Main reason I am increasing my investment in STEEM, A working product that is understandable to fund managerssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago

Potential Institutional Investors


source

Some institutional investors are entering the cryptocurrency world, but it is too new and scary for most and they are uneasy. The main source of this unease is the lack of proven use cases. i.e working projects that have large user bases.

Think about bitcoin, while you likely know some people that own some, you probably don't know many that use it. Bitcoin's only proven use case is making money, that self fulfilling investment strategy makes institutional investors nervous.

Active Daily Users

Whereas one thing that institutional investors do understand are social networks and user engagement metrics, given all their investments in Facebook, twitter, snapchat, etc, they have teams of analysis that just work on social media. And looking at Steemit's user numbers (graph below) it is something that the big fund managers can use to justify an investment. It has the extra bonus that it will allow them to show their subset of clients, that are interested in crypto, that they are engaged in that space, while still having the hard data to backup the investment to more skeptical clients.


Image take from this post by @arcange

A Naive Steemit App

Steemit's 2017 roadmap plans for the launch of naive apps for Android and iOS and given the already established high user numbers, I think it is safe to say that on the first week of the launch we should see high download rates. This article by Techcrunch estimate that you need 38,400 daily downloads to rank on the top 25 list, with much less per category, 5,800 for the social networkings top 25.

So it is highly likely that steemit can feature in the top 25 lists for at least it's first week, this exposure will likely bring in many new users but it is also likely to grab the attention of the institutional investors that are always on the look out for the next big thing. As many venture capitalists keep a close eye on these lists.

And the other reasons

  • Steemit Communities coming soon

  • Steemfest2 around the corner

  • current dip providing a value opportunity

  • High roi from engagement, make ~20% APR from curating and posting

Sort:  

I have not invested any personal money into steem as of yet. I know it is still in the beta phase but I do see it advancing much further in regards to the cryptocurrency aspect.
I came to steemit for the writing and blogging platform and as time goes on, I am learning more about the advantages of cryptocurrency.

I do like the fact about the communities and finding like-minded members to follow, share with and comment to. I've learned more on steemit from my followers and the people I follow in my particular interests than I have in quite some time.

I agree with all points in the article, the fact is that a lot of cryptos are just ideas. The world is full of good ideas, but there are not a lot that are realized. Steemit like you say is a proven model with a loyal awesome crowd that is increasing very rapidly like your graph shows! For me it's a no brainer- Steem is an awesome investment- thanks for sharing !

To be clear I got the graph form @arcange's post, here

I should have been more clear with the wording - my bad 🤗

Nice post, Hole heartedly agree...good time to power up

Investing in Steem is a great investment.
All of us who are here are lucky because we are early adopters.
Stems users are increasing at a rapid rate,so we need to get more seem power now.

I'm right with you man!

It's times like this I wish I had more money to invest.

Actually, no, it's at all times I wish I had more money.... :-/

Soon, Mark Zuckerberg will cry!)))

You do not want to face the wrath of my bunghole!!

These ideas are very interesting. You made a very good choice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64307.66
ETH 3146.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88