[Steem talk] @wherein profitability?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

As I was having my hard time trying to grind through hard fork 21, and there comes hard fork 22. Seriously, I am really lost in terms of understanding the reward now.

Bear in mind, I have a leasing going on, and my investment is suppose to pay for my lease so I will not suffer big loss due to supporting community. Namely @cnstm and @wherein. Let's review on the current payout and try to understand if my business decision stands.

3dcpqglwgu.jpg
Upvote value has not changed much, my 1000sp delegation currently provide me a daily upvote worth $0.263. Let's work around the payout, 10% goes to the SPS, what left is 0.236. Half of them goes back to curator, and that's 0.118 goes to my payout. Work around the year, on 365 day basis I am receiving $43.07.

htyz0xfeqx.png
Thanks to @coingecko for providing such a convenient price feed and conversion tool online. According to today's pricing of 0.17, our investment has gone all the way back to 240.625steem . Say it! Holy shit! From here onwards, I am going to do away the dollar value. We invest crypto, we earn crypto, it's not fair that we use dollar fluctuations to justify profitability of a system. But of course, ultimately dollar value is the one we spent, and that's where bitcoin pizza day was born.

qzrlw58pqx.png
Not only daily upvote is helping me, there's a daily profit sharing of curation reward. According to the officials, it is supposed to be 6%. And 0.235steem a day, that's like 85.775steems in a year. Say that magic word again!

All in all, upvote will bring me back 240.625 and daily payout will be 85.775, total 326.4 steem in return over a year. 32.64% APR is the actual crypto value if everyday is Sunday(hypothetical). This is for you guys who invest your rock hard steem power of your own. How about a fund manager like myself, who lease steem power from others and redelegate? Let's work on the magic again.


Risky investment

I am leasing my 1000sp currently at 17.7steems every 28 days.

Potential payout for supporting @wherein by delegating them is 326.4 steems every 365 days.

So, it worked out as we take the payout of 320.4 and divide by 365 days, each day we get 0.894 steems

With that, we use 0.894 steems multiply by my leasing contract period of 28 days, I am getting 25.032 steems per contract cycle.

My leasing contract cost me 17.7steems, so my nett profit is 7.332steem! Why wouldn't I? I am just going to pray that my leasing contract will continue to be at this rate. In less than 3 months, they're going to expire. I hope I will be able to continue the leasing and to continue support @wherein. This is one stone kill two birds. Earn the interest difference and profit from the service rendered by the community, at the same time by doing so is supporting the community.

Sort:  

恭喜你!您的这篇文章入选 @justyy 今日 (2019-09-07) 榜单 【优秀的文章】, 回复本条评论24小时内领赏,点赞本评论将支持 @dailychina 并增加将来您的奖赏。
@justyy 是CN区的见证人,请支持他,给他投票,或者设置justyy为见证人代理。感谢!@justyy的主要贡献:https://steemyy.com

Congratulations! This post has been selected by @justyy as today's (2019-09-07) 【Good Posts】, Steem On! Reply to this message in 24 hours to get rewards. Upvote this comment to support the @dailychina and increase your future rewards! ^_^

SteemIt 工具、API接口、机器人和教程
SteemIt Tools, Bots, APIs and Tutorial



If you believe what I am doing, please consider a spare vote voting me here, thank you very much indeed.

@justyy - the author of https://SteemYY.com and I have been a Steem Witness for more than a year now.

区块链中文第一大银行简介:你的比特币拿不了利息,但是你把比特币换成steem后就能拿利息了!

吃了吗?这是哪里?你是谁?我为什么会来这边?你不要给我点赞不要点赞,哈哈哈哈哈哈。如果不想再收到我的留言,请回复“取消”。

10% goes to the SPS
What's SPS?
And wherein upvote you 0.19 on this post, that's 27% drop from what you used in your calculations

ah yeah! Damn I forgot about that.

You can see a clearer breakdown in steemworld now 🙂, curator and author each taken away 5%

Posted using Partiko Android

Rechecked with esteemapp, looks OK to me.

Posted using Partiko Android

mmm... Is this where the vote value changes as more people upvote, coz I seem to remember your large upvotes weren't here earlier on.

Anyone, the other thing you haven't factored in is the the beneficiary cut from your rewards

I am aware of that. Thank you for pointing out. The thing is, it's a choice. I can choose not to use #esteemapp, by using #wherein there will have no cut from there. It's not fair for me to factor in what I choose to "lose" when I clearly have a choice to make a sound decision that does not involve beneficiaries cut, can I? 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I have a headache just thinking about your lease. I used to like Steem community because we could make jokes and get paid for it. Now we make jokes and pretend to get paid for it.

Put it this way, we never get paid at all, even those days. Crypto is only a group of codes, that MAY be sell for fiat value. I have move from one codes to another and see through lots of things. I moved my dogge to steem before dogge gets a bone and price move up. Last year around this time, I moved my eth to steem since they didn't move go up, and steem did recover some ground, buy eth make a killer move upwards. I used to write and get paid some $5 a post, but now I get paid 5 steem instead 😂

Put it this way, when we learn to forget fiat, it feels a lot better this way. Who knows one day when steem is 8$ again, I'd rather want to have 5000sp in the account than having 5000$ and nobody wanna sell me their steem 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

👍
~Smartsteem Curation Team

Thanks buddy

Posted using Partiko Android

Good explanation @davidke20, don't give up.. as long as we gain a little, it's fine. Maybe steem value will be higher one day. That will be our big hope jejejeje

Thanks Olivia. No I don't even put hope on #steem hike value. More important is sustainability at this junction. At this point of time 0.17$, one can spend 50k and the market value will be 0.35$ already. The trouble is, after that 50k pump, once again people will be selling their steem at 0.34, and then 0.32 and price will plunge again. Unless there is value in #steem that will make people want to buy in and stay in even if there is no price pump.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54483.11
ETH 2297.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28