You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Governance is Multiparty

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I have a suggestion to work around some of the issues that I've seen over the last two plus years of being actively involved in this platform. I've certainly gone through phases of love/hate with Steemit Inc and even many of the witnesses, but in the end I honestly feel that everyone simply wants this platform to succeed and is doing what they feel is best. That being said I have a suggestion to all of the Witnesses and Steemit Inc:

Please change the way consensus is decided to remove the ability for any one account, no matter how large to have controlling interest in deciding consensus. This isn't just me complaining or bitching about something that may be seen as FUD, I have an actual recommendation on how to do this and you can feel free to debate it here. I think the rewards structures for witnesses needs to be changed from a top 20 plateau and then massive drop off that we currently have to a top 50 exponential curve. Essentially what I'm saying here is the top witness (number 1) pay stays the same and then have a more rounded exponential curve going down to fifty and hopefully continue the smooth slope further outward. This encourages competition and activity to keep working and moving forward instead of "just hitting the top twenty and staying there." Furthermore I suggest changing consensus and the fact that blocks are predominately created by the top twenty to spread out over the top 50 spots as well.

If accounts have 30 votes and can massively influence the top twenty witness spots as is, why wouldn't we want a more balanced system that actually allows more than one or two massive accounts to have controlling decision making ability over who gets to decide consensus. I love the platform and I'm not trying to spread FUD or misinformation here, but the facts remain that as it currently stands top twenty witnesses only need to pacify the interests of about 8 accounts to disregard the rest of the platform entirely. I think increasing the amount of witnesses needed for consensus makes this system more fair and balanced and removes the possibility that one account could even possibly control the decision making process by requiring a super majority greater than thirty votes.

These are just my thoughts and hope they inspire some constructive conversation on how we can all work together to make the platform better. It's not an attack and it's not a conspiracy theory, it's simply me sharing my perspective and I hope it comes across that way. Much love everyone, and as a buddy of mine has said repeatedly in the past:

"We all go to the same moon."

Sort:  

I think the rewards structures for witnesses needs to be changed from a top 20 plateau

I totally agree and there already exists a much more logical system that has been implemented on at least one other DPOS chain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50