You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Two Things Which Need to Remain True for Steem to Succeed

in #steem7 years ago

I don't agree. It is the nature of satisfaction that you start with expectations, and then if those expectations are not met or exceeded, that you come out with disappointment. Disappointment on first impression is the worst thing we can do for growth.

It can also be seen empirically that prior to mid March, virtually all rewards were going to established users, and new users were not sticking around. It was only when this trend changed that we started to see growth again, first in engagement (comments per post, for example), then in users, then in price.

Sort:  

THIS!

Disappointment on first impression is the worst thing we can do for growth.

I remember demotruk, when I first started, you upvoted and it was very encouraging then (and even now). New users are very skeptical... they will -- and from my own experience -- leave the platform whenever their expectations isn't met.

The best thing to do, of course, is not have any expectations at all. But alas, the world isn't wired that way. Everyone wishes for something, for their own selfish reasons, and if they can trust the platform to meet their expectations - they bring everyone else to this platform.

I have already told my friend about Steem (without creating any major expectation) that this is a platform worth checking out. I don't know what goes inside his head...

But I am very sure he and everyone else come here, invest time, to meet their expectation - of either rewards, fame, or respect.

Im not telling it for myself, it for those people who decided to leave the platform. I had been on this line, that failure came from dissatisfaction due to too much expectation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60252.67
ETH 2426.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44