You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So you think you own your content on steem – Sorry to tell you…..

in #steem5 years ago

I was unaware of the canonical link issue, but the concept of ownership here has always been rather nebulous. The Steem blockchain has always been an open, public database of uncensored content that anyone can pull from. Anything we post here can be displayed as content on potentially thousands of different websites which may individually monetize as they see fit. Everyone needs to carefully consider their own monetization strategy and goals in light of this landscape.

Sort:  

Yes agreed. Anyone can pull content and monetize it and I am fine with that. Google don't really care about duplicate content, the problem is with the links saying its steemits content and they make money from it. Doing both is unfair and if someone else were to pull the content, google would still see it as steemits. its a combination of both that is annoying me. I have my own monetized website, now google think the content belongs to steemit. I take the seo hit, which in turn will hit my revenue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70