[Steem talk] Time spent vs Income

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

I'm going to talk a little bit about the amount of time I spent on #steem #blockchain in a daily basis and see whether it worth it or not?


Source from Pixabay

As a curator

I think I've been a curator for #esteem for about a year now(slightly less than that but I think). Usually, I did two rounds of curation. Once after I got up, that time has the least "competition" with my fellow colleagues. As I woke up, I will be browsing through my feed for a quick round, find some article I like to read, did a few manual vote for them if the auto didn't trigger. And then proceed with a round of esteem curation for about half an hour. I did it in a simple manner, if the post is in standard keyboard format that runs with period seperator, usually first thing I go through is the word count. Anything lower than 50 is a no go. But if it's in Spanish/Korean/Japanese(seldom)/Chinese/Thai, I will be extremely careful because these words are usually not quite recognize by the bot. I will have to read through, check the photos if they're genuine before I cast my vote. Usually can cover about 20 posts in the morning, and during lunch hour at work, I will do it once again. In total, I did about 40 votes. Sometimes in the evening I will do one more round if I'm free. Note that some of the votes esteem may NOT follow, and there I missed a few post count here and there.

As an author

Chinese

This is rather interesting. I used to spend like 2 hours to write one Chinese post, but now with @wherein app on my phone, I can literally finish one super long post with atleast 500 words in about half an hour. I'm a Chinese, flow of thoughts is never a problem. More like spending time finding the word to plot into my article is the most challenging part. With mobile phone's recognition, I can easily navigate it out, coupled with dictionary auto correction, I now have no problem making Chinese post very quickly. And if you're following, previously I do post Chinese on this account, and now they're in my alt. I try to maintain this account as English as possible. That post usually authored during lunch hour after I did my curation work for #esteem.

English

This part, I try to make a balance. As an #esteem curator, I am entitled for 1 esteem vote with slightly bigger percentage. I need to create one quality post to grab it. Here's the problem, I can speak English, I can use English as written communication, but sometimes or may be most of the time people will be reading my post and thinking I'm using a translator. In the end, my mind is still using Chinese to think, and automatically when the word is written on the editor, sometimes I read it and realized I wrote like a robot. I'm trying to do "Steem talk" series of crypto free write, but sometimes I really don't have the time, I will change to food and restaurant review with #tasteem, so I don't have to rush my #esteem post to get paid due to the 24 hours 1 post limitation.

Game and Entertainment

Do you know #drugwars? I hope you don't know about it. It's kinda addictive initially, but afterawhile, since "crypto investment" involved, I tend to spend more and more time in dealing with the attackers. And now, with additional rules and spare clans to take care for each of the accounts, it started to eat up my entire evening. Including now, after I spent 3 hours on #drugwars to spend and consume all the resources before someone decided to come and invade me and rob me. In the end, #drugwars pay #dwd tokens for participants, sometimes I felt obliged to continue playing despite I know the time I spent here not worthy. I believe it is still very addictive now, but I'd think the kind of addiction was due to crypto, probably not due to the game itself.

Engagement

Seriously, this part is the best of all and causes most of the unforeseen time spent. In order to fish for more reader, one need to pay attention to people who left a comment for us, replying them would make them feel better. We need to get really active in communicating with our reader so they don't felt left out. This has no time constraint, with the notification alert from #partiko and #esteem, it feels like I am obliged to reply comments quickly not because of I wanted to get famous. I know for a fact that people only spend certain amount of time to answer their questions to their post, I know it because I practice the same. After making a post, if within few hours nobody is paying attention to it, good chance is the post will sink into the bottom of the Indian ocean. See a new post? Be the first few who read it, be the first few to comment it. Grab as much asttention as possible to increase follower count.

Life has been amazing since I joined #steem #blockchain. There's nothing much short too far from my imagination. I imagined I'd get 5000, but that time I was thinking of dollars, and now here I am, already more than two years, my dream still came through, but in a devalued crypto environment. I'm currently 4800SP on my main account. I can immediately powerup everything and get through 5000 the dolphin status line. But, I choose to save some steems inase I need to use it to host an event or something similar. You may be asking, why would I be happy because 5000steem is only about $600, for two years! How many thousands replies and article I've done here. If I were to look for money to pay rent, I think I got chased out of the house two years ago.

Nobody really like to waste their time for such small money. What I learn here in #steem #blockchain is, it doesn't really matter how bad #steem and #sbd value drop, what I concern has always been why would I think if the SP worth how much in dollar value? @jerrybanfield has moved on, I think many does, should I? The thing that I have been doing, has become part of my life. I mean I could be quitting #drugwars someday when I really decided I can't take it anymore, I will have to shut it down to avoid spending too much time on a less profitable game. I'd rather spend more time to write a better post and to reply all my friends who leave me a comment.

Sorry for the long winded text message again. It seems like I have an abusive pattern, the lesser I earn by the day, and I decided to write longer. This post, as at now, 1170 words. Do you think it will worth more? I don't think so. Ok. I'm a little dizzy now and time for me to sleep. I really need to restructure myself, atleast to cut down on my gaming time and maintain a healthy blogger lifestyle. 1216 words now.

Sort:  

!thumbup
恭喜你!您的这篇文章入选 @justyy 今日 (2019-09-28) 榜单 【优秀的文章】, 回复本条评论24小时内领赏,点赞本评论将支持 @dailychina 并增加将来您的奖赏。
@justyy 是CN区的见证人,请支持他,给他投票,或者设置justyy为见证人代理。感谢!@justyy的主要贡献:https://steemyy.com

Congratulations! This post has been selected by @justyy as today's (2019-09-28) 【Good Posts】, Steem On! Reply to this message in 24 hours to get rewards. Upvote this comment to support the @dailychina and increase your future rewards! ^_^

SteemIt 工具、API接口、机器人和教程
SteemIt Tools, Bots, APIs and Tutorial



If you believe what I am doing, please consider a spare vote voting me here, thank you very much indeed.

@justyy - the author of https://SteemYY.com and I have been a Steem Witness for more than a year now.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

吃了吗?@wherein邀请您来参加美味就是家常味带我看看,你的城市活动,展现您的精彩生活瞬间。倘若你想让我隐形,请回复“取消”。

You’re leader 💪💪

Posted using Partiko iOS

谢谢妹妹

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43