You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Going Legit: The gap between blog and reality

in #steem6 years ago

I had a strange wake-up call with Ulogs, in realizing that they were basically what we were doing almost 20 years ago, pre-Farcebook.

Blogs were social. And they were about personal stories. And some of those were very deep and authentic. And people would have substantial "conversations" back and forth in their comment sections... because "comment sections" (aka "interaction") was a totally new gig, in 1999... before that, we only had message boards for that.

So the wake-up call was "This is actually how I learned to blog!"

Except, I realized I had come really far off track, and was stuck in the whole "writing about a topic" in what was almost a "third-person" article style. It actually has taken me almost 18 months on Steemit (and 12000+ posts) to UN-learn that... wow!

I also had to UN-learn being worried about whether a Ulog I might write was (to my mind) "rewards worthy."

And I had to ask myself "Why does that matter?" I mean, I'm mostly writing for my own enjoyment... and if people don't think something is "rewards worthy," then they should just not reward it... but I shouldn't have to censor my own content on that account.

And yes, there's some really good stuff out there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39