It just came to me: I missed out on millions by overlooking Steem..

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

In general I am very happy to be a part of something as big and innovative as Steemit, I have also made some good money out of it and I suspect there is some more to come (reason why I am not powering down), I am here for the long haul, however I had a major shower thought yesterday that literally left me astonished…

astonished

I still remember when steem came out, I am a big bitshares fan (platform also created by @dan) so I read it first on a bitsharestalk. At that time I was working with Bitshares Argentina to create the first decentralized Argentine smartcoin (a smartcoin which is now live and can be bought and sold at OpenLedger as BitARS). We worked very hard on getting support from Committee members, code the coin and provide a price feed, so naturally I was a bit surprised and worried about the creator and some of bitshares most prolific developers working on a new platform.

I thought, I put all of this time and effort into a platform that is going to be left behind?, I have to admit that to a certain degree I was upset and didn`t want to have anything to do with this new coin called steem, I was in fact making some of the same mistakes most crypto aficionados make all the time: thinking your coin is better than the next and refusing to embrace new projects.

Back then I was already running a Bitshares node so I knew how to set up a steem witness node and mine (since it is the same Graphene tech), but I was skeptical and maybe even bitter to some extent, so NO I did not mine in the very early stages, if I did I could easily have 100.000 Steem now, or more.. back then it was a matter of getting a few average vps and running the miner!..

It took me 2 weeks to get myself together and join Steem, started mining, running a node, writing, voting and giving my opinions about the future of the platform.

Why did I change my mind?

Well I basically saw so many good developers working on steem, so many developers that I already trusted from bitshares that had even helped me in the past when I had a compiling issue or whatever. I thought if the likes of @xeroc, @abit, @blocktrades and @svk are here, this really can´t go wrong and it is most definitely not a scam.

I don´t want to be greedy

So even as I write this I feel kind of bad, it’s a weird feeling knowing that if I would have been a bit wiser I could have secured years of financial stability, but my time in crypto has tought me to be wary about new projects and I let that get the best of me.

I don´t want to be ungreatfull for everything that steem has given me, I still believe steemit has a huge growth potential and even the people who join today will be early adopters and have the possibility of being part of a billion dollar enterprise. So I am at peace and happy with myself, but I wanted to write this down and share my thoughts with this great community.

All of this kind of reminds me of a video posted by @cryptogee (the one where the person wins but wishes he should have made a bigger bet), so I will finish with a great quote from “the Gambler”

John vowed never to put such a small amount of money on a bet again…

#steemit

Sort:  

Great write-up chitty! Btw I noticed your other post from a while ago about 'Raspberry Pi'...

I've just made a tutorial myself, maybe you like it:
Should you ever want to livestream, you could also use a Raspberry Pi for HD streaming... I've explained it how to do in How I made a $50 HD Livestream Camera with a Raspberry Pi and Youtube. Let me know if you have questions about this topic!

Thanks, I like playing with the raspi from time to time.. will check it out!

Hell yeah! The RPi is an awesome machine. I'm using it as a console emulator right now (OldSchoolCool!), but the potential it has at this price point is amazing.

Neat! I'm going to have to look into this technology for sure.

As a very early investor in Ethereum I can say I know how you feel. I made a very good amount of money with ETH. However I could have made much more. Maybe, double ...triple what I made. (would have had to sell a few things) ...however thats not how winners think. This is what you must understand. Just keep your head up and focus on what you have. Really appreciate what you have right now. Because let me just say this....we are the 1% who know about this right now...there are a ton of people in worse shape than us financially around the world at the moment. So take a second and appreciate where you are and what you are apart of. It took me some time too. This journey has been one of the most powerful roller coaster rides of emotion in my life. It takes a ton of perseverance to stay focused and motivated in this game. Always learn from your past and never look back...dont let it hold you down use it as fuel to move you forward. Hope this helps.

In case you missed this, I am selling my car: https://steemit.com/forsale/@kingjohal/selling-my-car-for-steem-btc-usd-used-2006-chrysler-300-touring-usd8888

Please take a second to check out my story if you have time.

Thank you!

I went through this same thing (different scenarios) two separate times with Bitcoin.

I know the pain.

That said, Steem is still low right now, great time to buy.

Actually, it's current design, for a social media, looks terrible, so at that level they really need to put some work in it

Welcome to Steem! Don't worry you'll still make millions hopefully this is just getting started!

It is better to be late that not to come! Do not think about the money that you might have won, think the one that you will be able to gain, steemit be beginning! Now the better thing comes.! Spirit!.

My husband said the same today...

I think I have made EXACTLY the same mistake. I was very active in bitshares community for something like 9 months, and when Steem just born I felt... betrayed :(

Funny thing is, that right now I think, that steem can actually save bitshares in the long term.

Remember one thing, and I am keeping reaping that to myself: the most important thing in being a milliner is the knowledge how to earn first million, not a million itself.

Thats what Dan was saying but no one wanted to listen.

Nice to have you here! It's early enough buddy ;)

example seeing impaired TEXT
And This is what the early steemer feel like lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59608.09
ETH 2475.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46