Sort:  

You may be right, but does it matter? Some believe that GPU mining is practical. If so, most of the goals of mining, especially on this platform (where raw hash rate and an arms race contributes to security only to a small degree), are best achieved by having low barriers to entry and wide availability i.e open source miners.

@djm34

  1. I am not personally sure they are GPU miners either, I simply stated they have made typical cpu mining unrealistic
  2. I am very active in the steemit.chat and I have connections to a lot of influential people in the community, I understand your concern. I would like to remind you I have stake in the platform as well. There is no reason you should trust me but I think if you contact users like complexring, pharism, or arhag they would vouch for me. I promise you that I will escrow in the interest of the community. We are talking right now about setting up a multisig for this bounty as well. I will keep you updated in the future. I addition to this i just set up a #bounties chat on steemit.chat where you can follow how we are managing the funds and who wins the reward.

I think people are actually a bit spoiled on this coin because the difficulty was relatively low and price relatively high for a long time, making mining easy. Now it is harder, but CPU mining really is still viable. You just need decent hardware (i.e. not a 5 year old laptop) a bit of patience and not expect to be getting lots of blocks every day.

Nevertheless I still support the goals of an open source GPU miner if GPU mining is viable at all.

Even with an i3 is that even possible?

supercomputer (sc) has revealed himself on #mining channel at steemitchat.com (the guy that hacked pow1 and was dominating the mining list a couple of days until the hardfork) He is @nobody on steemitchat and is known now as the gxt-1080-sc-XXXX miner. He confessed he is using a GPU miner and he has one competitor( @djm34 )?. He said that at some point (due competitions) it will be more profitable for one of them to reveal the code for a bounty....

PS https://steemit.com/steem/@arcange/the-end-of-steem-cpu-mining

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60457.50
ETH 2430.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51