You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ⏺Knowledge vs. intelligence.. Why I hated school!

in #steem7 years ago

Such an interesting comment, Zane. I, too, hated school but ended up training as a teacher. My English teacher was horrified when I went back to do teaching prac - I had a degree in English and I'd been in the dof class. I so get you: school cannot teach intelligence and many schools can almost drill it out of you. Intelligence is a combination of knowledge and being able to distinguish between the crap/fake news and the real news and "proper" knowledge because you have the savvy to ask the right questions and discertn the "right" answers. Good on you for taking a stand, but don't dis all learning and formal learning: use it to suit you and to benefit you. Go for it!

Sort:  

Amen to that! Wow, like 90% of these comments are as long as school essays haha! Takes so much longer to get through, but I love it so much.

Awesome comment. I love it how so many teachers are coming upfront about this, and actually agreeing to this. It's really a cool sight.

I agree completely with what you're saying.. And yeah, it's not that I disregard all learning whatsoever, it's more a case to prove a point that I will never, ever study so I can have some words on a piece of paper. I strongly disagree with that, and don't need it to tell me my wisdom :) That's all. If I find a genuinely awesome course or learning experience, I will jump in!

Thanks for the comment. If you haven't yet, you can go see my latest post. Talk soon.

Will check out your post and have followed you. Your post inspired me to post, here, a post from my original blog. It's called "Going back to school - a growing up" feel free to check it out!

That's really awesome that I was able to inspire you. I will check it out for you!

I followed you too! Talk soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67010.34
ETH 2604.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72