You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Definition of a Whale and a whale-like group and the Math Behind

in #steem7 years ago

@abit okay thank you for clarifying this
I'm guessing we got flagged cause there are those accounts who don't know they are already whales or maybe they do but are on auto votes mode which is sweet too I think - that's loyal support !

Whales and whale-like groups are those who have more than 800M VESTS in total, or around 384K SP in total.

so this is your purpose - to grow but how will this lead to growth?

As a member, you want we have more users so each SP your own will worth more in the future, or you earn more SP today but each SP will worth less in the future?

this part just killed my dream of being a whale okay so that would never happen unless a few whales keep powering down and give up whaleness ...

The number of whales is limited. With this limit, the system won't scale, we will be unable to grow into a bigger user base.

I don't have to imagine this is somehow happening now isn't it ? Till you did this experiment. Somehow I felt like a whale - I still only have cents for effects but hey better cents that no effect at all. and yes .. I get how you whales feel now with all that voting power in your hands - it ain't easy casting a vote specially that my whaleness feeling has an expiry date and VI %age limit. Anyway, am loving the whaleness feeling but I also noticed that I still don't have much effect so does that mean that - the worth of my SP is already worth less?

Image someday we have one million new posts a day, 10 whales with 40 votes each can only vote for 400 posts in total, and probably many votes will go to same posts, what will the other 999,600 authors think?

may I ask what we are expecting as a result of this experiment? Higher worth of SP in the future? no one invests in something that devaluates

Sort:  

When STEEM's price is rising, our SP will worth more.

One expectation of the experiment: fairer rules.

@abit so I take it this would pump the price of Steem up?
The more we should write eh?
Okay, thank you for explaining that.

Is the experiment now over?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31