You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitfinex, Blockchain Hacks, and Replay Attacks Oh My - All Things that Steem’s Technology is designed to prevent.

in #steem8 years ago

Steem Power is one of the safest places to be right now and it's time to invest some marketing effort into showing that. Too much effort goes into attracting bloggers and not enough to promote Steem Power. Now that Bitcoin is going down and probably will keep being suppressed by 100,000+ Bitcoins, it's only a matter of showing traders where the safe place is.

Sort:  

Why do you say that? What's so safe about being unable to protect your value? (Honest question not an attack)

Yeah but it is completely illiquid, the same as buying a house. It may be safe (unless the market crashes), but will take a year to sell.

But if you could get an immediate loan based on the amount of SP you have, that would change things :)

Same goes for Steem Dollars (SBD) !!!

All I'm seeing is the value of my steem power going down everyday and I need to buy 10x more steem power before I can cash out over a period of years, safe as houses my fat arse.

Your steem power might stop going down if you don't use the FLAG to down vote people's post for dumb reasons. If it is plagiarism, or posting stuff that should be NSFW without a warning so it is in your fast in the list of posts I could see a FLAG which essentially REPORT this post... yet my reputation dropped from 7 to 5 this morning and I went to see apparently it is because you decided to flag one of my old posts that was neither offensive, violent, NSFW, was original, etc.

So is your goal for me to reciprocate and those that I know or are you interested in REMOVING your flag? I don't mind you flagging me because there is reason. Disagreement is not a reason to USE the flag, thus the reason it is nowhere NEAR the rest of the voting mechanism.

If you are using that for DISAGREE then that is likely why your steem power and reputation go down. People are not going to up vote someone who does that.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@dwinblood/not-a-ponzi-scheme-seems-like-a-new-paradigm-up-votes-regardless-of-topic-help-us-all

You apparently just flagged that...

BTW - check this out.. I made it for people like you:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@dwinblood/siren-song-for-the-down-voter-if-you-think-the-down-vote-flag-is-a-solution-i-made-this-for-you

I'll await for your reply for a bit, and I would like to see the flag removed. If it is going to stay there I'd like to know why.

I use the flag as if it were a downvote like you get in real sites. The reason the value of my steam power is going down (note: I'm talking dollar value not the amount of power, that goes up) is because this site is a scam, an obvious scam and I shall continue to downvote all articles I find encouraging people to invest money here. I am shocked how deeply in denial some people get about this, the devs are taking .most of the money out of the system and everything is rigged so that people that make a fuss about it don't get heard. I read your rather patronising article but you missed my point entirely, like I said it's not the amount of steam power that goes down, it's the value and the time it takes to power down will mean it is worthless to me and will be in two years time. WAKE UP!

Was at nesting limit so had to respond to same thing. The site is only a scam for people that refuse to open their eyes and see the difference. If you continue to try to use it like you would a "real site" then yeah you're going to have a problem. Turns out I don't care about your down vote it didn't actually do anything to me, they had updated the codebase and I hadn't refreshed the page. I did not go from 7 to 5 due to your flag. It was a kneejerk reaction and I started looking at who down voted me. It turns out I went from 7 to 56. The reputation system protects people from people like you. If people don't like how you are talking, and such they won't stop you, but you're obstinate view of reality at least won't impact them much. So carry on.

If the site owners are running off with the money people are investing (they are BTW), it's a scam. Changing my attitude ain't going to stop it. Kinda funny that you imply that I am the deluded one. One hell of a lot of people besides me see this for what it is why can't you see the obvious? The voting system is rigged, the devs are taking 80% of the money people are investing, there is no source of income apart from that, site rules are deceptive and vague authors get about one tenth of the payout they were expecting etc, etc etc, so how is this not a scam?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.48
ETH 3831.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55