You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Continues to Slide. Not the Bottom Yet

in #steem6 years ago

Welcome to Steemit mate.

While I agree that corporations shouldn’t be moral barometers, I also think the occupy movement does way more harm than good.

Steemit just needs to offer a superior product and people will change. It’s as simple as that.

Patience 🙂.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

OK, fair enough.

Many thanks for being so nice and warm despite us evidently disagreeing diametrically on Occupy's helpfulness, or otherwise. I'm happy to just agree to disagree with you on this if you'd prefer but I'm also genuinely intrigued as to why you feel the way you do?

By way of explanation, I've been stuck in Occupying since 2011 almost non-stop. Pretty much everybody I've interacted with in that time has been sympathetic and the few who haven't been weren't conducive to civil discourse. I'm pretty sure the filter bubbles I'm used to haven't helped either. It's a blessed relief to get out of that bloody echo chamber and on to a platform where people just politely say, "no sorry, I disagree with you" and explain why.

So anyway, I'm genuinely intrigued as to how you arrived at your views, not baiting. I feel like Occupy has done a load of really good work in the last 7 years. I'm proud of what we've managed to accomplish so far and am hoping that #OccupySiliconValley results in a mass migrate towards more progressive platforms like steemit.

That said, I'm always up for challenging my perspectives on things.

All criticism is constructive, if you take it as such, eh?

Like I said, no worries if you'd rather not get into it and cheers for being cool.

I guess being in Australia, I approach things differently from the US where occupy was born out of civil unrest.
Australia is majority centrist in terms of the political spectrum. We have a very stable, yet open economy and strong government services for essentials such as health and education. It works and people are mostly happily settled in the centre as a result.

My gripe at the height of the occupy movement was really that they didn’t have a clear message. It was just a bunch of radicals basically being pests... Something that the majority across the centre of the political spectrum aren’t going to resonate with.

As shit as it is, because we personally won’t get everything we want, real change comes from compromise in the centre and not disrupting society by the radical fringe like occupy.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Interesting. Thanks for sharing. I don't know much about the Australian experience, all I saw from Occupy Australia was the Melbourne tent monsters, which I thought were pretty epic to be fair!

Appreciate you taking the time to explain how you see it. From my perspective it's a shame you see the 'disruption to society' the way you do, but like you said, we've had different experiences.

Respect.

😂 You made this?

Posted using Partiko iOS

worth it for the lulz! :D
you mind if I share it?

Of course not haha. Go for it :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice one, ta!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17