You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Superlinear

in #steem6 years ago

People keep arguing over the technical implementation, but at the end of the day any implementation can be gamed. The issues of the platform are cultural.

Too much focus on short term value extraction and not enough on long term capital appreciation (via building the ecosystem)

I have been here only just over a year and even I can see the trend. Now where is that reset button.....?

Sort:  

I think you just summarized human society in less than 100 words.

Where is dat darn reset button already, indeed.

Haha. That is funny....and also probably true. Human is as Human does.

For what it's worth, I think we are up for a reset of the global monetary, financial and political systems (at least) in the very near future.

I don’t believe we can envisage a “reset” at this point. There’s too much rotten at the top yet not enough anger at the bottom to reset, much worse needs to happen before a reset will be considered for possible by those at the top.

Yet, solutions like UBI could turn back the clock some decades. Turn back to a society where there was belief and less stigma. And, possibly, create new entrepreneurial stimulus for the many.

Yet, let’s not delude ourselves... the outcome of UBI - especially when opted for as a necessity rather than an ethos - will be not different from what we have now.

So why UBI? It will give us some decades more. Some time to whether reach that much needed and then accepted reset because everything has gone south and exploded. Or some time to possibly come up with new systems or at least create new “isles” people can consciously opt-in to.

I guess there's something to cloning it and making sure the right people are whales? Haha... wait I think people are trying that... But anyway, I think it would be more ideal if we really didn't even have to point at whales at all, and I'm rather hopeful for something disruptive come SMTs. In the meantime, I guess I'm playing steem monsters :D

It is indeed. I'm surprised it has taken this long.

Yet to be seen if any lessons have been learnt or whether one cluster of circle jerking whales is just going to be replaced by another. I'm cautiously optimistic ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38