Steemit.com - Strategy to Increase User Base #1 - The Hook

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Are you invested in Steem? Is it in your best interest to see this platform succeed?

If you said yes, then I invite you to read this short post.

This is a first installment of a series where I share ideas on how to grow our user base.
This one I call it: "The Hook"

The process is simple.

  1. Find one of the benefit that Steem has over other social media platform.
  2. Find a News Story that illustrate the urgency or the relevance of this benefit
  3. Create a Post on Steem that summarize it.
  4. Add a call to action or a question at the end of your post that will bring someone to want to try the platform.
  5. Share it with a catchy headline (example below)

Example: The Free Speech Issue

Today I saw an article on breitbart.com about Facebook Banning a Canadian Libertarian for 30 Days -> See original post here

I then created a post on steemit.com as a summary of the article with an engaging question at the end -> See my steem post here

When I saw that a few people upvoted my post then I shared it on Facebook and Twitter.

Facebook Share Example

PS: If you don't have the time to go through this process yourself, find a post someone else did that fit those criteria and only follow step 5. ;-)

There Is Power In Numbers, The More People Do It, The More People Will Become Users...Guaranteed.

What Do You Think of This Strategy? Do You Have Another One You've Been Using?

Please Share Below.

#steem-marketing

Sort:  

ftfy


Click to enlarge

Hahahaha....perfect!

change the color of the shirt,

If I were to go through that much trouble I would just remove the shirt altogether instead. ;)

I think she should be Steem mascot

i second that notion. :-)

It is an interesting strategy, but we would need some way of tracking conversions from the crossposts. I suspect that a lot of the users sent that way will not end up joining steem.

what do you mean by crossposts? Also, the only conversion that should be tracked in that situation is the big fat banner at the top when someone is not signed in. If there is a conversion rate of 1% then I would claim success.

I mean posts to the other sites. 1% would be an amazing conversion rate (by that, I mean the percentage of people that come to the site through the link and sign up.) I suspect that a lot of the people would click through, read the story and maybe the comments, and not sign up. Of course, I would love to be wrong.

You've got a point. How I am thinking about this is by the law of large number and multiple exposure. For example, if my friend Jarrod come and read one of my post, he might not do anything. But after the third or fourth time he may wonder what this steemit is all about and sign up.

So as a single user, I don't think I can bring on a lot of people but if a lot more users start sharing steemit on their social media profile, we may pick up some "steem". ;-)

What other ways to do you see people getting into the steem?

I was thinking of posts that specifically "pre-sell" steem. But there is something to be said for the shotgun approach as well.

Very good article! I'm going to start implementing this strategy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65230.32
ETH 3477.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37