You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Buying and earning experience

in #steem5 years ago

I have to confess that I just can't see spending 600 € on a baby outfit, no matter how wealthy I might be.

It's not even about whether I could afford to do so... simply because I were to make 100,000 € a week in income doesn't suddenly mean that an expensive item makes sense. For me, the item has to "make sense" in a standalone sort of way... and perhaps what makes me a "lousy consumer" (at least in the eyes of capitalists and marketers) is the fact that I have absolutely zero ego-investment in How Much I Paid For Something.

Anyway, your thoughts here inspired an extra paragraph in the post I was writing... so thanks for that!

Oh, and I hope we do see $10 Steem someday... even if we have to wait a few years for it. I have a hunch that what will get us there is the fact that more and more of the "lottery players" looking for a moonshot are leaving the markets, and the value investors are starting to flow in. At some point that surely must mean we hit "maximum density" and prices start moving up again...

Sort:  

I have to confess that I just can't see spending 600 € on a baby outfit, no matter how wealthy I might be.

It is madness. I took a picture and sent it to my wife. people are crazy.

what makes me a "lousy consumer" (at least in the eyes of capitalists and marketers) is the fact that I have absolutely zero ego-investment in How Much I Paid For Something.

I am the same and find those that do care about such things among the most useless in this life.

I have a hunch that what will get us there is the fact that more and more of the "lottery players" looking for a moonshot are leaving the markets, and the value investors are starting to flow in.

I tihnk so too. At some point, the "moonshot" people will be doing so like they do on other platforms - as creators.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43