STEEM politics ... otherwise known as more stupid human tricks

in #steem5 years ago

I would like to start by saying the advice of not taking the steem platforms seriously was priceless! I have wholeheartedly accepted this advice since my first moment here, and I would say it wasn't a moment too soon!!

I have been learning a lot during the honeymoon phase of my steem adventures. I have been exercising my writing chops again, which is amazing and much needed. I have been getting to know a little bit about my fellow steemians around the world, who are doing many amazing things that interest me. I am also learning volumes about crypto-currency.
Yes, I know it's unbelievable, a woodswoman who doesn't realize all the potential of crypto...

I have created my first steem challenge, which was a failure of less than epic proportions. No one participated, so I got to keep my steem and begin processing my first steem fail, so that i can build from it in the future. I was going to write a post about it but then I decided I have lots of more interesting things to write about at the moment.

Little by little I have learned about witnesses (and voted for some), how the steem blockchain works (the bare basics), what the difference between plankton and minnow and orca and whale are (kind of), tokens (I am collecting several kinds of these), and sps proposals (proud supporter of the keychain and steemonboard proposals!).

I have been treading through the waters of tags for posts, and different platforms to use for Steem, and all of the myriad of places I can find ways to interact with the blockchain on my computer, or crappy phone.

I have grown my steem on my wordsmithing, and I have enjoyed having my home school steemagers "jump on the scene" with me here (Do you know any teens on steem? Send them to @steemagers for the hookup and hormone holding tanks, or to co-create, whichever happens from moment to moment!)

And of course I have been so happy with the koolaid I am offering it to lots of my friends, just in case one of them might be converted to our cult...

I think I might have made it slightly past
kindergarten level on here!

And then, without warning, enter the steem politics monkey, flinging POO everywhere.

I know very little about downvoting on here, except that you can do it, and it seems like something completely uninteresting to me. I just upvote what I like, and enjoy the upvotes on my posts (although I know some of y'all vote without reading first, so thanks for the vote of confidence in those times!).

But now I am learning ~ downvoting is the political poop of steem!

I had been excited because my latest post had received a whale upvote and a comment to encourage me to keep posting with my style of writing and content. That's definitely a motivator! But then, not too long later, I noticed I had a downvote. It wasn't someone whose name I had seen before and they gave no comment of constructive criticism, so I went to check their page out.

I stepped in the poo.

The person had downvoted a lot of folks, so it's something they enjoy for a reason I still don't know. However, I also noticed that they had been steeming about hating steem, and being blacklisted, and blah blah blah ~ I say that because after the 2nd or 3rd steem post like that my eyes glazed over and I lost interest in their rants, so I don't remember enough to bother to explain it here.

w6qg0l.jpg

Here's a picture I took of snail sex to make this post officially more appealing than steem politics
>

I also am under the impression that they most likely even found my steem post and downvoted it simply because a whale had found it and upvoted it. I might be wrong about that, because I am definitely speculating to come up with that, but that's the impression I got from all their writings and voting wars (they had sparked heavy downvoting upon themselves as well).

Thanks to all of you out there participating in Steem that are sharing and doing things in a way that are easy to understand for us new folks. Thanks to everyone who is posting content that is designed to lift each other up. Thanks to all of you out there who believe in a better world than the plastic castles full of bubble gum that the mainstream is swallowing in daily life.

And especially thanks to all of you who aren't flinging poo at each other. I know just enough about humans to know that there is NO arena I want to play stupid human tricks in ~ physical and cyber worlds included.

P.S. I still don't take anything on here too seriously...

Sort:  

Welcome! I remember my first big vote I wrote about guava jelly 😅

Just focus on what you are building, I think is the key. Steem must enhance what a user does, which is why homesteaders have found a nice niche here.

But all sorts of stuff fills these blocks....even poop hahaha.

Ah fuck it. Snail sex is way more interesting. Focus on the cool stuff. That stuff is dumb. Its kinda like tabloid newspaper trainwrecks next to Shakespeare. Poo poo indeed. 100 percent up vote to kiss it better.

Posted using Partiko Android

@riverflows thanks for appreciating my snarky sense of humor on steem stupidity! I had a little time to myself on Friday night between the kids falling asleep and my honey making it home from work, so a fun post seemed in order. Besides,the snail sex really needed shared...

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you again @freemotherearth for mentioning me and trying to get the idea out there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54266.19
ETH 2288.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31