You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moving Product - A SILVERengines *proton* Exchanged for ~STEEM~

in #steem7 years ago

That would be ideal but I for one do not understand steem/std and I have a college degree. LOL So tell me I look at steemnow and see $4.57 at the top right of the page as I type this. Does that mean that 1.000 of steem is equal to $4.57 OR does that mean that one steem dollar is equal to $4.57? I figure both cannot be the case. It helps to UNDERSTAND this stuff to feel comfortable trading. Thanks.

Sort:  

Hi, Troy,

As I best understand it, Steem and SBD are two separate and different currencies.
I usually look at http://coinmarketcap.com for the price of Steem and SBD. You can see their separate values there. As I write, Steem = $4.58 USD and SBD = $4.11 USD.

These are simply "market values," your mileage may vary. All you need is an agreement between two people to exchange, and that sets a real world price. Just like buying apples and oranges in different supermarkets.

Do you have something to sell? Accept Steem or SBD, and just agree with a buyer.
Do you want Steem or SBD? Make me an offer.

It's really fundamentally simple. Find a buyer or seller for whatever you have, agree on a price in Steem or SBD, and exchange. Easy peasy.

Well I see Steem but I must be blind as as bat because I do not see SBD. So that means that 1.000 equals $4.11 I assume. I need to make a donation at some point in the next day or so. Also if Steem is $4.58 and SBD is $4.11 I assume it is better to go 100% payout in steem?

For the moment, your Steem is more valuable than SBD. This varies with the market. By the time your post pays out (a week after you post) the market may have inverted.

Historically, SBD has generally been equal or sometimes greater value than Steem, so my tendency would be to stay with the 50 - 50...

"...I see Steem but I must be blind as as bat because I do not see SBD..."

You can type SBD into the box on http://coinmarketcap.com and you'll find it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62934.10
ETH 2452.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66