You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: With STEEM Prices So Low Right Now I Couldn't Resist Buying a Little More of That Sweet Sweet STEEM POWER

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Well for me its a bit of a speculative investment that inflates at 9.5% while powered up, makes my votes worth more (including votes for myself) and hopefully will be worth more than the $0.13 per STEEM that I paid today in a year or more.

Edit: Increased curation rewards! Can't believe I forgot that one.

Sort:  

Ah okay, i see where you going :) I used to enjoy the massive interest they offered.

I dont want to destroy your Convictions...
But actually the inflation rate of vested Steem (Steem Power) is NOT 9.5% !
9.5% is the total APR of ALL Steem.
75% of this goes to authors !
another 10% of this new steem goes to witnesses.
The last 15% from this 9.5% inflation finally goes to Steem power Holders.
what does this mean...
You only get 15% of 9.5% APR for your Steem Power Holdings.
which is
0.095 x 15 = 1,425 %
This is the actual inflation you are earning with Holding Steem Power.
i hope you don't regret your decision to power up.

Hmm from what I understood there was another layer of inflation for the vested steem to protect it against the dilution you mentioned above. Maybe that was under the old system?

"15% of inflation is allocated to Steem Power"

Well there it is #8 on the list. Thanks for the heads up. Knowing this I might have kept the $6 in reward SBD at the 3% APR.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80