You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time For A Minnow Uprising: Overwhelm The System

in #steem6 years ago

I like the idea of being more active but 3 to 4 posts a day is boarder-line spam. One decent post takes at least a few hours. Maybe we should be promoting quality as oppose to quantity. If I want junk or quick posts I'll go to Reddit or Twitter. There is definitely a tradeoff between quality and quantity and seeing low quality posts in my feed makes me want to stop following people.

Sort:  

The vast majority of people do not want to join or be a part of a social media site that insists on people spending hours to create a post! This thinking is a huge part of what hurts our retention.

Let people post casually and the votes go where they go.

I agree whatsup,

I will speak here down below just a bit in general about the concept of letting votes go where they go.

Something that YouTube has learned me is how much of your earnings comes from the videos that doesn't seem to be making much. But they all add up very fast since nobody counts the little income streams. 0.01c may seem like a little but it's huge and adds up very fast over time. This is a shiny gold coloured 10 cent euro coin.

Screenshot_20180613-013315_Gallery.jpg

Look how beautiful it is. Sometimes whatsup clicks a button and creates this but on the Internet! If you can visualize the real money in your hand the physical then you will see the wild value the small sums adds up to.

This is a 1c euro coin.

Screenshot_20180613-014229_Gallery.jpg

Can you see how it also has a charm to it. With not a gold colour but a lovely bronze colour. Almost a bit noble. Took energy to produce this. Remember this Minnows. Those tiny votes add up and have massive value!

Not telling people how they should vote. Just saying lower quality content which isn't promoted is likely to get less votes. It's discouraging to post and have no one engage or upvote you except bots. Maybe suggesting minnows comment or curate more of each other's posts as oppose to chasing whales is a better solution. Tiny votes do add up but you are more likely to attract votes and friends if you are producing quality. Some quality can be produced in 20 minutes or so if you take some photos and already know about your topic.

Yes promotion is very important.

You're right many people are too busy or lazy but that's why they aren't rewarded as much as people who put effort into quality. I don't suggest flagging anyone or banning them but I am definitely not alone when I tend to unfriend low quality posters because I don't want to see junk clogging my feed like Facebook, Twitter, Reddit or most of the internet for that matter. The beauty of Steemit is it is customizable and you can choose to be annonomous yet still be heard by like-minded individuals.

I agree with what you have stated. Let the votes go where they may, I am not saying they should earn the same as those making creative, interesting posts that create engagement!

It's not an hourly job.

That is not true, you can write 350 good words in 10 minutes. Yes good. You can create 1500 words in 10 minutes if you speak them and a program translates it into text in real time. A very long article takes 50 minutes. The market wants more value and speed. It's up to us humans to find smarter ways to produce more value to the marketplace. Clearly you should do a combo of both quality and quantity.

Value and speed are great when it comes to computer programming but not to art. In Steemit and life there is a trade off between efficiency and creativity. We should collectively help people get better. Getting better involves increasing you quality and efficiency. Most people and robots aren't capable of stringing together 350 good words in 10 minutes.

Yes most humans can do 350 good words in 10 minutes. It's called focus. We are super intelligent and can easily do that. We can probably do 1000 words if we push ourselves. Value and speed also works in the art section.

The National Center For Education Statistics claims only 3% of Americans in grade 12 write
at an advanced level and about a quarter are proficient. The majority are basic or below basic. source

This is after 50 years of wrong schooling. That will say you can fix it again to create perfection. Humans aren't using their true intelligence 🐈

I agree that the writing isn’t the part that takes time. Personally, I think it’s important for a quality post to have a decent layout, enough things to break through the ‘I don’t know how many second’-rule.
I can write loads of articles in the time span you mention, but it will be simple blocks of text, which -for me personally is a turndown.
My last article took me 20 minutes to write, and then I spent 3 hours preparing the photos. I realize that’s a little over the top, but hey, I do think layout is playing an Important role if you want to get a message through. And unless you guys are all wizards, and I’m a retard, creating a post that is pleasant to read rakes time.

Of course I could do 5 Parsley posts a say. Same goes for Zapple and Dmania posts - even Steemhunt posts don’t take up a lot of time.
But I don’t know about you, but I sure don’t want to see that stuff flooding SteemIt.

So back to me original thought: how about a cooperation with small and bigger accounts that will reward quality content. No matter how hard they try - even if they manage to get 20 quality posts out every day - the minnows won’t simply make it on their own, not without a couple of ‘suggerdaddies’...
But hey, what do I know...?

You need a solid content strategy to succeed. A bigger vision where you have a plan to give 100x value in return. That is what will make a person "blow up" so to say.

Agreed.

It takes time just to find interesting topics to write about.

The point is to overwhelm with numbers for the month to attain the goals of little fish gaining traction. We can all deal with more Snapchat type posts for a month to upend the pecking order a bit, hey?

If I want snapchat posts, I'll go to snapchat. Curation groups and communities are the way to go. Suggesting people upvote more minnows is another way to go. I prefer quality and curation over post quantity. In May I made an effort to post everyday, it wasn't easy, sometimes there was only time to snap a few photos of the cat and write a few paragraphs. Not one of these posts received a decent sized upvote or was recognized as being special. Because they weren't. I just wanted the @steemitboard monthly poster award for posting everyday in a month

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59305.10
ETH 2602.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44