An Interview with Steem Founder, Dan Larimer, on Creating Systems to Make the Government Obsolete

in #steem8 years ago

Many of you may know Dan Larimer @dantheman, co-founder of Steem, purely for his role with Steem and Steemit.

What you might not know is that he is an incredibly philosophical anarchist intent on changing the world for the better. He's also incredibly astute on economics and even says on his own blog that he uses "Austrian Economics to engineer the economic incentives which make freedom and non-violence profitable."

We got into numerous topics in this interview including many Steem related topics.

Of particular note, he states that unless people support the platforms created for them (like bitcoin and Steem) they will not succeed. But the platforms are set-up in such a way that if they do succeed they will free humanity dramatically.

It's a fascinating interview and you can see it here:

Dan unfortunately can't make it to Steemfest but his co-founder, @ned, will be there... as will I! If you haven't checked it out, go to Steemfest.com. It is coming up in less than two weeks in Amsterdam.

As well, we announced during this interview that Dan will be speaking at Anarchapulco in the last week of February in Acapulco, Mexico. We are going to have an entire crypto/blockchain day called Cryptopulco at the conference and will also have many other top crypto names like Roger Ver @rogerkver, Trace Mayer @tracemayer and many more.

Check out the interview and I'll hope to meet many of you at Steemfest and Anarchapulco!

Sort:  
Loading...

dan also pushes the idea that if we don't think the way he does we should be bullied and kicked out of society.
I am surprised you are supporting someone so closed minded as dan.
:/
This was a post dan made when I had just started steemit.
https://steemit.com/anarchy/@dantheman/nonviolent-censorship-is-how-nonviolent-societies-create-nonviolent-government

Its cancer so I did a response.
https://steemit.com/censorship/@skeptic/a-response-to-nonviolent-censorship-is-how-nonviolent-societies-create-nonviolent-government-by-dantheman

never got a reply. he basically want to censor anyone that he disagrees with and says it openly. I think you might want to relook what dan has been saying before you jump on his train. he s not trying to do anything good of anyone except himself unless you are willing to help him how he wants you to.
Just read my response it has his post word for word in it. its a sick tyrannical control idea.
:/
damn jeff I don't know what to say but that I am surprised you would dick ride.

I upvoted this comment because I did not agree with it being flagged. (In fact I consider the flagging to be flag abuse.)

I intend to express no opinion on the content of the comment.

I believe I've made a comment about this to you before that the right to censor is a right that is of utmost importance in a free society.

Freedom of speech means that you will not be put in jail or forced to pay fines for voicing your opinions.

It doesn't mean that people need to be forced to listening to your opinions. Since people need to be able to choose who and what they listen to, it's paramount that they are able to shut out certain voices from their personal lives.

That doesn't mean that they are allowed to, or even will, silence the speech completely.

It simply means that they need to be able to ignore it; you don't have a right to force anyone to listen to you.

You can privately talk about me being a dick all you want, for example, but you still don't have the right to come to my house and call me a dick, since it's my house, and I control what goes on in my house.

The same applies to platforms like Twitter, Facebook, etc. If whoever owns the platform feels that certain speech is not allowed, he has the right to make a rule that bans that sort of speech.

If someone doesn't like it, he can, in a free society, build his own platform and make his own rules.

wow

I believe I've made a comment about this to you before that the right to censor is a right that is of utmost importance in a free society.

There is no right to cesor people and I cant even get past the first line in your reply because its so proving of how you see censorship.

I am not saying people need to be forced to listen to anyone. for fucks sakes do you even think before you type?

Im done and am not going to ready your response because it is obvious I would get more back and forth talking with a brick wall.

Have fun pushing your agenda of "censorship is paramount".
fucking swear.

Well, maybe you should have read the rest of it. I'm not sure how you'll ever be able to acquire new information and perspective with that kind of an attitude. Suit yourself.

shrugs

also that is what the mute button is for. but people don't want to use it they would rather censor people with the flag.
:/

I actually agree about the mute button. I think it's a much better way, for the community as a whole, for people to just mute who they want to ignore, and leave the person's content for other people to decide for themselves.

Flagging should be used for things like spam, etc.

That I'm not even disagreeing with.

But we do have a disagreement on my scenario of you coming into my house to insult me. I doubt we'll agree.

I also like some of the content I've seen from you regarding things like feminism, which we agree on completely, so no, I have no interest in flagging you.

Just wish you'd behave a bit better and stopped insulting people, for your own good, that is.

xD
Thanks again for not flagging me.
im sure we agree on a lot and disagree on a lot, open discourse it a good thing.

yes because I didn't listen to you im never going to learn.
fucking swear.
Look at all the people on your side censoring me because of this proving my point.

this is funny and only proof of how dan has set the system up to fail and it is because he is supporting this type of behavior. if you read his post he sais it right in the open.

but keep flagging me and keep watching steemit dye.

You all acting like flaggots is the reason steemit dropped so much and why people leave faster then they show up.
I just watch you all keep drilling more holes in your own boat then cry about how you don't understand why its sinking.

Im glad that you all trying to censor me is happening on such a widely seen post as dollar vigalantes that way even morof steem gets to see how steemit treats differing opinions. even ones based in facts and providing evidence to back itup. but yeah the actual post dan wrote about why we need to censor, none of that matters to you all.
fucking swear.

this is funny and only proof of how dan has set the system up to fail

I been beating this drum for months now, this whole deal is just an experiment to them. They get paid for the next 2 years and they don't give a shit. Look how much they have cashed out already, and they will keep doing it until about the 2 year mark when Steemit takes it final shit on everyone else.

If they truly cared for this platform and wanted it to succeed they would start with at least a little bit of communication to the masses, instead they have remained silent and continue to cash out. That should tell anyone with half a brain what the future holds.

I sure hope the other systems in dev like synero and yoursnetwork are watching over here close and learn from this crap. People should probably start watching yoursnetwork, at least it will be utilizing a proven stable currency instead of some self mined founders currency who ran to the bank laughing.

And of all the people in the world Dan could choose to do an interview with right now, he chooses TDV?? Holy shit is all I can say. You'd think Dan would be wanting this getting interviews on places like forbes, entrepreneur, EoF, or something similar not some dude on the dark and shady side of things.

People are flagging you because they don't want to listen to you, because you attack them with insults.

Like I said, you are free to insult me. Nothing I can do about it without resorting to violence. However, I can ignore you, and you are not allowed to insult me on property or platform that I own. If I own a platform like a social media, in a free society, I have the right to censor you if I please.

Just like I have the right to silence you if you come into my living room to insult me.

By the way, I've never flagged you.

People are flagging you because they don't want to listen to you, because you attack them with insults.

no one is forcing them to listen to what I say. they are censoring me out of opinon. there is no reason to flag me if they don't want to read it, just don't read it. also I never attacked anyone and freedom of speech is the freedom to offend. what people like and don't like should not have anything to do with censoring. th is all exactly what dan is promoting in his post and what everyone is doing is only proving they hold the same values no matter the level of mental gymnastics they are preforming to keep it up.

Like I said, you are free to insult me. Nothing I can do about it without resorting to violence. However, I can ignore you,

yep you have the right to ignore me, that's it.

and you are not allowed to insult me on property or platform that I own.

wrong I have the right to insult you and express my opinion anywhere and everywhere. even if it is in your own house. you can choose to not let me in your house but you do not have the right to control my thoughts and words. and this goes back to the whole censorship is wrong imo and you feel it is paramount like dan does. that's fine that we have differing opinions on that.but actions or calls to action are not words. the fact that I am getting flagged and it is getting supporteis only proof that censorship is supported on this site no matter how much people pretend its all about free speech.

If I own a platform like a social media, in a free society, I have the right to censor you if I please.

yes you have the right to do it, does not make it "moral". and because of your forcing of opinions onto others on your site they have the right to leave it and not use it, like whats been happeing with steemit, people leave faster then they arrive and steemit is going to shit because of it. so yes you have the ight to censor someone out of opinion on your own site but you also have the right to have your site go to shit because of our actions and pushing everyone away that doesn't hold your opinions. I swear its almst like your reading line for line off dans old opst that this is all about. lol

By the way, I've never flagged you.

thank you for not flagging me, I would rather you prove me wrong and it to stay up for everyone to see. at the same time I only see you supporting the people flagging me and not speaking out agienst it you might as well be doing it to.

Whatever though, I know what dan said in his post. I no longer care if people are willing to look at it them selfs before jumping in to defend him. besides my comment was to jeff because I don't think he has fully looked into what dan has said. all the other people jumping in to try to white knight for dan is funny.

Maybe jeff will say why or whynot he argees with dan or maybe dan wil respond one day to all the responses he got after making that post(I doubt it and I was not the only one that responded to dan on it)

All good, have fun, steem on.

when someone flags something, they are removing it from the view of others, not just themself.

if they use the mute button, they are refusing the interaction. if they use the flag, they are interfering with my ability to see things that i didn't flag. if someone else thinks they can choose for me what i say, OR what i see, we have a problem.

Trolls will never win!

you call me a troll because my opinion is differing from yours but you sir are a flaggot. you flag people out of opinion and are the root cause of why steemit is dying so good job!
Keep flagging more and proving to all of steemit how full of shit you are. you could attack the points in my argument but you cant so you flag them so people cant see the truth. good job flaggot!

I will stop calling you a troll once you start bringing factual information to back your claims.

The facts are in dans post that I linked in my comment.

I absolutely agree with people right to flag content because they don't like it but in return the flaggy may rally his friends and undo said flaggin.

I'm really hoping this doesn't put a target on me but in this comment you even said "Since people need to be able to choose who and what they listen to, it's paramount that they are able to shut out certain voices from their personal lives."
and when you make a comment or post go transparent people no longer have access to all the information you said people need to make informed decisions. I just don't think one or 2 users should decide what others hear based on what they think is good for people to hear. Its a bit of contradiction at the root of it.

dan also pushes the idea that if we don't think the way he does we should be bullied and kicked out of society

No he doesn't.

never got a reply

Not a reason to attack him.

he basically want to censor anyone that he disagrees with and says it openly.

This is not how his program (steem) is working. I am censoring you because I think YOU are attacking someone who has done nothing wrong, the opposite in fact.

Just read my response

Are you attacking the man who built the platform you are using freely ONLY TO EARN A REWARD on the said platform ?

you say no he doesn't but if you read his post he says he does. -smh-

im not attacking him because he didn't reply, I said that because he knows he cant reply because his post was all bullshit. go look at it. I am attacking his ideas not the person.

This is not how his program (steem) is working. I am censoring you because I think YOU are attacking someone who has done nothing wrong, the opposite in fact.

you are part of the problem then. censorship is wrong in an form. you are doing exactally what he says people should do in the post and only proving my point.

I am attacking anyone trying to push bad ideas, the fact that it matters to you that he made steemit (or helped in making it) is why im calling it dick riding. its fine if you disagree with my opinions just like I disagree with dans, not a reason to censor you because of it.

the reason I said chack out my post is because it has dans post in it. I also provided dans post so you could look at it and then no one can say I took anything out of context. it is really old post so no I will not be earning any money or anything off of it except maybe getting people to look at what dan actually was saying and then maybe they wont be so quick to dick ride without looking at the facts.

If you think im wrong im fine with that and I even support it but to try to censor me is wrong.

I know what he wrote and its in the block chain, I do not care if you want to keep your head in the sand about reality because your to busy trying to dick ride and get some whale votes.

I fucking swear!

censorship is wrong in an form.

How do you prevent disinformation then ?
In addition, you are not "Totaly Censored", you are just less visible.

I think the default choice for people should not be to read this type of content, but if they disagree it only takes them one click to make that choice.
My opinion is still that you don't bring any factual information to the table, therefore preventing people from making an informed decision.
I won't remove the flagging.
I won't waste any more of my time on this matter.

you prevent disinformation by providing the truth and facts to prove the disinformation wrong. so with your question I have another question. if the truth is censored then how do we disprove disinformation?

I provided proof and a link to dans own post where he says all this stuff.

Im ok that you wont remove the flag but I am going to point your actions and words out to all of steemit in a flaggot post. so the choice was yours.

good day.

you may as well just make any old baseless assertion like, "a clear sky during the day is not blue."

read the posts. then, if you still want to say he is not saying, what he actually is saying, and has said, go ahead, but don't expect anyone to take you seriously.
this isn't even a matter of interpretation. he actually said straight up, that it would be better if we all agree, and that if we don't think the way he does we should be bullied and kicked out of society. he actually said that. i have a copy of it.

I upvoted the initial comment. Not because I agree with its contents, but because I want to show that I think you deserve to be heard, since the comment doesn't include personal attacks, insults, etc.

Thank you I appericate it.
If you are ever flagged I will return the upvotes alo no matter what you say that they are flaggin.
I do not have to agree with what you are saying but I support your right to say it and will defend that right.
thanks again

why are you here?

Correct, he is evil person. Ego-maniac with twisted priorities. Do not trust a single word he say.

You merged the interview with your conference. Just when I thought you couldn't get any lower you still surprise me.

The NAP principle can also have aggression. When you censor someone (much like you are doing often in here and facebook), it means you exclude them from all resources whether social or financial. You are threatening their livelihood. For example there are countless or research showing that exclusion can kill. Imagine your "peaceful" censorship on a grander scale and you get...

...what the goverment is doing.

They set their rules and if you don't like it you can live. I adhere to an-cap ideals but the way you present them made them stop calling myself an anarchist or even voluntaryist. Steemit so far is no different than the outside world and I have to say I am quite disgusted how it is promoted through people like you.

The only difference is that it is marketed differently to fools that hate the alternative that much more. I guess either we talk about goverments or private conferences like yours, one only needs to convince enough idiots and they can make money.

Congrats.

PS: The Goverment Is A Reputation System On Steroids

I'm waiting for LAYER2 features on Steemit, like a marketplace, economy, etc...

It can all be integrated into Steemit eventually, we could built here literally a crypto-nation, with a private-libertarian-small-government made up of the whales.

That would be the real thing.

Agreed!, Same here.:)

Something I have been banging on about for over 12 months. BLOCKCHAIN is set to replace GOVERNMENTS in the future.... 100% guaranteed..!! There is no need for a Central Government when you have a DeCentralised System that does a better job..!! Great video and thanks for sharing. Happy to upvote and share this on Twitter✔ for my followers to watch. Cheers. Stephen

Have to thank him for being a co-creator of steemit.

Its a great interview. Thank you Jeff for the interview. Really a pity that Daniel cannot join us for the Steemfest in Amsterdam.

Ya, I'm game...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44