Majority of people think Steem is a scam. What's your take on it? (poll)

in #steem8 years ago

Most people are struggling with the concepts and the material online doesn't help much. There's no clear description of a Steem Dollar and then Steem as a crypto in of itself. There's also some talk about different kinds of tokens within Steem. It's all very confusing and while the posts are interesting to read, the confusion is real.

On Bitcointalk, there's a debate and poll on Steem: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1427230.0

Sort:  

Funny when people who believe in innovative decentralised social networks actually get one they cling to their old beliefs and refuse to recognise it.

These are the same people that thought bitcoin was a scam years ago, making assumptions and unwilling to dig in for the facts in order to make they're own opinion.

I'm in BTC since early 2013! Steemt is a Scam 100%

I've made a couple hundred bucks off of it...

Do you think it's legit or a ponzi? Not trying to troll here, just asking honestly for your opinion.

I think it's legit. It's just young and it has some stuff to get straightened out but I believe it's for real.

It is rushed so there were major exploits and cheats. Not sure how many are left as I don't actually cheat or use exploits, but I get reports on them being connected to a lot of people. The design makes it very pump friendly, and the buy support is about what you would see on a 1 million or less marketcap coin. On the positive side they got out first and it is an interesting experiment. Do not think this will win by default, but I don't think it is a scam, just rushed.

Smells like a Ponzi to me.

This is fantastic! Upvoted :D

Enjoyable post I was about to post a similair post. I'm worried about the amount of scams out there. But on the contrary there's quite some jewel cryptos as well. Besides coinmarketcap.com there is: https://www.coincheckup.com They seem to give this complete indepth analysis of all cryptocoins. Sorted by team, product, company, advisors, previous investors, etc. For example: https://www.coincheckup.com/coins/Steem#analysis To check Steem Detailed analysis.

Pretty interesting thread, Same thoughts here. I'm worried about the amount of scams out there. But on the contrary there's quite some jewel cryptos as well. Does anyone know about: https://www.coincheckup.com The site is my go to place for crypto investment analaysis and indepth coin research. On: https://www.coincheckup.com/coins/Steem#analysis To watch Steem Indepth analysis.

The reason why people think steemit is a scam because they fail so many times online that they think everything online is a scam.

I'm new in steem but the point is to define is something is a scam or not, we should try to find if the business add value to something or not. I mean, few comments before someone say it's not a scam I make a couple of $ with it...it's hilarous. Many people involve in ponzy scam at the right time make many $ and it's not because some people make money that it's not a scam !

So my question is simple if someone can help me to understand = Where does come from the money ???? What is the business model of steem ?

There is something in a white paper an explanation about how can they would try to monetize their platform ? For now I don't see on steem anything with ads...And I think it's the only thing that can bring fresh and real money in steem. Until they succeed to monetize their plateform, it's clearly a ponzy sheme. People are paid by other people that exchange their ETH against Steems... But it's quite ok for now because they are in Beta but if we can't see true development to find advertisors willing to pay for ads, it will be scary for the future of this plateforme.

My first impression came through an article that jumped right into how steem and steem dollars work. That sent my antenna up and I proceeded with caution. Now, even after only a week, I'm fairly confident it's not a scam. I'm also seeing more and more articles that emphasize Steemit as a community with altruistic potential. As those become more prevalent, I think concerns will assuage. It's the difference between someone saying "I found this great new community" and "I found this easy way to make money."

of course it is... look at the founders account and look at what is trending... Also this website is making 0 revenue... also If you are a steemit millionaire you can just make another account upvote all your posts and you make a fortune... please how can they pay people 100k for an article? It's the biggest scam of the crypto world I have ever seen... but no one will admit it on steemit because you don't get an upvote from the big accounts... because you know they don't have an interest to upvote and make you money... Another proof its a scam!! look how many downvote I will get ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44