You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What needs to happen to reach $10 STEEM in 2018? (Discussion)

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

if you want entertainment and humor hit up @ComedyOpenMic.

Come on @aggroed, if you really want to see user growth on any social media platform powered by everyday people connection, you gotta factor in funny:

A bit about @comedyopenmic, we believe that original comedy is like a staple for retention on any platform (see why funny rules on DupeTube, FaceBroke, and Shreddit). We also believe that if we build a strong and large supportive (primarily volunteer based) community that support comedic talents, that will adds tremendous value to Steem.

For example, Sub-Reddit Funny is the largest subreddit with over 50 Million members for a good reason, comedy attracts people, and funny gives tremendous value, and encourages returning visits.

If we can even get 1% of subreddit funny to come checkout Steem, that's 500,000 active new Steemians supporting Comedy, and that's 1/2 a Million new Steemit Accounts. We will surely bring Steem up > $10 probably (I suspect with SMT & Comedy we can get Steem >$20).

So how can we achieve this...well here's our near term plans.

Our Mid Term Goal - Next 12 months:

-500/entries a week (25,000 original comedy a year on the Steem blockchain)
-100K SP (from donations and delegation)
-Community of 5,000 participants catering to 50,000 viewers

Longer term Steem Goals >1 years

  • Disrupt Steemit and The Steem Blockchain
  • Put Weekly Top Comedy In Steemit Trending
  • Start Phase2 of COM: Create a platform to support growth so we can scale to support > 100,000 Steemians
  • Bring at least 1% new Steemians from sub-Reddit funny (and other sites), 1% of 50Million == 500,000 new Steem accounts who will support and follow Comedy on the Steem blockchain subReddit with Steemit links

The most important thing about ComedyOpenMic (for me that is) is that we are a bridge Community, meaning, we believe in reaching out to other communities and lifting up other communities:

We Support Community Members from : DTubeDaily, STACH, Curie, TWB, Helpie, Mosqueteros, TeamAustralia, and many others

And we believe in buliding a Strong International Base, we have done a trail 2 weeks with COMIndo, Launche COMEspanol, and now we have 2 other languages on the drawing board
.
Some trivial we recently pulled form SteemSQL

We manage to attract >USD$16,200 of upvotes in 16Rounds (With Close to Zero Bot Self UpVotes... >90% All Organic - Pure Payout for Lots and Lots of Little fish ....imagine the retention this helps) and ComedyOpenMic has in just 17 Rounds given out >1553.00 SBD & ~300 Steem in prizes all by donation (current value of >$3,150USD, at time of posting). the #comedyopenmic tag is one of the highest payout per tag on Steem that is not sponsored by Steemit Inc >1million delegation .... no kidding, we are proud to help retain talent and attract a new great number of Minnow!

Our focus is 3rd world countries collaboration (currently)....we have >26 volunteer running the community. We hope to get to 50 Volunteers from 25 countries in next 3 months....

Check us out, support us....we'll gladly take an upvote (our liquid SBD payout is 74 SBD this week and we're now giving out 215 SBD a week), a delegation (if you research you'll see that we are worthy as a community that's slowly but surely going to disrupt the Steem blockchain), send some Steem or SBD love to @comedyopenmic, or heck send us a few hundred packs of SteemMonsters cards at little or no cost to your business and we'll help promote it to the community, raise funds to empower minnow growth and retention, and help grow Steem user base together.

Now... I want you and @yabapmatt to imagine what 500,000 active Steemian who enjoy entertainment would do to sales...... and then forget USD$50K of SteemMonster cards and boss and other specialized items sold and think instead of a $50 Million Dollar brand when Steem gets to $20.

Look at the reality today:

outside active dust
$50K / 8174(red-fishes) + 1675(dolphins) + 262(orcas) + 37(whales) = $4.92 Steem per account

500,000 x $4.92 x $20Steem + 50K = $49,320,792.27 business!

To grow @SteemMonsters, you have to grow the communities that will someday become the largest customer base for the use case!

Sort:  

I would love the chance to win some booster packs. I have yet to even get an epic card.

Oh, wait. I guess as a judge I won't be eligible.

Well, back to skimming from the till for card money.

As for COM, it's probably the biggest reason I stuck around on Steemit. I was ready to bail after a couple months of making .07 per post and having little to no engagement.

monster packs wide distribution will be a critical key to it's success, i don't see why not use them out as rewards for COM achievement as well as to encourage the active judges, curators, and all participants to also support @steemmonsters be anything but a plus for the game and the diversity of card ownership

Well said @dj123! You can't really pass this up @aggroed as I feel it's a win/win! I know it's not always easy to listen to the little guy, but I'm not so little!

I've been in the crypto scene since 2013 and I know a valuable coin when I see it and Steem is definitely one of them. The thing is that @dj123 is right about the whole comedy thing. There is massive potential for rapid, organic growth when it comes to comedy.

Having spent years on the net, I know where to go when I want to laugh. Everyone has their favorite place. There has been articles I've read that talk about "where memes are born" on the internet, specifically linking a website.

What could it mean for steemit if we made it the birth place and main hub for jokes on the internet?

When I first joined steemit there were a handful of tags that I checked out and do you want to know what tag was among the first one? #funny! Because I wanted to laugh with someones original joke! Boy was I not dissappointed! While downvoting is important, I don't think that will increase the value of steem too much. I believe that will help make it harder for abusers to make steem, but I just don't think it would increase the value much. What will increase the value is getting real users motivated to make money.

With the proper marketing, it's a sure way to grow any business and bring new users in. The selling point is #comedyopenmic. Everybody and I mean everybody loves to laugh. Whether it's dark humor, silly humor or NSFW humor, people crave it! Even when it comes to rewards pool abuse, some of the comments and gif memes I come across have me dying on the floor! It's pure comedy and entertainment! So even outside of comedy, the comedic comments still win!

Not sure if it would be worth much to you, but you'd certainly have my witness vote if you supported @comedyopenmic!

Just look at the banner below! Isn't it sexy? I know you want your @name on it! :)


Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Yeh @aggroed, I can vouch for these guys, they are an amazing community, and many fans in there of your meme the news too :)
I have been a regular contributer to @comedyopenmic for 7 rounds now, have guest judged, am currently curating for, and have delegated 100SP too. These guys are actively doing what you promote, please check them out :)
Peace.

I have been quite active in the Comedy Open Mic community as of lately and I can say this is one of the most supportive communities I've found around here, lots of people from MSP and Helpie are also very active here. It is quite ironic that the ''comedy leadership'' is one of the most serious groups I've encountered . I'd love to see this project bloom ! Well , I'm also one of the biggest MSP supporters :) . So.. I'd love to see something happening here !

Setting up a number of @steemmonster packs in place of SBDs to Comedy Open Mic winners will be a great marriage. If not the one made in heaven. Genuis.

I believe that com is one of the very few best projects we have in steemit, bringing its help to the Spanish-speaking community.

The stats are right. Thank you for sharing @dj123. At first I joined COM because I needed a good laugh. Later I stayed for the community and mutual support. Comedy is what held people together in tough times.

This is a minnow support project that creates content that beyond Steemit and I'm happy to be part.

I can’t agree more with your points @aggroed Smoother quicker account process is essential. And welcoming communities that are tight-nit and meaningful is another need. So supporting the communities that already exist is so obvious that I find it slightly befuddling that more whales don’t seem to see it. Any delegation made by a whale toward communities that are directly supporting newbies, facilitating engagement and dispersing value...that delegation is truly just protecting said whale’s investment. (Mayer multiple model)
For me the communities I have made the strongest connections in have been @steemitbloggers @dtubedaily and @comedyopenmic
As an admin in both #dtubedaily and #comedyopenmic I can say without a doubt we are creating meaningful engagement and aiding in steemit user retention. Without those groups I too may very well have petered out.
I do my damndest to stay out of whale drama.... but it’s time to wake up... time to realize that communities like the ones I’ve mentioned and others are the beating heart of steemit. Pumping delagaions into verifiably awesome groups is literally circulating health through the entire platform.

@aggroed, I supporting @comedyopenmic and I'm doing my part to improve grow of the steem blockchain by developing beem, an alternative python library for steem. Powerful libraries can be used to create interactive platforms for steem user.

I must say this is a brilliant idea dj. A collaboration between comedyopenmic and @steemmonsters will foster growth for every party involved, I hope @aggroed @yabapmatt and everyone involved would consider this merger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.00
ETH 2325.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36