point. I don’t mind being a little kiddo as long as the content I create brings traffic and adds entertainment value (๑╹ω╹๑ ), that’s why I care that it stays available as long as possible.

Again, you are doing a great job. Still some things are hard to foresee. So please excuse me for not being technical enough to understand how all the bells and whistles work.

Ok, I can understand that :)

But why did you say we had a view counter? We never had one. You mean DLive? DLive is centralized, that's why :)

Arguably we could also count views in a centralized way but then basically you'd be trusting our servers about the numbers, without truly being able to verify it yourself...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49