Double names on Steemit ?! No ! :) - A response to some 0.3 BTC lost.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Sooo.. have been kinda' inactive on Steem for a while...

I was watching @crypt0's Vlog and he mentioned Steemit , so I decided to check on my account and upvote him.

After checking my wallet and noticing a weird transaction , I received 379.954 SBD , I was like " Oh great - How did that happen ?"

It turns out someone else managed to make a Steemit account with the same display name as my account name.
The user with display name Cryptoninja and owner of Steem account @crpytoninja.

I can understand how this might get confusing and I want to let anyone reading this post know ( if you don't already do ) that the display name and the account name are two very different things. You need to send coins to your Steem account , NOT your Steem account display name.

Sure I would have made the same mistake one day , @crpytoninja probably saved me some coins.

The post :
IMG.png

link :https://steemit.com/crypto/@crpytoninja/help-i-transferred-0-3-bitcoin-to-the-wrong-address#@cryptoninja/re-cryptoninja-re-crpytoninja-help-i-transferred-0-3-bitcoin-to-the-wrong-address-20170702t235155542z

I have sent you your SBD back my Steemit "name twin" :)

Welcome to Steem and enjoy your investment !

Sort:  

You are a good person returning hiss money @cryptoninja
I hope he didn't threw his account already.

Mistakes happen , I also hope he still has his account.

Congratulations @cryptoninja! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for the upvote brother, I'm following you

honesty is the best policy

gd

Hopefully you will recover it. It may interest you reading about offgrid power sources, I am now at my 8th post daily. Thanks for the upvote.

So I am new my name is @isteemithard so if someone sent it to isteemithard would I get it and if not what name would they send it to for me? @cryptoninja

Hello 'I Steemit Hard' !
This is your display name , it shows in the middle of your account page next to your reputation points ( currently 43 ).
If you want to send SBD to your account you need to send it to account @isteemithard <- this is your Steem account.
You can always find your account name in the top left corner of your account page.
N-joy Steem !

Wow, respect for what you did ;)

Congratulations @cryptoninja! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Notifications have been disabled. Sorry if I bothered you.
To reactivate notifications, drop me a comment with the word NOTIFY

I wish someone puts my name and sends me lots of SBD anyone feel like it send to @isteemithard

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28