You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So you think you own your content on steem – Sorry to tell you…..

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Steemit Alexa ranking has tanked over the past couple of months--badly. Since they don’t give creators the tools to help increase their SEO on their own I see this as a response in trying to resolve things. Not to mention there are other front ends that provide a much better user experience.

A few months ago some of the top-ranking slots , if I recall for a topic like Steem Monsters, were not even from Steem.. While they are going by Splinterlands these days which there is a market full of other stuff with that name and you won’t find anything about the game itself just with that alone. It is quite shocking our own ecosystem is not a clear winner in ranking for all SM information (outside of their own website). This has started to change and I guess now we know why.

This is a massive issue for a bunch of other topics as well. You would think our platform be top-ranked but nope. Personal websites and larger aggregation sites are able to populate the top searches. They have the tools and know it’s worth the time to focus on SEO which is not something that happens a lot here. Nor are we rewarded for doing so in any direct fashion.

Even my own content has been tanking in ranking over the past few months the best I can tell for search results. Since I don’t any analytic page myself this personal feeling.

So if that is how they think they will fix the Alexa ranking I think they are missing out on giving people more tools and power to do so if they wish. You also have all the other sites that can pull from the blockchain I have seen in the past posts showing up for other sites, not from Steemit regarding my own content.

There are also situations like yours where you have a website that you prefer to get ranking over what is posted on the blockchain. In the past that should not have been hard even if it became popular here.

On top of that since anyone can set up a site and pull from the blockchain there are a bunch of sites that have income-earning opportunities from my content. Unlike me who can only get upvotes for a week they can run ads on that content for almost forever.

While sure within the blockchain it can be seen Enjar owns X and Z content. I have very little say over it what happens to itand who gets to profit from it. Let alone my barging tool is Stake and I alone can’t just renegotiate terms and conditions for use of my content here. Outside of something like using a tribe tag to have my content listed but even then they can pick whatever tags they want to pull from including generic ones.

So I get why they are trying to do something. While there is the benefit of them not needing to sell Steem if they earn enough off my content. I myself have been unprofitability with my own costs involved in content creator and I have been here for 30 months. If my own abilities are hindered trying to fix that long term issue all my eggs end up in the basket with the price of Steem. Which we have seen from how the platform is doing is not a good thing for any content creator in the short term.

Sort:  

Oh @enjar, thank you for your amazing comment as always. Giving the creators the tools would rock, and could help solve the problem of ranking for steemit.com.

I actually dont really care if people profit from my content until it hampers my profit. SEO has a direct impact on my traffic and so bottom line and that part bothers me most.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76