[Steem talk] Curation restructure

in #steem4 years ago (edited)

I've been wondering where are my curation SPs? As far as I'm concern, I know people with only 2000sp can do more than 1sp return in a day by upvoting effectively, and I have a lots of confuse when I find I'm upvoting more than 100s of curation votes for different project, including #esteem and #teammalaysia, why didn't my curation reward as profitable as it used to be? So here's a quick view of what happened to my curation reward.

edkpmc.png
First thing to do is go to steemworld.org/@username and proceed to coming rewards column, select on curation reward, and hit the REFRESH button. If you're not doing a lots of upvote, then good because this will not load too long. But if you're someone like me, having hundreds of autovotes and hundreds more manual vote everyday due to curation job requirement, then loading this will be a pain in the butt. I took the trouble to copy and paste all past 1 week upvote statistics to a spreadsheet to analyze what went wrong. So, here's some discovery and knowingly why they cause me to lose curation rewards.

f18ubz.png
After have them in the spreadsheet, I can now filter those less performed vote according to ROI. I have highlighted the ROI column in different color so I can differentiate them. From my observation, I recon few things below:

  1. Those who subscribe to a trail, their account are upvoted by a trail at certain timing. Typically at 4 minutes. If anyone set their vote at 4 minutes, there's a chance that you'll get stuck at the last of the queue and don't expect your vote to be profitable.
  2. The problem with trying to get ahead of the trail, meaning you'll be at 3 minutes. Then you'll have to sacrifice 40% of the original curation reward, and you'll have to make sure to make back 150% of what is balance, which is 60% of the curation rewawrd just to be breakeven. For example, if you can vote 0.100, supposed curation reward is 0.050. But voted at 3 minutes, meaning there's a penalty of 40%. 60% balance of 0.050 is 0.03. You'll have to atleast make back the penalty before breakeven. If nobody else upvote after you, then we're going to be in deep trouble.
  3. Community trail vote is a big loser now. I used to make quite substantial amount of curation reward before HF21, but now they no longer work. Part of the reason is, community can't possibly auto their vote anymore due to the 5 minutes curation window. It's just too short to identify a post whether they're genuine and quality are assured. I've seen many posts that has hundreds of useless autotext by phone dictionary suggestion. Meaning the person who authored the post probably using their phone, started a word and keep tapping on the suggested word column to make up a giant article that is absolutely rubbish.

rnjbsq.png

It's easy to observe, 4 minutes window is generally a winner if I sort the data with username acordingly, and immediately the upvote timing will show you anything more then 4 minutes pose a greater risk of losing curation.

My next course of action, is to migrate these losing people out from my #steemauto and shift them in to #steemrewarding. Note that these people who had a risk of losing my curation reward due to they post more than once a day. Sometimes the second post they made were not auto voted, and I don't want auto vote to take over me on my curation work, I can't possibly keep on adjusting my upvote timing upward and put my job on jeopardy. So, somehow I will have to figure away to continue support these people, continue to earn their curation reward, and at the same time to carry out my job efficiently without giving out too much of spam vote.

I will report back on my course of action next time.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

吃了吗?新人吗?《steemit指南》拿一份吧,以免迷路; 另外一定要去 @team-cn 的新手村看看,超级热闹的大家庭。倘若你想让我隐形,请回复“取消”。

You have received a 0.12% upvote based on your stake of 65.62812962 UFM!

I've seen many posts that has hundreds of useless autotext by phone dictionary suggestion. Meaning the person who authored the post probably using their phone, started a word and keep tapping on the suggested word column to make up a giant article that is absolutely rubbish.

Wow this is absolutely abusing and trashing the entire blockchain's reward pool.

Posted using Partiko Android

And guess what, some of those have higher upvote than you and me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62