Steemd version v0.19.1RC1 is outsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

It

 

seems that @ned has been cracking the whip at Stinc recently, finally, some changes. But I am VERY upset at this one:

Reindexing
0.19.1 requires reindexing from all previous versions.

Again?


Why? OH, maybe it's because the whole DB of 19 was fucked. Sure looked that way to me. So, let's walk through some of the other changes mentioned and discuss what they mean. I am still not going to decide until I've gone right through this if I need to restart the replay process, or not, since it has been almost 2 weeks I have been trying to get an RPC node running.

  1. Yet another dependency has been added to the build process, in this case jinja.
  2. They have fixed the problem that has seen many small accounts suddenly unable to post transactions. Yay. Witnesses, you are obliged to do this upgrade, NOW, if you are in the top 19. For the sake of the littlies.
  3. There is now piece of data in each block that indicates which witness made it.
  4. When there is zero interest configured by the Witness median determined rate, no transaction is made. (wow, who'da thunk that it would make sense to post an essentially No Op to the chain, clogging it up with like 50 bytes or so?) Whoever coded that algorithm should be put in stocks and have tomatoes thrown at them. That means you, BTW @dan. And people think EOS is gonna be great. Not unless you went back to study some Computer Science for a couple of days. I have an urge to make another still waiting skeleton meme on that one. Correction, it is a virtual operation, not one that goes on the chain. @voluntary, I didn't pay enough attention to that. It is still an unhandled edge case, anyway.

I'm not convinced that they have fixed anything that affects RPC node operators significantly, so I am continuing with my replay. I'll have a look again when the second, or non-RC 19.1 is released.

I'm pretty sure that I put the fire under @ned's toes on this one. I may not have been the only one, but he seemed quite sad about my post about when are we going to get bugfixes.

Announcing HF20 proposals before the dust has settled, for anyone who actually built the software, was a big, big mistake.

As was blocking me from posting issues on the github. As was letting the most mutually in-crowd voted witness, @timcliff run around making statements on behalf of Stinc.

Yes, I'll stop calling your organisation that, when it stops smelling.

Sort:  

I like your thorough review. You sure know what you are talking about. No need to insult others, though. People are people and we all have our flaws.
I don't know what is the nature of your relations, maybe its friendly teezing.

People with responsibilities to others, should not take that responsibility lightly, nor should they retaliate against valid criticisms loaded with quite naturally valid and understandable rage towards this.

If we don't put fire under their toes, they will forget what their job is, and start swimming in a bathtub full of Benjamin Franklins.

Well I think they aim higher than bathing in dry papers.

You might not be paying close enough attention. For one thing, why is it they do not make announcements from them sticky, preferably in the top bar, so you can't miss them?

Well with that I totally agree

Since it should be obvious that the most pressing issues are not being addressed, and the actual work being done, which is coming out of every one of our wallets, in the 9.3% inflation tax, is not obvious to anyone without probing pretty close at the github page, may I suggest that you, and everyone, stop holding your breath and start speaking up.

I think actions and coding are valuable. I am supporting your critics. We need both. Only those who do, make mistakes.

'Mistakes' can also be concealed malice too.

I am also now busy doing... I just stopped using all the drugs that were making me so ineffective. I have only just today started to sleep sorta normally. I would have done this detective work a long time ago if I hadn't been so sick and addicted.

I'll have the data to back up my claims soon enough.

Speaking of proving yourself through actions, I also, despite my many issues, have something to say because I have been doing a lot of work. I don't pull this stuff out of my ass. The software these people make has consumed the better part of my last 6 months.

I didn't abandon running a witness for nothing. I just had no idea how the hell, in my weak state, I was going to do anything effective.

Speaking up against a chorus of sycophants also is pretty frickin hard work.

You should try it sometime.

Also, 'coding'? Go take a look at this so-called coding. You don't even need to be very skilled to watch the process of building steemd https://github.com/steemit/steem/blob/master/doc/building.md and I will happily, if you come visit my steempunk chatroom at https://t.me/steempunk help you through the process so you can see for yourself. I need to guide you because you need to build v0.19.0 to see the amazing spectacle that I have had to deal with as a witness, possibly the worst upgrade that has ever happened in the history of this platform.

Don't go accusing me of doing no work and taking no risks when I am not just talking. I done plenty.

You trust people with a better PR campaign than me. I don't have millions of dollars weaseled out of this platform, systematically, over the last 12 months.

And writing is not 'no work'. Go take a look at my 'nothing' writing, both the volume, quality of the text, and the quality of the layout. And you also don't know how many bugs I have had to work around to make it look that good.

Sorry, but where did I make statements on behalf of Steemit?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66132.22
ETH 3552.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.09