Look at your Steem wallet with a long term view & support Steem on February 20!!

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I wrote about the huge financial opportunity we have at the moment, but I was mainly focusing on Bitcoin.

I realize many people do not have money to invest. I myself, have been on a strict "investment diet" throughout the whole current bear market.

But just because I don't have a lot of fiat budget to invest right now, doesn't mean I can't invest and profit from this bear market once the tides turn again.

That's where Steem comes in

Screenshot 2019-02-17 at 18.29.44.png

Video by @travellit

I've been posting my butt off since Steemfest 3.

Partly because Steemfest always gives you that extra boost again, when you've lost momentum a bit. But also because I realized - Hey, I may not have a fiat money budget to invest, but I have my creativity, time and energy that I can turn into crypto!

And what better place to do that, than here on Steemit?

Over the last 4 months I have made more Steem than in the 19 months before that, because I posted daily, sometimes more than once per day, and I figured out a few other things on how to optimize my earnings.

The funny thing is - the $$ value of my wallet has not changed and is stuck at around $1,250 - in fact, I think it even went down. I may earn more and more Steem, but if the Steem price keeps dropping at the same time, my $ bottom line doesn't change.

But that doesn't bother me. I'm not here to earn Fiat Dollars, I'm here to accumulate Steem. Because...

I'm thinking long term.

Screenshot 2019-02-17 at 18.28.55.png

Video by @waybeyondpadthai

Steem is unusually low right now. The only time it's been that low (even lower) was for about half a year in early 2017.

Also, just like every other Altcoin, Steem is still married to the Bitcoin price. So once Bitcoin's next bull market takes off, Steem will very likely be pulled up along with it, same as other altcoins.

In fact, Steem should do a lot better than most other altcoins, because it's one of the very few projects that has an actual working product!!! More than one, actually!

In addition - out of these very few projects with working products, it has an incredible, enthusiastic, creative, committed and hard-working community that keeps adding value to the Steem blockchain.

Whether it is by building one of the amazing dapps, games or interfaces like @partiko, @dsound, @dtube, @oracle-d, @steemmonsters, @busy, @steempeak, @utopian-io, @esteemapp, @tasteem, @fundition, @steemhunt, @dtaste, @engrave, etc. (who knows how many I have forgotten or am not even aware of!)

Or whether it is by running independent marketing initiatives like the one @surfermarly just initiated.

The three videos I linked to in this post, are some of the winners of her "60 seconds of Steem" campaign. The plan is to make those videos go viral on traditional social media on February 20. Follow @surfermarly's blog for details, and definitely check out all those clips - they are amazing and definitely worth sharing!

Screenshot 2019-02-17 at 18.28.11.png

Video by @ashtv

So, when I look at my Steem wallet, I don't see $1,250. I see beyond that.

I see $6,250, if the price goes back up to where it was last July (5x).
I see $12,000, if the price goes back to where it was last April (12x).
I see $31,250, if the price goes back to the all-time-high of early 2017 (25x).

I'm pretty confident the day will come that we even exceed the all-time-high.

Just imagine all the people this could make a difference to, who could sustain themselves through Steem. Even in the Western world. Whether it's a single mom, or someone who just lost their job, or a pensioner who wants to feel valuable and teach and share, or a teenager who wants to earn their own pocket money. Or someone who just wants to travel an enjoy life - why not?

All it takes is for us to keep giving our energy to the Steem ecosystem.

If you're a diligent dapp builder, thank you!
If you're a diligent content creator, thank you!
If you're a diligent @surfermarly, thank you! ;)

If you're all of the above or anything else - help share those Steem video clips on February 20 so we can attract and onboard more users to Steem, and make Steem more and more valuable! 👍👍👍


About the author:

Anja Schuetz is a cryptocurrency mentor for absolute beginners, with specific focus on women and non-digital natives. She also consults as a Customer Communication & Operations Manager for blockchain start-ups.

Sign up for her Free Bitcoin Beginner's Course and her Conscious Crypto Museletter here: http://anjaschuetz.net

Sort:  

In fact, Steem should do a lot better than most other altcoins, because it's one of the very few projects that has an actual working product!!! More than one, actually!

For you to say this (a career crypto person) really speaks volumes! I'm posting more lately myself and trying to un-rek my life in general...

Thanks for not giving up like some whiny chicken baby.

Posting on Steem when prices are low is practically buying the dip when you don't have fiat money :)

monkeys and grapes? why, thank you for the cryptic message! XD

Hahhahaa mostly just the monkeys covered their eyes. The grape was just something I was craving when I typed :D

Seems to me this place should be taking off and running. As you said, we're one of the few crypto projects that actually can boast of fully working and road tested products, rather than just a bunch of promises and theories.

Bright Blessings!

Exactly. And even a full working product will have a hard time without an enthusiastic community to promote and spread it.

This is great. I will go back and watch the videos you've embedded here. I also wanted to say how much I loved your 'Beginners guide to Steemit'. I just read through it all today for the second time. It's so well laid out, easy to read, easy to understand and put together extremely well. so thank you for that. Looking forward to building my Steem account (just joined, here!)

Oh I’m so happy to hear that, thanks, Mary!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for mentioning eSteem app. Kindly join our Discord or Telegram channel for more benefits and offers on eSteem, don't miss our amazing updates.
Follow @esteemapp as well!

True dat!!! Feeling the same way. Just keep stocking up. I’m a firm believer in what this platform can offer. Might still be down the road some, but it’s coming!!!

Let's see where we are by the end of the year :)

You are absolutely right and I feel the same way! I am posting about the prices all the time because I see the potential, both with what is being built, and with what is already happening. The fact is that millions of dollars have been powered down and steemians like you and me are building the future of this platform. There are so many great things happening it's a full-time job just to curate the posts about it! Power up!!

Posted using Partiko Android

It is work, and time and energy, that's true! That's why it's so amazing to see how many people choose to invest all that in this platform/ecosystem. That's worth something!

One of my FAVORITES today! Thanks for posting :) Resteemed

Thank you 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Super Artikel!
Ich versuche mein bestes :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Fällt mir schwer, dass zu glauben, bei Deinem Namen! XD

Hey Hey - nicht so oberflächlich! ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

That's true @connecteconomy Steem is more than what I see now. Last few month I too few Steem through posting regularly for sure bringing additional money is bit of constraint for me but investing time is what I can do best. And that help me accumulate few lately.....hope to see around a brighter days and all the hard work gets paid off

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm sure it will pay off. Patience is a virtue ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47