Final Pool For Steemit Smallest Denomination: Cast Your Votes Before The Pull Request

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

We're on a small, but steady bull trend for STEEM and this means that, sooner or later, we will start to use smaller and smaller fractions of our STEEM, just as people are using smaller and smaller denominations of Bitcoin, simply because the fiat value of the Bitcoin is way too big. If it were for me, I'd start using those smaller denominations of STEEM rather sooner than later.

The problem is that we don't have yet names for the smallest denominations of STEEM. Bitcoin has names until the eighth decimal, but not STEEM. So I decided to go the crowdsourcing way here, and wrote a couple of polls. To my surprise, there were a lot of suggestions. As time went by, new names were popping in, so it was difficult to make the calculations.

So I let those posts to cook for a while, until the comment stream faded. And then I compiled a list of all the proposals (hopefully) and I'm posting them again, this time with a deadline: I will wait until Sunday, June 18th, 12:00PM UTC. After that, I will tally up the numbers and submit a Pull Request for the Steemit White Paper on Github. There's no guarantee the Steemit Inc will approve the PR, but at least we tried.

Without further ado, here was my initial proposal:

UnitValue in USD@ $1 per STEEM
STEEM1$1
mSTEEM (milliSTEEM)0.001$0.001
μSTEEM (STEEMbit)0.000001$0.000001
STEEMtoshi0.00000001$0.00000001

For the first 3 levels (steem, milisteem and steembit), there was - overall - consensus. The poll will mainly be for the 8th digit denomination, the one I called STEEMtoshi. Below is a table with the name for that denomination and the Steemit username who proposed it.

8th Digit Steem NameProposed by Steemit username
STEEMtoshi@dragosroua
Scotti@steevc
Nedans@steevc
Daned@liberosist
Lar@rgeddes
Dani@stephen-somers
Heet@lennstar
Pst@girlbeforemirror
Id@girlbeforemirror
Ned@wilx
It@kingofdew
Puff@codypanama
Nad@demotruk
Gas@nicnas
Mist@nicnas
Drop@trevorlyman
Vapor@trevorlyman
Bubble@trevorlyman
Drip@trevorlyman
Wave@trevorlyman
Steembit@anonimnotoriu
SteemLar@creatr
Vim@akrid
Steemlet@gyanibilli
Steemer@dhwoodland

Cast you vote in the comments, one vote per account. On Sunday I will tally up the votes, announce the result and submit the PR. I think it will be also useful to spread the word a bit about this, the more people we get on board, the better.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Torn between steembit and heet.

Let's go Heet - since as it builds up you'd get more steem. Seems like a good abstraction for the currency.

MilliFart $0.001

I guess that's not on the list tho.

Nope. It's not on the list :))

i like this one! Steemfart!

Nice initiative @dragosroua. So will this mean you also start getting reward even if it is lower than 0.01$? Or are you already getting those but is the system not displaying it because they are too small? I like the sound of Steemtoshi but i would like Steem to differentiate more because it is more than just a crypto.

Therefore I submit my vote for "Steemlet"

You already get rewards even if it's lower than $0.01, if you look in your wallet history sometimes you may get rewards as small as 0.001 SP, which is $0.0023.

Huh that is new information for me. After reading this I went back to my wallet page and you are of course correct. And here I was thinking that I had to grind it out to get 200 SP (should be 0.01$ by my calculations) with the idea of only then being able to give back for what I get. Thank you for setting me straight!

Steemtoshi works for me.

Steemtoshi, in keeping with Satoshi and bringing in the new.

I think STEEMtoshi is a great name. It has my vote as well.

STEEMtoshi has my vote as well!

SteemToshi is great hahahhaha

STEEMtoshi works for me.

+1 for steemtoshi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75