Why Upvote Bots are Actually Good for Steem

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I’m not exactly sure how I discovered steemit. I was probably googling something and one of the results was from steemit.com. What immediately caught my eyes were the dollar signs. I was intrigued.

You see, I’ve been making a living through online income since 2008. I’ve sold millions of dollars’ worth of ships through this ugly website. I made tens of thousands of dollars through Google Adsense. I sold several websites for a nice sum at flippa.com. I’ve sold hundreds of millions of pesos worth of real estate properties using Facebook Ads. I was there when you could actually make good money through freelance websites.

And I’m not saying this just to brag. Okay, maybe a little. But the point is that I have enough experience in making money online and that makes my say count. Agreed? Good.

I knew about bitcoin when it was just a few cents each. I could have bought tens of thousands of bitcoins back then without breaking a sweat. But now that ship has sailed. I still haven’t forgiven myself for missing out on the chance to be extremely wealthy.

However, when I saw those dollar signs on those steemit posts, light bulbs lit up, gears turned. I was truly excited after quite a while of staying away from online income opportunities. Being a content creator, I knew this could be really big. For the first time in a long while, I was in fact excited.

But what does that have to do with upvote bots and why they are good for the steemit community? Patience dear reader. We’ll get there.

First, we need to discuss something basic, like value and where it comes from. I know it sounds boring but bear with me.

Let’s Talk About Value, Baby

If you’re willing to pay for something, that thing is valuable to you. Pretty simple right? Now when a lot of people want the same thing, that thing becomes more valuable.

In July 2010, bitcoin was worth $0.08. Nobody wanted it. So, it wasn’t very valuable back then. It was very risky to buy bitcoin during that time because you’re not sure if it will still have any value left the next day.

You probably know what happened next but I’ll tell you anyway. More and more people eventually adapted bitcoin and its value increased beyond anyone's wildest imagination. Now I want one and I can’t afford it.

But what does this have to do with upvote bots? Jeez, you’re so impatient. I’m getting there.

When somebody first discovers steemit, what he’ll look at naturally are the dollar signs and the values after it. Wow, these posts are making money! I bet I could create crappy content like those easily.

I personally can come up with shitty content in just a few short minutes.

But when you’re a newbie, you’ll soon discover that it’s not so easy to earn as much as those who are in the trending page. Even if you spend a week on the bestest content you can come up with, no spelling mistakes, no typos, no grammatical errors, and something that actually is worth reading, it still won’t be worth squat unless someone with a lot of SP upvotes you.

Heartbreak. Depression.

THEN . . .

You find out that a lot of the posts on the trending page actually got there by buying upvotes. You get mad because you know your work is an order of magnitude better than the garbage that’s populating the trending page. You get frustrated.

But nobody seems to care. Still, you can't give up. This is your greatest online discovery. You will make money from steemit or die trying.

AFTER THAT . . .

You try buying SBD. Just a few at first to test things out with the bid bots.

All of a sudden . . . RAW, UNTAMED POWER!

BOOM! You’re on the trending page.

You buy more SBD and you work on creating more content.

Then you do the math. You realize that with enough starting SBD capital and with the help of upvote bots, it can actually be very profitable. You earn SBD and SP. You reinvest the SBD you earn on buying upvotes and save the SP. When you run out of liquid SBD, you power down and use the steem to upvote your posts again gaining more SP as you go.

See where this is going?

This is actually what some smart long-time steemians have been doing. They keep it under the radar. They upvote themselves using bid bots but not too much. Just enough. They don't want to appear greedy. They don't want to get flagged.

But you know what? BUYING UPVOTES IS ACTUALLY GOOD FOR STEEM!

The Great Equalizer

If you’re a plankton, and you don’t want to buy a lot of steem to power up, the seemingly natural thing to do is either beg the steem deities OR comment spam all the high-paying posts.

But with upvote bots, the playing field becomes leveled. You can simply buy SBD and upvote your own posts and see them rise to the trending page without having to ceaselessly pray to the steemit gods.

This is good for Steem because more money from the outside is coming in. Let’s see the benefits of upvote bots:

  1. Newbies are given the power to be heard and earn their money back plus some profit while doing so.
  2. This generates more interest on the platform and more demand for SBD/Steem.
  3. More demand for SBD and Steem will increase the price.
  4. Increased price will make Steem more attractive to investors.
  5. The wealth becomes more widely distributed because even new members can have a bigger piece of the pie as long as they invest.
  6. More distribution means a more stable currency.
  7. A more stable currency attracts more new investors and increases the value of Steem even more.

No, I don’t think Steem will replace bitcoin by 2021. But I KNOW we can all do something to help increase the value of Steem. And it's not starting a flagging war.

If you’re new here but know in your heart of hearts that you are a high-quality content creator, I encourage you to use the upvote bots. Just be smart in using them. Start small and learn the ropes first before spending bigger amounts. I started with @minnowbooster using my post earnings before I tried the upvote bid bots at @steembotracker using my own money.

Still not convinced that this will work? That’s alright. You’re welcome to sit there and watch my wallet grow.

Sort:  

Upvote bots are good for people that already have money and will make more. Bots are rubbish for creative people with REAL talent but can't afford to pay for bots. If this post wasn't paid by bots it would get 0.10$ at the most. Sorry to say it but it isn't worth much more

And this post is targeted at talented people who have SOME money. You don't need to invest thousands of dollars to benefit from the bots.

I agree with you 1000% I've learned this valuable lesson years ago "It Takes Money To Make Money." Most free online opportunities I've tried over the years turned out to be huge wastes of time.

And so it is ...you are really practicing what you preach, congratulations this is really a brilliant insight , I wish I have lots to invest for me to buy upvotes from the bots. I am following you now @digitaldreamer. One thing more, are a you a Pinoy, too? God bless you,sir.

Yes, Pinoy here.

These bots give minnows a fighting chance to get discovered and earn more on this platform. But when it comes on using upvote bots, some abuse it and use it for plagiarized content and those who are new here have no idea that these bots exist and their original contents are copied by some abusers. But I guess the good things still outweigh the bad things in it.

When i first saw this post it only has 1 vote and earnings is just $0.1. So i upvoted this post then started to read. Then in just a few minutes while I'm still reading i'd scrolled down the mouse and was surprised! I said, what? Earlier its just $0.1 and now its already $78.01. Amazing! I should also try this bots too. It can help noobs like me for sure. Thanks for sharing!

And you know what? It's on the hot page. More eyeballs. More engagement. Win-win for everyone.

Am still skeptical about bots but I agree 100% that in a way, they do level the playin field. Maybe I'll give one a serious try soon

i am still skeptical about the site.

But i love the site.

Still i don't trust it enough to put a good amount of money into it.

You don't have to put in a lot. Don't put in any amount that you can't afford to lose. That's the reason why cyrpto is high-reward. Because it's also high-risk.

Well I think you were expecting a comment to the negative, so let me be the first.

  • your reward in 7 days time is not going to be much more, if anything, and could well be less than you have paid to promote the post

  • distributing the wealth is not happening via bid-bots, it is the opposite

  • the reward pool your vote is coming from is a finite, shared resource - buying a large vote punishes everyone else on the network

  • 'falsifying' the numbers on trending, makes many join, understand, drop out when they realise they have to pay to play

Although I disagree with the message, it's certainly not the worst post I've read today.

Welcome to Steemit!

Hey @abh12345.

  1. It's true that you could lose money using the upvote bots. In fact, it's easier to lose money than make money using upvote bots particulary for those just starting out. That's why it's important to learn the system well first before trying this. The $ signs in the posts make it confusing because they don't actually represent the actual dollar value. But it is possible to mak a profit. I invested $700 and I'm now up to around $900. Granted some of that is from capital gains. But yes, you can make a profit, although modest, using upvote bots.

  2. I get your point. Delegators to the bots are guaranteed a profit. Those with money make more money. That's not too bad because those with a lot of SP did invest time, money, or effort to accumulate that much. It's only fair for them to have a return.

  3. While the reward pool indeed is finite, there's enough of it for everybody.

  4. I do have some issue with how the earnings are presented on the posts. It's very misleading. I've been on steemit for more than a month and there's still a lot of things I'm just beginning to grasp.

Nice to meet you!

You are right, there is actually more value in bid bots than I realized. However when bots upvote bad content, it is still a problem and they should be penalized for that. I had some suggestions about changes to Steemit's rules that could help: https://steemit.com/steemit/@petermail/how-to-save-steemit

The solution is to get more good content writers on steemit to drown out the bad ones.

Gracias no soy muy buena con la tecnología me la paso en la red después del trabajo buscando alternativas de como ganar un extra y lo que me gusta realmente de esta red es que se comparte información sin egoísmo felicitaciones te seguire sigue publicando

Upvoted from @seelc

Come visit my food and travel blog @seelc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61682.60
ETH 2986.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51