Nobody reads titles anyways

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

         To ensure maximum suffering, I decided to include no images in this post.

         When I started my journey on the Steem blockchain, I envisioned myself as an average user. That is, checking out some cool blogs and enjoying myself. I would take my jolly time in a place where creators and artists would get their fair share. I would receive some compensations for curating content, provided I had enough SP.

         I knew there would be controversial materials, but I thought some of them might be hidden gems. If not, they could be for laughter.

         Soon, I discovered that there are dapps on the platform. I thought that was cool because not everyone had to be bloggers or artists. As time progressed, the exhilarating feeling of a brave new world faded.

What happened?

         This place got boring. It is lackluster. It is inferior to what is out there in the world.

         I look at the trending page. Nothing too spectacular I want to read. If those posts are people's weird flex, okay. Do you know how silly it is to scroll through that place and saying this in your head:

"Praise the sun! It's not another @chbartist post."

         If you wonder why I have not flagged all the @jackmiller posts, that is 95% of the reasons there. He gets points for adding variety. D is for diversity, apparently.

         The pseudo-entrepreneurs would tell you to "promote yourself". Why the hell would I do that? I came to consume content, but winded up having paid advertisements shoved down my screen.

         See? The problem stems back to this sentiment: become a superstar yourself! Guess which prominent Steemian said that? It does not matter, I am sure many people said that at some point.

         Why does no one consume content around here? Should you fail your quest to become a superstar, try the alternatives:

1. Bid your crap like crazy and earn 20% or more from BUYING votes. Let me put emphasis on the buying part. Nobody has to enjoy your dung when you can magically print more money for yourself.

         Steem has the most profitable solitaire game in existence. If you have the stake yourself, all the better!

2. Find a way to game the system. Do some faucet delegation abuse. Cash out on the bonus Byteball airdrop while you are at it. After all, 100 Steem in bids can stretch a long way if no one flags you.

         Steemit Inc. cannot onboard actual users. But hey, they managed to onboard tens of thousands for the abusers.

         Let us not get started with the nature of promotion. The return on investment "starts" the moment the bots vote on you. Till this day, not a single friend of mine does not think that this practice seems like a scam.

         Good thing we have flags! Oh wait, people feel entitled to their "pending payout". Because "muh freedom" and "decentralization" are perfect legitimate reasons to be an ass. To be more specific, be the ass you have always dreamed, but never dared to be.

         But, the blockchain is not all about content! Yeah, yeah, whatever. Why the hell do you want "average users" to come in here then?

         Moving back to the dapps. I have only ever liked one of them: @musing. I was there before there were big upvotes. I took a small break when Steemit Defence League came out with their plague. It was not fun having an answer displayed with net negative votes. Then again, I was too dumb to realize nobody cared anyways.

         As time passed, more and more spammers and plagiarizers showed up to try to fool the curators. Losing delegations could be a good thing. Less parasites coming in to extract value from the system.

         Instead, I find myself spending more time on YouTube and texting again.

         Are there any other cool dapps out there? Please do not say @magicdice. What is so innovative about that? So, I get to play a poorer man's version of Vegas and circumvent some gambling laws in my country? Mass adoption, here we come!

         Some of the blockchain defenders would argue against this view. Call it FUD or whatever. I try to view things through my friends' eyes. Remember, these are the people you are trying to convince to opt into crypto.

Here are some food for thought:

1. I do not feel good telling my friends about Steem. Those I have told find it unimpressive. The masses do not care about "potential". The only thing outsiders see is a shoddy alternative social media.

2. The masses care little about the so-called superior technology. Does it speculate? Most people are in crypto to speculate. Nobody gives a damn if your coin is 10x, 100x, faster than BTC. Visa does 2000+ per second. Put that into perspective.

3. Fact: most crypto-enthusiasts still cash out in fiat.

4. Did we lose many users due to low prices of Steem, or we lost many users because people shut off their alts for farming?

5. I did not know how to explain @trevonjb being a "major player" here on Steem to others in crypto space.

6. It does not matter if Steemit =/= Steem. Most do not care about that distinction. It is one and the same to the outsiders. I hope @ned, et. al. learned a valuable lesson about naming for future reference.

7. I am glad I did not push my friends and family to get into crypto during the December 2017 craze. I would have lost a spot at holiday dinners this past year.

Back to my original point...

         Why come to Steem? Some will tell me to power down and leave. Well, it could happen. Or, am I only in it to see if there is anything left to speculate?

         The pending rewards have blinded so many into doing odd behaviors. They cannot see that only those who have large stake, ninja mined or early adopters, manage to prosper.

         For crying out loud, if you are that desperate for money, do an extra shift or two each month. You would earn more money than the cents you are fighting for on the blockchain. You might also enjoy this place more if you are not so obsessed about earning on here all the time.

         Speaking of rewards, what is with @busy.org censoring some, but not all of @thedarkoverlord's posts? So, they refuse blacklist plagiarizers, but decided to pick and choose which leaks are "too terrible" to display?

         Some imagine Steem to be $100+ per coin! In what world would this blockchain be worth that much? We do not even have a working commerce going. Remember @dstors? Ugh, I need a shower after revisiting all that drama.

         Anyways, I felt like writing 1000+ words of insanity. So, there you have it.

Sort:  

I don't tell people about it anymore either, sad to say. I'm here and trapped it seems.

It get's it's claws into you and doesn't let go. For the outsider it looks dis-appealing.. , 3 weeks for an account.. then you cant use it, then you get no attention.

These are the facts, be very patient or don't bother coming in.. and forget the money thing.

Are there any other cool dapps out there?

@steemmonsters is the coolest dapp but its a money drain too.. that has got its claws into me.. again! They did a fine job..

Ahh @steemmonsters.

I have not looked into the gameplay, but I'm very much uninterested in TCGs since Magic and Hearthstone.

Don't dismiss it without having a go. I have been playing MtG since Antiquities (1994) and its no MtG in terms of strategy, but it has something that keeps you coming back.

It's the thought of that money could go elsewhere in terms of investing or savings.

I have dropped a ton of money in cards back in the days. Don't really want to start again.

The cards cost pennies from the marketplace, just discipline yourself to not go crazy, it doesn't cost much to get into the Silver league... read this..

https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@slobberchops/steem-monsters-some-tips-to-get-you-into-the-silver-league

Ha, interesting.

One day, I shall come out of my F2P shell.

I stopped "playing" @steemmonsters.
It is boring, pay2win, and only interesting for people who are fascinated by waiting in front of a screen for nothing to happen.

No, I prefer my grand strategy games.

Thank you! There are still some good writers here, but they get little exposure and the material has to appeal to you. I noticed the same on yootoob, if I post a Country song, a bunch of headbangers unsub. If I then upload a Funk-rock song, all the country bumpkins that just subbed, head for the Hills.

What really surprised me was the vitriol with which some people attack others when the distinction between Steemit and Steem isn't strictly adhered to. I saw a post where 4 or 5 guys, who don't normally follow this author, ganged up on him, while repeating the same message unrelated to the article and then flagged him for spreading "FUD", even if hardly anyone will read his article.

Banning darkoverlord posts on a selective basis is crazy, anyone with a tax liability can expect trouble if they allow someone to openly extort the gubmint, who is perfectly capable of doing some extortion of their own, to operate on their front end.

I'll be sticking around to see what happens next.

I saw that FUD post. I find it hilarious. It's like they couldn't zero out the big bad, so they took it out on someone else instead.

This was more humorous than negative, so it got my upvote. I kind of agree with everything.

Another common trend, "Since steem isn't very valuable right now, and doesn't pay enough, send us your delegation, and we'll pay you hundreds crap coins to invest." It's like trading penny returns for an investment in cups of a miracle whip. The miracle is its shelf life.

Glad you enjoyed this piece.

As for the crap tokens. Well, an ICO by any other name...

strangely enough, i was MORE inclined to read it, when i read in the intro 'no images'

a lot of people forget the fact that not everyone has lightning speeds and cable / unlimited data, etc.

thanks for being 'that guy' XD

pony out.

Thanks for stopping by! I love it when my shitpost receives more attention than 95% of the garbage on the chain.

If steem trending would be interesting, we should see at least one mainstream topic.
But we only have our crypto/steem/selfupvote echo chamber..

More like EGO chamber.

What can I say... Most of what you say is true. It is boring over here, you feel lost and it is not very special at all unless you join certain groups. At first I tried but it did not work. This is my second try and it works if it comes to the contacts. For the rest it only does cost me time and money, but the good thing is I have time.

Posted using Partiko Android

To me, the boring part comes from the fact that there is no efficient content discovery mechanic.

Luckily, I don't depend on Steem for income, so it's mostly my musings and trolling.

I read a lot about good content, promoting of, but if it comes to it... If they want to grow, many people to join asking for good content will not work. What we see here is the society, different birds of a feather, some can read and write, others hardly can or even do not like it. Writing good content is for sure not the way to make money over here.

I wonder if that content discovery mechanic would exist, what kind of content it would choose...

Posted using Partiko Android

I wonder if that content discovery mechanic would exist, what kind of content it would choose...

No idea. If they can have half the capability of what mainstream social media do, it would probably work out.

Read the title and the whole thing. :P

I didn't tell anyone at work about STEEM/Steemit. Many reasons which some you raised.

Glad you still have a seat at family events! Hurray!

Yeah, no awkwardness at the table, that's for sure!

i tried geting people into it not long after i got into it myself ( back when 1 btc was $400)

then i laughed at them in december, when i pulled 80% (1.15 btc )XD

unfortunately, i bought into this crazy pnzi, and now my remaining wealth is trapped here
(friend says sell. doesnt understand the concept of buy for 10 sell for 1 is not something i plan to do.

hell, half the reason im homeless atm is the steem price drop.
thankfully its summer here atm, and 36c (36°C × 9/5) + 32 = 96.8°F

Still warm weather. I hope you find some way out soon.

Read it all!
Didn't share back then, won't share it now either.

Stay with us...

7319CD79-8D40-40D0-A92A-F025F9E0CE69.gif

Great post! I enjoy the critical mindset, and cultivate it myself.

I still think Steem (not Steemit! I won't make that immutable mistake anymore) is a great idea, but I have come to see many shortcomings like the ones you describe.

I have still been able to show it to friends, though it is quite hard with the complexity of it all and issues like abuse and whale tyranny. Nevertheless I still got a friend to sign up. Time will tell if they make use of their account.

I know I'm just some random Steem plankton to you, but I'm not in the cryptoverse to speculate. I won't be cashing out for fiat anytime soon, maybe to BTC one day, but that's a mountain of riches away. I'm living, breathing, typing proof that some of us are still here for the ideals.

Don't lose hope (unless you want to)!

Are you sure you are not one of those people like me?

heh.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63490.29
ETH 2598.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78