Steemit Journey - 8 months here and an exciting initiative to announce!

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians! Today marks the 8th month I am on the Steem platform. The longer I am on this platform, the more I can feel its immense potential. Through these 8 months, I have progressed from a HODLer to now a BUIDLer. I am starting to meddle with the APIs, create projects, and build communities. In this month's reflection post, I will be sharing a new initiative which I am bringing. So please read on if you are keen to learn more.

Steemit8months.png


The Routine Stuff

Let's start with some boring statistics. Last month, I was hoping to reach beyond the 1000 followers mark. My wish came true this month as my number of followers grew from 967 to 1014. In addition, my reputation inched up from 61 to 62. Overall, I view this as steady growth and I am happy about it.

image.png

So I have more than 1000 followers now, but is it really significant? Recently, I get to know about SteemSpectacles, a site which shows some very interesting Steem statistics on your account. One of which is the type of followers that I have. As you can see below, despite having >1000 followers, there are actually close to 800 "ghost" followers without any form of interactions.

image.png

Being a social blogging platform, I think the key thing here is to have interactions with fellow Steemians. So 1000 followers doesn't mean much. More importantly, is the quality of interaction with your readers.

Other Interesting Stats

I have always been wondering, who do I vote for the most. Thanks to @abh12345, I get to know this statistics in the form of a pie chart.

I am surprised that I have been voting for Redfishes and Minnows most of the time. I would have thought I had voted more for Dolphins. Haha.. Anyway, for those who are keen to get your out-vote statistics, you should really check @abh12345's post.


Projects and Initiatives Updates

Byteball to Steem Conversion Service

About a month ago, I started the Byteball to Steem conversion service. Till date, I have helped 10 Steemians to convert 1.79 GBytes to Steem. However, due to the recent cryptocurrency crash, I have yet to convert those Byteballs back to Steem. I will probably wait for the market to stabilize a little bit more before I do that.

The service is still ongoing, so do check out the post if you have some spare Byteball lying around and don't know what to do with them 😁.


Steem as a Content Crowdsourcing Platform - A New Initiative

image.png
Source

Lately, I have been asking myself, "how can I get more people to join the Steem platform?". About two weeks ago, an idea struck me. An idea which can potentially bring more people and investments to the Steem platform. Steem has about 50,000 active users and tens of thousands of writers, which makes it an ideal platform for content crowdsourcing.

Today, many companies are adding blogs to their websites because they recognize that fresh and regular content is the most important factor when it comes to search engine optimization (SEO). However, creating content is likely not their core competency. As a result, they are either not producing content fast enough or are creating poor quality content.

I see this as an opportunity for Steem to create value for businesses outside the Steem ecosystem. I intend to bridge businesses to the Steem platform and leverage the platform as a content crowdsourcing site. This will increase the visibility of this platform and bring in investments to the platform. Thanks to my dear friend @mrshev, my vision may come to fruition sooner than I thought as we have secured a potential client. The content crowdsourcing campaign for this potential client will be announced very soon, so do stay tuned!


Thanks for reading! Let me know your thoughts about this new initiative of making Steem a content crowdsourcing platform. Will you take part in this initiative when it is announced?

steem-divider1.png

Projects/Services I am working on:


You can find me in these communities:

Sort:  

we can earn our first bucket of gold here!

I do hope so! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulationssss on once again an impressive milestone. I am still stuck at around 870 followers (and somewhat decreasing because of the Follow/Unfollow of most bots lol) would probably take some time for me to reach 1000+ like you.

Good Luck on your new initiative and hope everything goes well. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

You will be there soon my friend! And as always, thanks for your support!

Posted using Partiko Android

@culgin I sent 10 steem to this account still-observer last night. This morning I got a message from a woman saying,

Hi! I noticed you sent 10 Steem to still-observer. Please don't send any amount to him again because he was caught plagiarizing photos earlier this month, and changed into his account to look like a "Whale Trail Team" bid bot. Besides, he only has 125.202 SP which means his vote has very little value (or nothing at all).

Looks like I’ve been had. I’d like other to not suffer the same fate of thieves like this if it can be helped.

Thanks

Hi, sorry to hear that and thanks for sharing your account here. Perhaps you can report it to @steemcleaners?

Posted using Partiko Android

No, but you did tag them in this post so they may look at it. This account is on a number of black lists it seems.

Take care.

May I know where did I tag them?

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah ok, I thought you meant I tagged still-observer. Hope @steemcleaners pick it up then

Posted using Partiko Android

Grats on your 8th month here, culgin! I had been buying STEEM by the loads since the price came down very significantly. I agree with you that there are so many potential here with the updates on HF20 and SMTs coming. Upvoted!

Thanks! Great to know you have load up on STEEM. Haha..

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for information!

That's a feat. Congratulations. I started a few days back, and this post has enlightened me on the importance of patience.

Thanks for reading. Glad it helps!

Posted using Partiko Android

Your welcome.

Congratulations!!!

Great work and great effort. Keep it up.

I've just started to follow you..

@alexKARKI

Thanks for the support and encouragement!

Posted using Partiko Android

http://www.steemspectacles.com/ doesn't load properly.
I couldn't see my "zombie" followers.

spectacles.png

I think you might have too many followers, hence it is taking a long time to load. Haha..

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent idea, now following with interest.

Thanks for popping by! Stay tuned!

Posted using Partiko Android

great work and great determination and patience and you proof that if continusly work in this plateform any one done they got success. its sure. well done and thamks for nice post
culgin (62)

Thanks for reading and your encouragement!

Posted using Partiko Android

most welcome dear! support me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57050.09
ETH 3060.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32