Have We Lost Sight?

in #steem6 years ago

20181122050433_IMG_1607.JPG

Just sitted here reminiscing on my progress on this platform. I'd love to be in a super excited mood about whay is going on at the moment but I'm really not.

Today I remember some of my favorite content creators that I started with BUT have Upped and left. Even people I never thought I'd ever see lose the faith in what we have going on here. I can't help but wonder if I am the one missing something or are they missing the bigger picture?

I had very passionate friends who would talk hours on end how amazing this platform is, people who believed in it so much that they'd literally go out there, in the centralized world, to preach the STEEM gospel. But as we are, they have left one at a time, some have completely powered down without a word and I am tired of trying to reach out to them to find out what's going on with them.

I don't even know my I am rambling on and on and on to be honest. I guess I am just wondering if we have lost sight, you know they say love is blind.. Are we possibly blinded by the love we have for this platform to the point we can't see the bigger picture?

I mean with all the drama that has some what subsided, isn't some of the things being talked about some red flags of some sort? I'd hate to think they are, but I feel like I am not understanding our current situation.

If anything, I have resolved to treat thjs platform like any other social media platform and share out my interests without any expectation. That's the only way I feel we'll or I will pull through this.

That's to say, I'll not be looking or talking about STEEM price from now on!

HAPPY NEW WEEK LOVES

💚💙💜💛💙❤

Sort:  

Hype is what has fueled the crypto economy and everything that goes with it, including Steem.

During the height of the market people were euphoric, they saw crypto as being a new and exciting paradigm - and when the hype bubble burst, so too did the dreams of thousands of people.

This is to be expected. It is sad to see the tide go out, but it is natural and essential to grow the space.

The market needed to be cleansed of these people in order for the real fundamentals to be strengthened, so small problems now dont become platform ending problems later.

I can say for certain that if the market had not collapsed, steemit would not have survived - how can I say this?

Well, Steemit had to redesign their nodes in order to make them more sustainable, also they had to lay off 70% of staff and now they're accepting advertising all in order to keep running.

If steemit had kept growing exponentially they would not have had the chance to make these changes, hell, they might not have identified the problems until it was too late.

Let's not lose focus, let's not give up - we're not here for a quick buck, we're here ushering in a technological revolution, and they do not happen overnight.

Stay strong, the tide will come back . The people will return, in the meantime let's keep on growing!!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a great way to look at things I guess. But even with thw collapsing being a good thing as you put it, it's really not helping with on boarding or user retention, which is equally important for a platform to succeed.

That will likely change once crypto becomes more mainstream in people's day to day lives.

It will be hard to encourage people to come here at the moment. In my opinion the strongest barrier to entry is that accounts take 2 weeks to open (or cost money). People dont like having to wait 2 weeks to comment on a video - but I'm confident this will not be a problem forever.

I think we need to remain positive and keep the dream alive. The tide will come back in.

I'm going to be making a couple of accounts that focus on specific content; music reviews and reactions, political commentary, comedy etc.

More mainstream content will help, that's what I hope to provide

Posted using Partiko Android

How will you manage all those accounts? Sounds like a lot of work. But I guess like they say, where there's a will there's a way...

Definitely rooting for better and more convenient way to create account. The general public is not that patient and may deem this platform bogus for lack of a better word. When time comes they'll learn the hard way.

One of them will be a collaborative effort between me and a friend. A weekly podcast type deal, so I'll have help.

It will be a lot of work, and a lot of cross promotion- I'm eager to try it though.

There seems to be a lack of social and political commentary on here, so I think having a couple of strongly opinionated voices might work out well.

Reaction / review content is easy to digest and I have had success on youtube with it in the past.

Hopefully content like that will bring a more mainstream crowd, but we'll see

Anyways, it's all worth the risk.

Posted using Partiko Android

The problem on here is sometimes it feels like noones watching or listening. There are times we really push content and it gets to a point you start wondering, especially if there isn't much engagement.

I've had to deal with that a couple of times now. But don't let that stop you from going hard in what you believe in. I really do think we need the social aspect on here.

More Fun, Less Drama..

Sometimes it feels like you are too close, your vision is blurry right?
You may not be the only one with questions in circles
The one thing that keeps here are some Steemians I have met along the way and how passionate they are
Not quite the price hahaha
There have been days that I have earned more than I have in the whole 15 months I have been here... crazy as it sounds hahaha...
Sometimes I think I have lost it

Just hang in there and do what you've been doing :D

By the way, looking gorgeous :)

Thanks Mama! Trying but it's not easy when the citcle keeps getting smaller! At this rate I might be the only one left, time to expand.

Thoughts on why am still here will rock the mind for as long as price-thought is allowed to dominate over the others, growth & engagement.

Have also seen couple of Kenyan going into deep silence and no longer active, well it also gives me a worry.

The tide goes out only to eventually come back.

Do not despair

Posted using Partiko Android

Keep on Steeming..

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You're not alone. A lot of people asking the same question.
Me as well.

I guess time will tell.

Congratulations @elsiekjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59888.38
ETH 2373.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48